April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

50 years

by echa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I've made a post-compo version.
It has short building descriptions, battle experience, renewed special modes and balance tweaks (game should be playable on "normal").


--- Old info ---
You need to survive for 50 years.
Unfortunately, game is too hard. If you can't win on normal (like me), try to play on "easy".
(I'm making post-compo version now.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#313Theme3.79
#773Innovation2.85
#895Fun2.62
#914Overall2.83
#961Humor1.67
#1011Mood2.39
#1327Graphics1.52

Comments

bobo72a says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:38am

It was hard to learn which buildings were which key. A guide would be helpful.

Tahooey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:14am

Quirky little game, would of been nice with some visuals, but nice idea

Kix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:29am

Quite a fun game really(once i worked out what to do) You should probably add a guide or something or at least a list of all the buildings.

joekinley says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:21am

Nice effort you did there. But it was really hard to play.
I had 3 Swordsmen but never was I able to send them to war, i was only asked peasants. So one time there were a lot of folks attacking, I was smashed and everything was over.

It was hard to see what the main goal in this game was. What was the point of playing? What was the purpose of the stuff I built? Nothing seemed to do anything.

Should have been easy to at least add a little graphics so I could see what was happening.

echa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:17pm

You need to survive for 50 years. )
Unfortunately, game is too hard. If you can't win on normal (like me), try to play on "easy".
(I'm making post-compo version now.)

TheCze says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:17pm

A list of buildings would be very helpful. Besides that I really like old school strategy games like that!

May 2, 2013 @ 9:25pm

There's a nice core concept here. I'm trying to imagine it with graphics & more design, it would be pretty interesting I think.

madballneek says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:26pm

I like this (even though it is pretty challenging! But 48 hours doesn't lend itself to fine tune design all that much). Great use of the theme.

GetFun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Very minimal and retro =)

mildmojo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:13pm

It took me three tries to beat it in easy mode. =)

Year 33 I got hit with 3 swordsmen, 3 archers, 1 knight, 1 ballista, 5 (!!!) champions, and 1 mage. I fought back with 15 swordsmen and sent the whole village of 27 peasants to back them up. I lost 13 swordsmen and lived to tell about it. That was the second game that I hit a wall around level 32-33.

There's something really charming about Lemonade Stand style games that are all about min/maxing a simple simulation. I do wish the role of each building was clearer; I never figured out what Town Halls did, and I was never prompted to build more of them. As such, it would've been nice if I lost those to raiders before I lost by blessed chicken farms. =P

I think the game could've used a touch more polish. It would've been nice if it allowed me to back up and make a different choice when I did something invalid (like trying to buy 18 peasants when I only had 400 gold). Likewise, most games I've played like this give you sane defaults at each prompt so you can just hit Enter to get through them; using Esc was a touch awkward. I would've liked descriptions of the special game modes, too. I tried mad peasants, which seemed to make all attacks be 100% peasants. That was cute.

ashdnazg says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Became much better after looking in the code and understanding what buildings are available and what they're doing...

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Great game. I got massacred!

SuperDisk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:23am

Hey there. I'd like to know: what font did you use?

Lafolie says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:40am

Really needs some way to list the build commands. Fun, always good to see text games on here.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:52am

I got peasants, but got no gold.. Lazy peasants in my game.

May 5, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Tough (even on Easy mode), but pretty fun. Reminded me of a stripped-down "Age of Empires". I might be coming back to this one to see if I can do better.

Typo: on the Game Over screen, it says "Restar".

mildmojo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:55pm

I tried the post-compo version, but normal mode is still really unforgiving. I think you need a 5-year attack-free window at the start of the game before the random number generator takes over. Even in easy mode, I played multiple games where my 2 peasants couldn't take on a swordsman who attacked in the first year!

The building explanations were nice, but didn't help a lot. I *think* the barracks are the limit of how many swordsmen you can train in a single year, right? The barracks also mentions it can train archers and knights, but that feature doesn't seem to be in the game yet.

The Town Hall says something about training peasants and getting upgraded to a keep, but I don't know what it means to train peasants and there doesn't seem to be a Keep upgrade feature.

Experience-related rewards are great. Since you can effectively only get 3 per game and you've built 9 of them, it takes a while to figure out what they are. One powerup referenced mages, but I never found a way to get mages. One affected knights, but knights only seemed to be available through one of the other perks and it was unlikely he'd survive until you leveled up again.

echa says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Uh, barracks. You can train archers and knights, but you need other buildings for that. Barracks increase maximum units/year that can be trainded.

anjack says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Text-based civ-type world-building! Awesome idea! I really enjoyed this game. You should make it multi-player!

brookman32k says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Very cool timesink ;) had a time to get used to the game... One one side, a building list would be nice, on the other side it's somehow part of the game, that you have to find out what buildings there are. The hard mode is definitely to hard for me ;)

Floko says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Interesting system and nice idea! Damn swordsman coming in year one keept defeating me D:

This game is yet raw, but very promissing!

You could add a list of all buildings, a /? or so. Not having one frustrated me a little bit, since I lost some turns guessing (and losing) D:

KunoNoOni says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Wow! That took me back to my BBS days. Very good use of theme.

May 8, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Not bad, but also not for me... I'm more of a graphics man ... :)

SusanTheCat says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:05pm

ditto on the building guide.

Loved the game tho' once I got the hang of it.

Susan

mildmojo says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:41am

Wait, there are buildings other than the three listed? Whoa.

swizzcheez says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Nice game. I like the idea but couldn't get past year 10.

captainkraft says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:10pm

I like this style of game; however, I think there needs to be more depth. Good start to a cool game

Jacic says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Nice idea, but it is pretty hard!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]