April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Loot Run

by Spelchan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

To me minimalism when applied to a game is a game that has all the icing (graphics) and bells-and-whistles removed so you are left with just the bare gameplay. Using block graphics is certainly one path, but for me the pure path to a minimalist game was text. Text does not mean adventure game. To prove that point I decided to create a platform game.

I took the theme to the limits by even incorporating the title and instructions directly into the gameplay. Unfortunately I did not have the full 2 days to work on this game, so was only able to finish 9.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#52Theme4.23
#296Innovation3.45
#348Humor2.56
#447Overall3.27
#595Fun2.94
#758Mood2.68
#872Graphics2.63

Comments

martijn says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Simple but fun

shaircast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:07am

Wow. Is that text box? Impressive!

berkano says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Brilliant. A pure expression of the theme. Played it to the end, nice job!!

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:09am

That eye test killed me!!!

messiano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:14am

Great interpretation of the theme! It was fun for a while but then the controls kept me from playing more. PS: My eyes are OK!

haloflooder says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:15am

I lol'ed because it's just simply beautiful.

itsZN says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Very Nice! I like the ascii style

mort96 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Loving how you used nothing but a text box and javascript!

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Nice use of a textbox!

voidstar69 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:17pm

An interesting twist on Text-based games, looking like a Roguelike but playing completely differently. I found myself dying a few times because it looks like you can jump high, but you cannot actually just very far (the ASCII characters are much taller than wide).

The text cursor in the bottom right of the text box was slightly distracting, although I bet there is no way to turn that off.

Well done for an innovative interpretation of Minimalism. :-)

ethankennerly says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:52am

I enjoyed to text and collecting the $$$ to start the game. If you continue to develop this, on Windows Chrome at zoom 100% the textfield would produce a scroll bar until I widened it.

mikeware says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:17pm

It's really neat to see an ASCII platformer. It was a little hard to tell where you started, maybe if you always started on the bottom-left? And then it was a little hard to coordinate running and jumping at the same time. Great job!

May 6, 2013 @ 5:02pm

There was some seriously good platforming design on show here, very old school, but you definitely knew what you were doing. I liked that.

Foxtacy says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Impressively fun! Extra kudos for making it run on a text editor! :D

dremelofdeath says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:42am

very cool that you got this all running in a textbox, though I think there may be something wrong with my eyes cause I found myself losing track of my player a lot(maybe you're even poking fun of that with the eye test?). Still had a lot of fun with this one though, very well done!

May 20, 2013 @ 9:33pm

ASCII platformer. Love it :) Reminded me of Jumpman for the C-64.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]