April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Recondite Rectangles

by reheated - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Recondite Rectangles is a puzzle game. It is made in HTML5 and is tested on Windows in Firefox, IE10 and Chrome. You need a keyboard.

This game was an experiment to see if a computer program could generate interesting levels for a puzzle game without knowing the exact mechanics of the game. All the puzzles are computer generated (but stored in a file so everyone experiences the same puzzles).

The game files include a tool for generating more levels (you will need Nodejs). Instructions for doing so, as well as modifying many aspects of the game, are in details.txt.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#9Theme4.44
#90Innovation3.84
#163Fun3.50
#171Overall3.63
#464Audio2.85
#518Mood2.93
#601Graphics2.97
#1051Humor1.39

Comments

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:54am

Very cool game, I played it for a while :) Ended up getting stuck inside the bottom wall and had to refresh page though :/
Love the concept!

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:51am

Wow, this game is awesome. I love the idea and the puzzle and the fact that it all takes place on the same grid. Great job!

gabehollombe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:47am

Great entry! I like the Mondiran feel, the simple but compelling mechanic, and the little man animation. Well-done, mate!

Uhfgood says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:21am

kept getting stuck in puzzle 9 -- but great work otherwise

shaircast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:46am

wow. cool and genius!

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:48am

Sick as

chobrah says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:32am

Really nice puzzle idea, great mood. Very well done :)

Corofides says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:53am

Nice game. Simple mechanic which creates a fun puzzle.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:02pm

yes, it has something!

brantkings says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Very cool. Couldn't get to the end. I liked, it was a very creative puzzle, and it's possible to be figured out, and the first levels are so easy you can pass by without problems. The frustating part was the platforming: I would lost control of the guy because he was too fast and mess up the puzzle. Other than that, good! Thanks.

reustonium says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:41pm

awesome tip of the cap to 'minimalism', fun, innovative gameplay. Nice music too, I enjoyed it.

Husky says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:22pm

It's really cool!!!
When I learned the game play by trying and error,
it's pretty awesome!
Simple but hard and fun, good job!

caasi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Cool!

I like the simplicity and the visual style,
and JavaScript!

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Nice puzzle game you got there!
It took a while for me to understand how it worked (screw reading instructions) but when I did I realized the game required some wit, I like it! ;D

peggiosoft says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:15pm

nice concept, great realization.
javascript = respect.

stevejohnson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:42pm

This plays really well. The level designs are successful, so good job! Sound would make this feel a lot more polished. Also, the music cut out after a bit.

theomnis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Challenging but fun, very nice!

Zhrack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:27am

cool game!

Psytew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:05am

This may be the most engaging puzzle game I've played this dare!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]