April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

BBB&B

by Roupette - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Forest let out the bear to a micro-LD :p.

A few hours and the letters of "Minimalist" try to conquer the game.

Unfortunately, music and other modes stayed in the forest.

Enjoy !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#505Theme3.58
#747Fun2.77
#806Audio2.26
#971Innovation2.53
#972Mood2.44
#975Overall2.77
#980Graphics2.49

Comments

TheFudster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:17am

I got 235. Felt a bit like I was playing typing tutor :D

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:14am

Cool and cute game! I was wondering if when two of the same letters drop are both supposed to count if you type a single one?

stevejohnson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:10am

It's small, but sure enough, it's a game! Wish it was larger.

May 2, 2013 @ 10:49pm

It's small, but i like the way you made it.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Nice, but maybe it will be better if you write the score in real time.

WiseGAMER says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Nice game but you could add some more difficulties.

May 13, 2013 @ 10:59am

I like it! ^^

But I too think typing a letter only should remove one of that kind not all on the screen.

hissssssssss says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:01am

Hey, this was awesome, despite being so simple. You chose your colours and sound effects well, and the difficulty scales up at the perfect rate. Great job!
The only thing might be to not erase two of the same letter from the screen with one button press.

May 13, 2013 @ 11:58am

Pretty awesome for a micro-LD, thanks!

Andy Go says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 11:11am

I like !
(But agree with others about the letters disappearing together)

Frigolit says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:53am

Got a 382. Cute little game, the style matches the theme perfectly. Keep up the good work!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:06am

Neat! Maybe a little too easy to exploit just by mashing keys, since you've only got what, like 7 letters? Still, bite-sized games are always awesome.

May 19, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Nice game, the window on the web version should be bigger, however...!:)

Misfit says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 1:31pm

It's mini and I like it.

Harsay says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 1:50pm

When it speeded up I forgot how to write ;p

f7f5 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Mini and it works. Nice. The play area in the web version could be a little bigger and centered.

May 19, 2013 @ 3:46pm

I feel it could be a little less forgiving. It was still a good game, though.

May 19, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Solid entry!
All I would suggest is only one letter being removed at a time (yeah, everyone else has already said this, but I'll say it regardless), maybe expand the pool of letters that can fall (I ended up figuring out which few letters were falling, I believe they were L, M, N, T, I, S, A, and maybe some others I can't remember) then spamming those buttons again. Maybe also add some black letters or something that you must NOT press, to stop people like me just spamming every button.
I like the difficultty curve, and the snowball effect of missing a letter is a lovely touch, and asides from the suggested improvements (which aren't even weaknesses, just missed opportunities IMHO), everything is great!

multikorv says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Clever idea!

stqn says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Good game! It would be nice if it used all letters of the keyboard. I scored 145.

Roupette says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Hi there,
First, thanks for comments.

I actually start to work again on the game, to finish my 48 hours cycle :p. The final version will contain these points (the list is not complete):
- The letters can't be destroyed only one by one
- Some other difficulty modes will contain the full keyboard
- Some special letters that you don't have to destroy will give penalties

May 19, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Haha, not bad! I like how the letters turned into blocks and it got harder the more you fail to press the correct letters!

Puccini says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Cute game :)

May 19, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Cute idea, there could be some little improvements like more letters to choose from, but I thought this was pretty well done.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]