April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SpaceGeometry : The Arcade Version

by metaldemon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi guys!

For the third time LudumDare48 has proven to be totally awesome!

This time round I have made a space Shmup. You play as a space marine in his spacecraft. He gets sucked into a wormhole and ends up in a totally different universe where geometric primitives run the place.
They appear to be evil so you grab your arrow keys and spacebar and start to shoot down these minimalistic shapes!


This game runs on both Windows and Linux (tested on windows 7 32 bit and linux mint 64 bit)


Anyways! I hope you all enjoy the game!

NOTE: On linux, this game requires Mono and OpenAL
Update: Windows 8 bugs should be fixed now. Thanks Antonijn and Udrian for making this possible!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#13Audio4.09
#56Fun3.77
#142Humor3.13
#283Overall3.45
#358Mood3.14
#569Graphics3.00
#928Theme3.14
#1129Innovation2.23
#1564Coolness39%

Comments

PaidGEEK says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:42am

Pressing "Space" at the beginning doesn't work for me. But Highscore.POTATO made me laugh xD

metaldemon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:34pm

@PaidGEEK Hmm, that is not supposed to happen, what OS are you running if I might ask? :)

roaet says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Man I love this music. I could listen to it for hours. Great game too.

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:17pm

I really dig the music and controls are just fine.

Sometimes the collision detection doesn't seem to response accordingly (especially on the Red enemy). The bullets happen to go pass through the enemy target.
Also, I missed a replay/retry/play again button at the end.

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:27am

This was really nice experience, though quite short :D

Szedouu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:53am

Minimalistic, nice graphic , great music, fun to play!

manabreak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:57am

Cannot "insert coins" by pressing space. Running on Windows 8 64-bit.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:58am

Great job on the audio, really dig it!

Topaz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:21am

That was amazing! I gave 5 stars in most categories, good job :)

antonijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:03pm

The linux/mono build works great ;)

I like the mechanic where certain objects come from the side to prevent you from just pressing the spacebar. The music is great.

However, it's not reeeeaally minimalistic, so that's something that could have been better. Other than that, good idea, not too generic and nice gameplay.

Gas says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Sweet Game! Really nice concept and well executed! :D - Gas

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Nice little shooter! I liked your opening sequence, and the mechanics all seem pretty smooth and solid. I didn't feel like it fit the theme all that well, except in that the enemies are abstract geometry, but this is well put together. If only the score weren't measured in potatoes :( Good job, though!

Jellycakes says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:58am

Pretty nice shooter, really colorful and gets nicely fast paced near the second boss which makes it real fun to play. Good job!

hirsch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:11pm

The game doesnt work for me (Linux x86; mono, wine, ... installed)


Could not load signature of OpenTK.NativeWindow:get_Icon due to:
Could not load signature of OpenTK.INativeWindow:get_Icon due to:
Invalid type OpenTK.GameWindow for instance field LD26.MyGameWindow:<Instance>k__BackingField

Unhandled Exception: System.TypeLoadException: Could not load type 'LD26.MyGameWindow' from assembly 'MetalDemonLD26, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null'.
[ERROR] FATAL UNHANDLED EXCEPTION: System.TypeLoadException: Could not load type 'LD26.MyGameWindow' from assembly 'MetalDemonLD26, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null'.

PTSnoop says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Nicely done. It's good to see a vertical-shmup that's not a bullet-hell shmup.

Just one slight possibly-bug, where the left and bottom sides of the screen have walls to keep you in the game area, but the right and top don't. I was able to keep flying off the top of the screen indefinately. But still, there's a surprising amount of polish here for an LD game, with the intro sequence, the music, and the health and shield bars animatedly flying in. Good game!

Tainted_Code says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Ooooh, twas fun! Loved the music, and the ship movement was smooth too! :)

Uhfgood says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Not bad at all.

Typedeaf says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:54am

This was actually pretty funny. I really liked how the ship moved. Also the music was really great!

shawn42 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:42pm

I really got into a groove while shooting stuff. I think the music is perfect for this game. Shooting felt very smooth and responsive, nice work.

amodo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:49pm

BWAHAHA Great. Honestly, seriously funny and seriously awesome music!

May 7, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Sadly it seems that I can't run it, because it's no 32-bit version. :( (Win XP, 32-bit laptop here)

metaldemon says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:10pm

@SuperlevelSebastian I have a 32 bit system too. can you explain the problem?

rzfmzn says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:58am

Unable to run the game =O(
Saw the whole video, seems very nice =O)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]