April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dream

by ReveLorenfield - Jam Entry

It was so hard finding something to do with this theme but here is my game after 2 days of unproductive reflexion and 1 day of desperate programming.
Not so impressive but at least, I wanted to make the deadline with something playable.

About the little story behind the game, you're in a dream, an empty dream. There is nothing because you get rid of everything in your head. On thing remains. You don't know what it is, you don't know who it is. Something forgotten ? Something you don't want to forget ?
In your dream, your subconscious talk and you can chase it to discover what it is. As your dream is instable, everything falls appart but somewhere, you want to know what is calling you. Will you reach it before waking up (by falling or dying) ?

The further you go, the more points you get for your score.


Controls FPS-like:
WASD or arrow keys to move
Space to jump
Mouse to control camera

Tools:
Game engine: Unity3D
Music: http://abundant-music.com/
Sounds: CFXR/Audacity

Have fun !

PS: Also sorry, no time to add potato :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#143Mood(Jam)3.39
#184Theme(Jam)3.52
#224Graphics(Jam)3.39
#233Audio(Jam)3.03
#278Innovation(Jam)2.94
#285Fun(Jam)2.85
#305Overall(Jam)3.03
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

Dax says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:32am

I like the idea, don't worry it was minimalist.

chowdy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:34am

Fun game with nice graphics.

Dabuuker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Loved the graphics and overall art style. The controller would need a little tweaking in my opinion and it would be better if the mouse was locked. Fun Game!

lanz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Surprisingly it was touching. I had fun. Nice small game, good effects.

sirdorius says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:49pm

I LOVED this. The gameplay is very basic, but the graphics, sound and general mood is fantastic. Great work!

kacperski1 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:50pm

I really liked it :3 Good idea and graphics ^^

RexSpaceman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Easy on the eyes and nice music. Couldn't figure out the gameplay. Am I suppose to control the little far off character? Or is that what I'm chasing? Due to uncertainty, fell 5 of 5 times off the first plane.

Mach60KAS says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:57pm

That was quite enjoyable, although not having the mouse locked was a little disconcerting.

Per says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:06pm

I liked the graphics style and the music!
The gameplay was a bit confusing :)

_Rilem says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:19pm

I really like the idea that your in a dream. The graphics fit well, it feels like a dream. The music is awesome :D
It took a while to figure out exactly where I was supposed to go :P

Prelucid says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:35am

Hey I loved this game. I just wanted to say that. I had to review over 240 games before I found it amongst the rest. Nice job.

zkenshin says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Pretty fun entry with good mood. :)

GameNacho says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Trippy game, but definitely interesting

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]