April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pota-do

by Yngar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

2 players required.

Time your strikes to take down your opponent with the maximum effect. Wait until just before the enemy thinks you will strike and catch them by surprise with zen-like focus! Enable Advanced Combat mode to unleash the true warrior inside!

#potato

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#178Humor3.00
#795Audio2.28
#865Graphics2.64
#1131Mood2.19
#1245Innovation2.03
#1284Fun1.88
#1294Theme2.41
#1306Overall2.15

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:48am

Advanced combat makes it so much better XD

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:49am

Haha I like the art and all that but the gameplay is kinda silly :D
Advanced combat all the way!

michail says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Yeah, advanced combat! :) Wish there was some animation of those potatoes.

Yngar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:43pm

You and me both Michail.

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:46pm

The gameplay is... strange, i couldn't get the idea what I'm doing (playing just by myself makes it kinda hard to enjoy this).
but... there are POTATOES!

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:48pm

The idea itself its cool, but it needed some animations to look better :)

Yngar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:58pm

@Shigor: the idea is that its kind of like playing chicken. The longer you wait to attack the more damage you do. If both players just spam the buttons it takes a long time to play, but if you wait your attacks become much more effective. I probably should have made the attack counter increase faster over time so that players would have more of a reason to wait.
Either way, definitely takes two players to work.

robertcalvert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:18pm

This is a great 2 player game, I like the idea of waiting each other out to build up the (Advanced) attack.

Andy Go says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Playing by myself made it hard to have fun but Potatoes made it.

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:54pm

20 points for advanced combat :)

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Can't rate audio (no speakers) Overall, the graphics are nice, but I felt the game play too simplistic, and found the game resetting often. Funny though, and the characters are fun.

goerp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:31pm

I had to play left hand against right hand and the left hand won!
Animation would have been nice, but the picture is pretty.
Music and graphics go togheter in the Japanese theme.

Funniest game I've done so far! It made me look up your previous entries.

pansapiens says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Like the art - amusing. +Points for humor on the advanced mode :) Background music works pretty well with the Japanese setting too. Agree with others that a little sword animation would be nice. Can't say I've ever seen this type of combat mechanic before - great idea if it's original, and thanks for exposing me to it if it's not :)

Yngar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:34am

Thanks for the comments!
@goerp, my previous entries are just as dumb. Also I am surprised people like the music, I did that in like 15 minutes. Thanks
@pansapiens I got the game mechanic idea from one of anna anthropy's games called mind fuck (which she says is based on a game called mind chess).

Ariake81 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Fun little experience and a lot of gameplay out of a simple idea, especially on advanced combat!

infinitedog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Extra Bonus for Samurai potatoes!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]