April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Escape

by zeoverlord - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Though i had a bit of a problem with my coordinate systems (as in many of them) i think it turned out great.
Even if i didn't encounter those bugs there would be little more to add, perhaps savepoints, fuel level and a bigger map.

The controls are pretty self evident and dare i say "minimalistic", it's just WSAD to move and ESC to quit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

zerebruin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:18am

F-Secure tells me this is a virus (Gen:VariantKazy.86183)
So do a couple of other scanners on VirusTotal.com, but may be a false alarm. You should try to fix that.

Ran it sandboxed.
Gameplay is excellent. Pixelstyle & sound effects fit the game very well. Overall 4 stars for the game.

Lizzip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:19am

Tried to run on windows, got lots of "Error 0:1 Version number not supproted by OGL driver" and cant link shaders errors

Tyro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:23am

Nice game! I think it turned out nicely too and would be even better with obstacles and collectibles of some kind. It really reminds me of the 'Down the Tubes' level EWJ.

Kix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:40am

Good job, bit there was one bug that made the background show through the tile edges though.not a problem,just a bit annoying.

zeoverlord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:34pm

@zerebruin i scanned it myself with AVG and it does not complain, i would probably say its a heuristic check being overzealous.
I don't know how to go around fixing it though.

@Lizzip what version of windows and what drivers do you use?

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Hey there, some error message as well (Win XP, 32-bit):

When I want to launch the game, following message comes up:
"ERROR
Cannot get Proc Adress for CreateContextAttribs"

intripoon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:47am

This was a long ride. Couldn't let go though. Luckily I had unlimited fuel. I'm not sure what the landing plattforms inbetween do. I would have prefered smooth scrolling.
I read the comments after playing this. I'm concerend about the virus notifications of virus total...

messiano says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Same error as SuperlevelSebastian on Win 7

zeoverlord says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:59pm

@SuperlevelSebastian @messiano i think that error happens when your graphics drivers don't support at least openGL 3 or if something else is wrong, when i get it it does resolve itself after a reboot.

@intripoon the game was supposed to have save points and a fuel level, but obviously they got cut in the end, now they are more of a place for you to rest a bit without taking damage.

lorancou says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Runs for me. A shame that it's limited to qwerty, it gets a bit complicated on an azerty keyboard. I usually get around that by switching the keyboard in Windows, but for some reason this doesn't even work when running your games. Supporting azerty is easy, take W *and* Z as up, Q *and* A as left, poof, done.

Apart that, neat controls, I did some exploration and didn't see the end of the maze. This lacks some challenge: limited fuel enemies, etc., but it could be a good start for a proper game.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 2:24am

played the whole thing -- really well done -- i love lunar lander type games

cableplays says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 1:31am

Great game did a video on it :D

Misfit says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Nice Lunar Lander/Gravity Force style game. Few bugs (background lines after scrolling), but good job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]