April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Escape the minimalism!

by se1by - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The poor little cube "cuby" is captured in the world of minimalism. Even if he can't see the world properly at the beginning, he will make his way out - with you! Help him to escape!

Note:
This game doesn't include everything I want it to include.
E.g. there is (atm!) no highscore leaderboard, I got stuck with the final level (so I had to remove it to keep it playable :( ) and it's missing sound( isn't that minimalistic?).
So keep up for the jam version I'll upload and link here.

But this is my compo, this is what I did this weekend.
Feel free to dig through the source (if you dare, it's pretty messy^^) and to make pull requests for the repo.

I wanted to create a good old highscore game, like astroids was. Simple gameplay, but it's damn hard to beat the highscore. Unfortunally you got to wait for the jam version to compare your highscores... Sorry guys!

A special thank you goes to Zach(crynix) who helped me fixing a nasty bug I couldn't solve. Make sure to check out his "Minimalistic potato":
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=18900

Have fun playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#288Theme3.83
#496Humor2.31
#684Mood2.75
#811Innovation2.79
#952Fun2.55
#965Graphics2.52
#1185Overall2.48

Comments

klianc09 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:29am

It seems like we got inspired by the same thing and ended up at the same name, but we made completely different games. :D
I like the concept, although it strongly reminds me of something else. The collision detection and resolving is not quite right and there are too few levels.
When you make a post-compo version, with more levels and more stuff, this can really be a cool game.

Crynix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Love the concept! Looking forward to playing the game with more levels!

argo15 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:05am

Pretty cool idea, add some more content and higher difficulty and you got a real game.

meat_popsicle says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:19am

Can't launch on OSX for some reason.

LoneStranger says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:19am

Fits the theme, but it needs more content. I think you should explore the hidden walls idea some more.

oldtopman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:23am

Reminds me of the game in the keynote :P
At any rate, it seems to be well-polished, just too short and no health.
It happens, welcome to Ludum Dare.

se1by says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:28am

@klianc09
What game does it reminds you?
The idea came to my head when I thought about old games, I'd love to find a goldie again :)
The collision detection (at least should) be pixel perfect :O
But it resets you to the niext tile position, so it seems to you as you would jump.
I'm currently working on that and some online leaderboards.
Follow me @bitbyterstudios to stay informed.

@crynix
thanks for the nice words :)

@argo15
thanks, I'm working on it :)

@meat_popsicle:
Got any stacktrace for me?
I don't have a osx to test it, so unless we find someone who knows to fix it, I guess I can't fix it :(
Try running it from commandline like this(shell in folder):
java -Djava.library.path=native/macosx -jar ETM.jar

@LoneStranger
Yeah, I had to remove the final level which should be endless (like astroids) :(
But I'm on it, this are just ideas I implemented quick 'n dirty.If I had enough time I could make a 10 hour game out of it ;)

invaderJim says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:00am

I escaped the minimalism!

Adroitboss says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:07am

Really nice , and smooth.

Andy West says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:12am

Great job on your game. Looking forward to more content in the future!

AaronYip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:29am

I agree with everyone else: loads of potential, definitely liking where this game seems to be going. "More, more!" is the best feedback for a game, haha. Keep developing it! Add high scores, add more levels that explore some more mechanics, add in audio, and post a post-jam version. :D

Blinked says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Nice idea, but veeeeery short.

StMatn says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:38pm

The credits page is cool :D Some more levels would have been nice :)

se1by says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Small update:
Leaderboard works now, I'm currently integrating them into the game. (Minimalistic) audio is implemented, but atm not working as I want.
If you want the WIP version, just download the repo and pack it with the needed natives.

Thanks for all the nice words and the constructive critics :)

se1by says ...
Jun 14, 2013 @ 3:25pm

post compo is available:
http://www.bitbyterstudios.com/games/ETM/ETM_post.zip
Including online highscores, sound and a few bugfixes!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]