April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Couple of Questions

by Brian Corr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A Couple of Questions is a Murder Mystery set entirely within an interrogation room.

Bill Hamilton has been murdered: Whodunit? His jealous twin brother? His on-off girlfriend?YOU must interrogate them to find out.

This is essentially a 'minimalist adventure game': one room, no items. All you can do is observe, and ask. Can you crack the case?

HOW TO PLAY:
Navigate the menus to look at the evidence. Interrogate the suspects, but watch their reactions! They might not be in the mood to answer you.

Unfortunately I was unable to get all the voices done, so I've voiced only the 'key' lines.

HINTS (INCLUDES SPOILERS):
- you can unlock the ability to interview Greg by talking to zac or Francine about art while they are in a good mood. Flatter them and press them about art.

- when talking to Greg, make him happy and ask about Bill. He willmention that he doesn't like football. He may mention that he loses his temper if you ask him about football when he's mad... so do it. Make him mad and then ask about football.

WALKTHROUGH (only one example: there are many paths)
- Talk to Zac
- Ask him about himself, and ask about his web presence.
- Ask about bill's hobbies.
- Ask about art.
- Ask about Mr San Pietro. Zac will mention that their relationship was 'weird'.
- Leave

- Talk to Greg
- Tell him you're not accusing him of anything, etc. Until he is smiling.
- Ask about Bill 'after hours'.
- Press him about his relationship until he gets mad.
- Ask about Football.

DEV DETAILS
Made with HaxeFlixel/FlashDevelop. Art is all from scans and photographs, edited with paint.net. Music in FL Studio.

Thanks to CHOBRA(O) for hosting me for the weekend. Check out his awesome entry "Lemmings 3d: Yellow Edition" (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=22474).

More thanks to ndssia for joining us. Try his wicked entry "Three in One?" (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=22566).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#41Humor3.75
#97Mood3.63
#275Overall3.46
#285Audio3.15
#291Graphics3.44
#359Innovation3.38
#367Fun3.19
#1194Theme2.71

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Seems like a huge amount of work! Nice!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:27am

I had some laughs. Indie: Noire :)

Deadlyapps says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:13am

Game stopped working for me after running through some of the dialog. But it was funny and fit the theme.

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:30am

Can you tell me what you mean @Deadlyapps? A crash or a 'dead end'?

chobrah says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:34am

So deep for 48hrs.. love the characters and feel. Good job :]

amijlee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37am

Cool idea, great look! The buttons stopped responding after the first question in the interrogation.

Uhfgood says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:44am

I didn't hear any music, however I did hear some sound. It seemed to not play on every option.

Diventurer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:26am

The game went white after the interview with Zak.
"Oh my, god. That is SO gross! Creeper." haha lol.
5/5 humour pal! :)

JonRB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:19am

I seemed to hit a dead end after playing this for longer than I had anticipated. Fantastic ambiance and it's great to see some vocal work too!

CMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:29am

Pretty neat. I enjoyed trying to solve it.
There's not voice acting for all the lines, maybe about 1/3 of them. I'm guessing that is just how much you were able to get done?

Also, I'm pretty much stuck. I've been through all the options in both mood levels for Zac, Francine and San Piedro. I've even got San Piedro to threaten to kill me - but I don't seem to be able to go anywhere from there.

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:07am

@CMaster yes, I ended up running out of time for voices.

I have added hints and a walkthrough to the description. As it stands I do not believe there is a way to get completely stuck, but it's possible. If you have unlocked Greg then you can definitely win from there.

CMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:56am

@Brian
Yes, my fault, didn't realise that Greg had an even happier state to aim for.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Ha! Very fun and nice game! I can see you dressing and acting to make this! Very cool man! :)

ndssia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Looks awesome dude, good job!

reheated says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Very humorous and great characterisation!!

folmerkelly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Ha, neat! Love the concept :)

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Oh wow great effort on the art and voicework - I love the animated photos when you're interviewing someone.

reustonium says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:42pm

This was great, loved the humor and the unique approach to graphics!

tcstyle says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Funny game. Good work and fun to play (even if it's not my kind of game.) Looks pretty polished.

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Interesting stuff! I think more transitions and journal entries to follow would be nice!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]