April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Depth

by Maple - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Doesn't work? Try this version, which forces vertex processing:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/6478756/Games/LD48/26%20-%20MINIMALISM%20-%20Depth/Depth_alt.exe

************************************************************************************************

It's... A 2D maze game... Or is it?

Controls:
Arrows+WASD
Space checks
R regenerates
ESC escapes
ALT+Enter fullscreens

Tools used:
Game Maker Studio
MilkyTracker (most SFX)
LabChirp (some SFX)
Fontstruct

Let me know what you think!
~Maple

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#53Theme4.22
#60Innovation3.97
#82Overall3.82
#217Audio3.27
#281Fun3.30
#455Mood3.00
#489Graphics3.12

Comments

tankete says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:01am

Wow! I loved this game. At first I wasn't sure how to start, but ended up with 9/15 after about 5 minutes. Not sure I really understand what the WASD keys are doing. I think my brain exploded. Great job! :)

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:16pm

The first few levels are easy, but the game rapidly becomes mind bending ! Interesting use of perspective, nice work !

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Like, very nice...

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:22am

Simply love this game, well done ;)

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:08pm

I wasn't quite sure what to do to begin with, then the turning and the brain-bending and the ahhh....

orange08 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:10pm

I don't know... I didn't really understand how I was changing the shape of the world... It just seemed like I got lucky whenever I beat a level. :P

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:25am

Very creative concept, and the ambient audio was a nice touch. It's... A superb game... Or is it?

Jorjon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:59am

Hey nice concept! You I never understood really what was going on. I know it was sort of 3D thing but I think it was rather difficult to figure out.

ChuiGum says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Had to come back, such a great game and concept.

PS: Oh and Maple, the updated version of my game has no bugs, so if you want to check out the complete version you can go to page of my game and click the link in the description. ;)

loxo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Very unique concept. I managed to get to 10/15, but now I'm stuck. Overall a great and quite challenging game.

Szedouu says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:47am

well done, very interesting idea and design.

DBRalir says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:01am

Wow, excellent use of rotation. I got to level 12 before I got stuck.

dalbinblue says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:35am

I really like the concept, but it's really easy to get lost. I only got through a handful of levels.

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:37pm

I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

SaintHeiser says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Awesome gameplay!
It was fun to get lost in 2d multidimensional maze =)
Good job, dude!

brxtr says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:18pm

This broke my mind.

Kvisle says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:16pm

This is both excellent fun and really innovative.

I'm stuck on level 10, and one part of me wants to try and map out the maze somehow

May 9, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Interesting game. Whenever I felt like I knew what was going on, I realized I had no idea.

StMatn says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Cool game! The concept makes my head hurt sometimes, but ist nicely done ^^ The graphics are quite cool and the sound fit very well. Nice work!

rezzish says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:03am

Wonderful!

awppy says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:09am

1198 to complete from the getgo. Took me a while to realize WASD and the arrows were different things (and that the arrows actually did something)

I get what's going on with regards to moving and turning rooms, but this is WAY too high-concept for my dumb ass to figure out. Still, it was curious enough that I kept stumbling blindly around until I cleared all the rooms.

The audio was extremely fitting, so good job on that, too!

May 16, 2013 @ 9:48pm

A very good puzzle game. Took me a while to figure out how to play, and even then I mostly got through the levels on trial-and-error (I'm not very good at this sort of puzzle).

Other than the difficulty, I really can't find any flaws. The graphics are obviously minimalistic, but the colours are appealing. The music and sound effects are excellent. Thank you for creating a very enjoyable game.

Norgg says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:02am

Really interesting mechanic, but gets pretty frustrating if you don't happen to randomly come across the exit, gave up around level 9 because I couldn't keep a grasp of where I'd travelled already, may come back to it some time with pen and paper.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]