April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Life & Minimalism

by WiseGAMER - Jam Entry

Hello everyone!
We are so happy to share this game with you!
It is full of love and passion and it is our second entry so far. We got better because the support of all of you :)
This game speaks about Minimalism :
To expose the essence or identity of a subject through eliminating all non-essential forms, features or concepts.
This game simply answers this question :
What can we eliminate from our life to make it better?
I hope you like it.

T.T

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#36Theme(Jam)4.11
#39Mood(Jam)3.82
#123Audio(Jam)3.43
#123Overall(Jam)3.54
#153Humor(Jam)2.69
#194Fun(Jam)3.10
#202Innovation(Jam)3.20
#426Graphics(Jam)2.63

Comments

GreaseMonkey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:41pm

I dig this. I really do.

It's not exactly the most replayable game, but boy did I enjoy every minute of it. It's such a simple concept. Tnstead of falling into the art not-game category, it manages to also be a puzzle.

The music works so well here.

The only real critique here is that the graphics feel a bit amateurish. But that's OK, because they work well.

EVERYONE PLAY THIS, PLEASE it's quite touching really

WiseGAMER says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Thanks man!
We are really happy reading your comment. It made us feel real good after this 3 long days!
The reason the art is not so good is because we are not artists actually we just love to make games and we try to improve our art every day :)
Thanks again

noa says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:07am

Some hope in the world doesn't hurt

Nangie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:16am

I loved it, it's a great philosophical point of view, and everything in it is so true =)

netguy204 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:19am

This is good. I'm shifting my perspective as I rate this game. With the hat I normally wear while rating games, I'd say something like "Appropriate art, nice music, but it was frustrating to go pixel hunting and there's no reason to play it again."

But, lets put on a different hat for this game. This game is an experience. It's a message. It is a point. Why should it have replayability? Once the point is made, its made. Why was I frustrated by hunting pixels? Because I hadn't seen the point yet. The game gave me time and let me find it on my own.

You folks have just made a game that excels at communication. That's important and rare. We/I tend to value games for more vague feelings of experience or excitement. Yours told me something worth hearing and was clear, concise, and well executed. Good job.

WiseGAMER says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:35am

netguy204 I take off my hat as a respect for you. Your comment gave us happiness because now we know we were succeeded in sending the message :)

Ty Taylor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:19am

My favorite so far!

ronsho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:59am

This game was really funny... I hope at least somewhat intentionally. I like how half of the game is forcing people to smile. One suggestion, should probably highlight the leaf you haven't played yet that is now available.

avalonknight says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:54am

A definite "feel good" kind of game. I know some people who feel down the dumps that should play this to lift their spirits.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:02am

This game will touch our hearts for a better relationship with others... Good job :D

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:17am

Very good and original concept. A positive feeling game. Good job.

Ysty says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:43pm

I love it. Very uplifting.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Very cute game. It's an interesting refreshing take on that kind of puzzle game. I like the messages it's trying to send, and the music works really well with the atmosphere. It's great to see a small game send a message like this, everyone can really relate to these messages.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:02pm

While in some ways maybe a bit cheesy, and a bit simplistic, I did find it fun and working well with the themes. While not all levels were created equally in difficulty (and none are especially difficult), it's a charming game that is intriguing while it lasts. Feels there could be more done for actual gameplay and possibly a way to deliver in or home more on its message of change of perspective. Still though, charming would be the word I would choose to describe it.

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:35pm

I loooooved the music in this. The game also adheres closely to the theme. It allowed me to look past the MS Paint graphics! Good job!

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Really nice relaxing game, definitely a breath of fresh air from all the actiony games i've been playing recently. Also inspiring. Nice job on that!

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Smiles for everyone!

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:09pm

not so much a game, more a message. but at that it does a good job!

TomboFry says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Manly tears ;_; no, really.
Very touching and inspiring. I'm gonna go out tomorrow and make someone happy (or at least try!)

richtx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:09am

Great take on the theme. Stands out in that way. Love the vibe too.

BenW says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:31am

Neat game. I really enjoyed trying to piece together what I needed to do with the least amount of clicks necessary. Turn that frown upside down.

Xaychru04 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:33am

That's a great phylocophic game, and the concept was original.
It corresponds very well with the theme. Good job :)

marnaouf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:48am

An amazing and touching experience

pighead10 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:59pm

The game's message would have been more powerful with some neater graphics. The puzzles could have also been more challenging, although I get that that was not the main focus of the game. The messages of the game could have been more subtle, but you still got the feeling of a good atmosphere thanks to the soundtrack.

NiallM says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:45pm

This is wonderful. It's put a big smile on my face :)

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:05pm

While not well polished, this game definitely felt good. I echo everything netguy said. =)

sharbelfs says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:25am

It's not tears, i'm sweating through the eyes! ç_Ç
Very good message you have here!

Ragzouken says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:31am

This was really touching :)

Thijsku says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:48am

It's really a different approach to the theme. I quite liked it! Nice concept. :)

Good job!

naughtyloose says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:39am

that was pretty cool and cute at the same time. You could argue that its to simple because all you do is click everywhere until you find the right things but I liked it. Sometimes the result is quiet surprising. :)

artctrl says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:37am

Thank you for this. It's special. When this theme was announced the first thing I did was look on wikipedia

May 5, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Good concept, it is a nice work around life and minimalism:) perhaps graphics so simple but the game is funy to play

HD408 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:24am

Quite illustrative. Good.

May 6, 2013 @ 2:52pm

So loveable! <3

wademcgillis says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:41pm

:( -> :D

tankete says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:32am

Great way to use the theme! I enjoyed it and played thru til the end. Nice job!

dector says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Really love it! Thank you for your game. It's so touching!

dector says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:50pm

<3

drkrunk says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Amazingly done.

Ryusui says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Really quite a sweet little game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]