April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

C [DOT][DOT][DOT]

by GamingYourWay - Jam Entry

Well here it is, and only a day later than planned ( Hence it being a solo jam entry )

The rationale behind the game is to take this colourful world and by destroying the colour emitters ( The objects spitting out colour particles to paint the landscape ) reduce it to a drab, almost minimalistic* state.

By destroying the colour emitters you collect colour which you use to charge up your colour bomb. Once that's full ( It takes four emitters to fill it ) pressing space will trigger the colour [ Smart ] bomb, killing any on-screen baddies.

It's basically an avoider game, in iso.

Hope you enjoy it, and thanks for taking the time to check it out,

Squize.

* You saw what I did there.
PS. Big bloaty postmortem, http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/04/30/cdotdotdot-the-morning-after/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#131Graphics(Jam)3.74
#158Innovation(Jam)3.32
#171Fun(Jam)3.16
#200Overall(Jam)3.32
#251Theme(Jam)3.32
#352Mood(Jam)2.69
#383Audio(Jam)2.31
#1720Coolness30%

Comments

Prelucid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Awesome, I loved that effect of the explosive. Hard! I got ambushed hahaha...

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Great! The art style is really neat.

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Graphics are great and the game is fun. The only problem I see is discrete movement of the camera. Make it fluent and it will be awesome :)

wonderwhy-er says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:39am

Awesome graphics idea, check! Though -- for not smooth movement, just bothers eyes too much ;(
Fun, check!
Theme check!
Audio, minimalistic check! :)
No humor, check :D
Mood, I like how other balls gang on you, as if they are trolls, check! :D

Nice simple game ;)

lasergans says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Awesome explosion effekt :D

GamingYourWay says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Thanks for all the feedback ( Am I allowed to post replies here ? I'm not breaking some weird etiquette rule I don't know about ? Ah who cares, I'm hardly going to ruin my chances of winning ).

@Split82 yeah it looked really nice with that chunk tile scrolling, until I put the baddies in with smooth movement, and it just makes them look so bad. I just didn't have any time to fix it. Lesson learned.
@Everyone thanks for taking the time to play it and comment, means a lot, cheers.

TheCze says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:24pm

I'll have to say what everybody else already told you: the explosion is awesome. I had a little bit trouble understanding what the game is about though and it would be nice the movement of the ball would be more fluid.

GamingYourWay says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Thanks mate. Yeah I really made a mistake not smooth scrolling, I badly regret that ( I also hate it that I don't really do anything when you lose a life, it's just so nothingy and wrong ).
Thanks again for giving it a play.

techmonkey says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:01am

I liked how you did the environment, is it procedurally generated?

Potentialing says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:18am

Was the game supposed to move like an MSX shmuppy? I got the strange impression that it was intended to scroll in the choppy fashion I experienced. I did notice some lag too, but I suppose that's what I get for running this on cheap hardware. The graphics were appealing, save for the choppy scrolling, and the audio worked fine. The simplicity of the game mechanics was pretty cool too. Overall, this was a fun entry. Nice job!

robc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:56am

Quite like this one.

Love the effect when you drop a bomb - makes the act of doing so rather epic.

Only thing I'd really change would be the scrolling - the fact it was tile-by-tile instead of a smooth scroll made it feel a little odd, but besides that, there's certain a great little gem here which you could take further :)

GamingYourWay says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:18pm

@techmonkey Thanks. Yeah it's just a height map generated from perlin noise. I figured random was the way to go rather than hand crafting levels, even before coming up with the iso background idea.
@Potentialing yeah it was always meant to be a chunky tile scroller. Without the baddies on there it does work really well, it's just with them... not so much :)
@robc I'm picking up a vibe about the scrolling, don't know what it is ;) Thanks mate.

Thanks everyone for the continued feedback.

goerp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:19pm

This has a nice retro feel to it.
It's pretty gripping, in the beginning I was a bit annoyed by the scrolling and that it wasn't always easy to see if a emitter was on my path (sometime I was circling an emitter),
BUT you get sucked in and try to get all the emitters and bomb all the enemies. it was FUN.

GamingYourWay says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Thanks mate.
Yeah lining up with the emitters was harder than it should have been, the downside of the iso landscape.
I guess it should really have some sort of force field around the player so you only have to be within a tile or two of the emitter to destroy it, but then I would have needed a proper destruct sequence for the emitter ( I really wanted the colour to be removed slowly rather than just disappear, and that would have helped things ).
Glad you liked it, and thanks again for taking the time to play / post.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Impressive ambition, very jittery - perhaps due to letting engine do all the obscuring for the hundreds of extruded squares... nice colour patterns on the prisms.

GamingYourWay says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Cheers.
There are only 25x25 tiles, which Flash seems to cope with fine. I think the jitter you're experiencing is a combination of the scroller chunk scrolling one whole tile per move whilst the baddies are smooth moving.
Either that or it just plays badly on your machine as the code was knocked out quickly :)

SaintHeiser says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:43am

Oh my eyes =(
Good concept, anyway!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]