April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Soul

by Gaeel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Last Soul is a short story about the last living being.

Find your way to the monolith and exit this world solemnly and gracefully.


Nota Bene:
Some people have issues running the game through the love executable. I'm afraid this is due to my using a custom version, and I don't remember where I got it.
It's technically 0.8 (people getting nil value errors are using an incorrect version number) but there is a crash on the official 0.8 version due to a glitch in the audio code which was never fixed. Your best option is running the game in Windows (wine runs this pretty well too if like me you're a 'nux enthusiast).

Also, I know there are two physics glitches:
The first causes the character to vibrate when you run into a wall. I recommend not running into walls because it breaks the illusion. This is due to the orientation of the character being bound to his movement rather than his intent.
The second causes jumping while running on a downwards slope to often fail. This is due to me not listening in math class and writing horrible geometry and physics code.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#9Mood4.27
#12Graphics4.39
#26Audio3.98
#124Overall3.73
#300Fun3.27
#646Theme3.45
#791Humor1.93
#912Innovation2.63

Comments

BigBlackBeard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:38am

I love this game ! Thank you !

NiallM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:09am

This is a lovely wee minimal platformer. The sound design is really impressive. Very nice.

Ysty says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Very moody. The sound design is impressive as well.

Jackamikaz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:54pm

This si exactly the kind of mood I'm looking for in games. I'm impressed how so little can make so much.

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Awesome. The mood its fantastic :)

Meep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:06pm

I really love the art style. Like others've said, the mood was set really well. :) Great work!

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:11pm

HOLY CRAP this is good. The audio... oh man. I love how the visuals and audio change as your progress. Even the slightest touches, like the little sound when you're standing in the light... it just works. And that final image when it's all over and the music... just perfect. You nailed it. Totally nailed it. GREAT WORK!

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Lovely exploration game. Great mood and sound design. The character animation was also topnotch !

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:11pm

OH, and the controls are almost perfect. The only issue is the jerkiness when you run into a wall, but it's really smooth and looks great in motion!

graytest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Cool little game with great graphics!

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Love the graphics! awesome!

folmerkelly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Awesome. Most atmospheric entry I've stumbled across so far.

PiotGuy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:33am

I really like this kind of platformer, good game with excellent graphics !

Pierrec says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:04pm

My only critic on this one would be that it is easy to get lost, and it can get annoying, but, on the other hand, it contributes to the mood of the game (what am I doing here ? Where am I supposed to go ? Why ?). A lot of questions, not many answer, a great game overall.

AlanZucconi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:24pm

The design is really good!
It remembers me of "Nina Have Faith"! :-)

free_napalm says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Excellent mood, the audio reminded me of the soundtrack of "The Man from Earth".

wonderwhy-er says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Really nice sounds, and style. Somehow reminded me of old Another World game.

Gaeel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Hey thanks for all the compliments guys! I had a lot of fun making this one, hanging out with 30 odd other devs in Montpellier, France! And I'm glad how this all came together, I'll be posting a Post-Mortem soon, both about the development of the game and the organisation of the real-world gathering.

wonderwhy-er: The creator of "Another World", Eric Chahi hangs out at our media lab for our bi-weekly game dev conference, maybe I should show him this XD

free_napalm: I don't remember the soundtrack from that movie, but I remember it being very strange, maybe I'll watch it again sometime.

Thanks again for the praise, it means a lot!

Puzzlem00n says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:20pm

A very nice little game. I enjoy the simplicity. And the graphics are nice, too, cool way to use particles.

jolle says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Beautiful and great atmosphere.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Very atmospheric =)
When player fall down in "unreachable area", game teleports player back. This looking as glitch.

Winterblood says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Wonderful look and feel - love the gently changing palette and the dynamic music. Excellent.

CNIAngel says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:23am

Well executed platformer. Audio design is good and fits the mood. The graphics are excellent. Overall, great work.

GranaDa says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Loved the mood and graphics. Very well done!

KEFIR says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Audio and graphics makes incredible mood! Really good fun minimalistic platformer. Thank you for making that! :)

TijmenTio says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Wow, the visuals are amazing and so is the audio! They create a really stunning mood, which is hard to do ;)

However the mechanics were a bit sloppy! For example, you can't jump while running down a slope...

But don't get me wrong, I really enjoyed this game a lot :) Well done

rubna says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:31pm

This is amazing! There's just one little bug that breaks the mood for me: if you run up against a wall the playre sprite keeps flipping. But other than that, this is really fantastic!

May 6, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Getting an error on Ubuntu: attempt to call field 'setDefaultImageFilter' (a nil value). I have no experience with Lua, so this may just be a stupid mistake by me (and I see noone else with this problem).

Pity, the graphics look nice and people are very positive about it!

cacciatc says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Nice entry. I like the effect of the clinging foliage.

Tifu says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Nice mood. Love the way the colours gradually change.

Jellycakes says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Was pretty cool, For an atmospheric platformer I was expecting a little more atmosphere.. But it was still fun to play anyway. Good job.

someone says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:13am

Very nice. Great pixel art and great audio.
Kept crashing on me but updating Love seemed to fix that.

May 7, 2013 @ 2:21am

I love exploration games, and this one does not disappoint! Nice job making each section just unique enough to be able to tell your way around, and easily see where you have been :) I liked that it changes colors as you progress.

ethankennerly says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:31am

The cool palette, silhouettes and ambient music and sounds felt eerie and enticing. The final soul surprised me. If you continue to develop this, introducing a second mechanism (besides the wait for a door to open) after that final soul might continue to entertain me, if it synergizes with the vibe you've evoked.

kill0u says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Nice :)

Ishisoft says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:28am

Fantastic mood in this! Shame about the couple of collision issues you mentioned but very enjoyable anyway. The audio especially is lovely.

Jeremias says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:30am

I like the play with the colors. Together with the background music, it creates a moody experience.

mildmojo says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:42am

Seemed like a charming platformer with nice music, but it locked up on me twice, each within about a minute of the start of the game. Had to kill -9 the love process.

Gaeel says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:26am

mildmojo: that's unfortunately a bug in the official 0.8 release of Löve that has never been fixed for some reason, I'm using a custom version that fixes this, I can't remember where I got it though.

wallmasterr says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Realy nice minimal pixel style, reminds me of flashback. Music and audio fitted nice too

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Great mood and great graphics design. The jump is a bit strange, but I like the style. It's like an out of this world neo retro.

captainkraft says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Your talent with art is outstanding. I'm a bit biased because this style is one of my favorites, but the game looks amazing. You've already pointed out the bugs in the game, so I won't tell you about those, but aside from the few minor bugs, it played really well. I like this game a lot.

Oleg Zhurko says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Nice visuals! Very moody. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]