April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

I DIED.

by NateNaterson - Jam Entry

"I DIED" is a randomly generated arena combat game where moving and attacking are the same thing. Build momentum to smash into enemies, see how long you can stay alive, and uncover more of the story as you die horribly. Gameplay is inspired by The Binding Of Isaac.

There may be some bugs and/or oddities with item combinations/synergies, so please let us know if you run into any problems! We have intentions of adding to this in the coming weeks to make it a more substantial experience. This will (most likely) include more items, rooms, and enemy types!

CONTROLS:
Arrow keys. That's it. No, really!

Oh, and thanks for playing!
--The Layabouts

Credits:
Nate Wiesel: Programming, Art
Joe Pierce: Design, Writing
Skyler Rexroad: Music, Additional Art
Zach Hinchy: Mac Assistance

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#49Humor(Jam)3.41
#57Fun(Jam)3.59
#72Overall(Jam)3.69
#73Graphics(Jam)4.03
#108Mood(Jam)3.51
#115Audio(Jam)3.46
#175Innovation(Jam)3.28
#378Theme(Jam)2.97

Comments

jpverkamp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:59am

Well that was nicely gruesome. :)

It's a really nice aesthetic, the control scheme fits the theme very well, and I love the audio. Certainly one of the better games I've rated thus far.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Wow maximum fun, maximum fan !

PPLo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:33pm

I don't know how to kill those crazy boucing man with their hanging tongue. They always got me!

PPLo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Best run : 7 rooms.
Ok, you guys did an awesome job here. I'm a huge fan of Binding of Isaac and I really appreciated the references (gameplay as well as graphics). I also like the fact that you gave this game your own "touch". The gameplay is original.
Two thumbs up !

bowlercaptain says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:02am

... ew. Nicely done graphics and game play, but (and this is personal preference) the art style kind of turned me off. Audio was slightly annoying. Loved the game play mechanic of bashing in to stuff, though.

May 1, 2013 @ 1:15am

I, too, get the Binding of Isaac vibe. Challenging!

pvwradtke says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:17am

Hey, that's a cool game. Great idea about using speed to defeat enemies (and reduce control input). Also, the B&W art remembers me the old days of the Speccy. Had a blast when I picked up the pepper.

Thanat0s says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:35am

The art wasn't very good in my opinion, but still a fantastic mechanic.
It felt WAY too Binding of Isaac-y, though.

Beldarak says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:51am

Great game. Too frustrating for my little nerves but definitely good for anyone else ;)

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:59am

I can't tell you how much I liked this one... because I didn't.

Nah, im just effing. I played this game for the longest so far. (was that a sentence?) I got sucked in.

I kinda want to get all of the characters in this game as like a big collage tattoo.

WhatTheTeam says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:39am

Well executed, really hardcore, just like good old times!

jhrrsn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:04pm

A fun game with a cool concept

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:49am

Freakin Hard! but way fun! awesome

zanzindorf says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:27am

This has been my favorite entry so far. I enjoyed that a lot. Fantastic art and audio. Really hard, but I think that's a good thing.

evoker says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:32am

Well done! I like the art style and the simple gameplay mechanic rewards skill.

DBRalir says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:34am

Very nice game. The core mechanics definitely need to be explored more. I really hope you guys keep updating this!

GranaDa says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:40am

Nice gameplay, graphics and challenge. AWESOME!

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:17am

Although kinda gross these are some of the best graphics I have seen in a ludum dare game.

cwilloughby says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:54am

Super cool - got to 5 rooms. Very very fun. I was pulled in by the 10s video and the visuals, very nice. The controls were a bit touchy, I felt like I had to ram back and forth some to get it feeling good. Great work!

Xaychru04 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Great game! Really reminds me of the Binding of Isaac, I quite liked the art and audio :)

May 4, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Momentum = Attack is a good idea! It's just really really hard to dodge those spikes, oh man >.< I hope your final version turns out nicely!

sudorossy says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Very binding of isaac! Very good.

Misael.K says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:51am

Great style. You guys did a great job. Keep it up!

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:50am

Well, first of all, you guys are geniuses for changing the death message every replay. Am I the only one who noticed that? Talk about replay value! Wow! You people have definitely got on to my "play more of this game later" list. I need to see where it leads (and begins- I didn't start reading it until later).

I love the graphical style and the playful gruesomeness. Very good feel. I really ought to download Binding of Issac, I bought it in an old Humble Bundle but never played it. Also very good physics.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]