April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Be Still

by metadept - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's minimal. The title screen contains all the instructions. This game reflects the mood in which I created it: peaceful, thoughtful, and pleasant. I had a lot of fun making it, and I hope I manage to pass on a little of that enjoyment to you!

Created using: Sublime Text 2, CraftyJS, Paint.NET, Photoshop, TexturePacker, Spine, and some other stuff.

NOTE: A few people seem to be getting crashes when first sitting down. If you have this problem, please send an email to cheswick13 at hotmail dot com with a description of when (in the game) the crash happened, what you were doing, what browser you're using, and any other details that seem relevant. If I have a little more information to go on, hopefully I can track this down and fix it. Thanks!

NOTE 2: Upon re-reading the rules, I realized that my use of prerecorded audio is a violation of the contest rules (oops!). I've removed the sound effects from the main version and moved them to the post-compo but since I've already received a number of ratings, I'm afraid I'm technically disqualified. I guess this means I'll have to keep making games rather than retiring on my prize money...

[POST-COMPO]
5/4 - Update 1: Endless days and nights! Also reworked some of my transition code so that it should be easier and cleaner to add more events.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#20Theme4.36
#40Mood3.90
#170Humor3.04
#231Innovation3.56
#232Graphics3.59
#532Overall3.19
#565Audio2.69
#1206Fun2.12

Comments

deathray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:07am

I gave up ... or did I win?! Neat idea, fits great with the theme. I had to give a low Fun score, but I think that's the whole point.

metadept says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:24am

@deathray I was hoping to add more progression and conclusion, but didn't have time. Guess it'll have to wait for a post-compo version...

Canyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:16am

I had to give you 5 stars for Innovation, Theme and Mood.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:38am

Damn, that bird just has no where to go!

I am good at sitting.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:30pm

This is very nice and peaceful, thank you.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Beautiful, I like the concept! Love the ambience. :)

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:40pm

An idea so simple, yet so brilliant, I wish I had thought of it myself.

jm77345 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Glad it wasn't real-time

fishbrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25pm

WIN! haha... So very quaint!

Yezu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Soon, coming to Steam: Sitting Simulator 2013!

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Haha well done sir, this was really peaceful :) I could do this all day(but couldn't do it all night, I gave up:( )! xD

rezoner says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:39pm

That is the second game that my cat has beaten just by holding space :) Love the idea and mood, but it surely lack some engaging parts.

m64 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:39pm

It tends to crash if I just hit space bar and hold, but if I first sit and stand up a few times and then proceed to hold the space bar it works ok.

graytest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Very interesting. I kept sitting for quite a while which I guess is a good score. Something happening would have been fun and given me more of a reason to keep sitting.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Very clever idea for the theme and a beautiful implementation of that idea. Well done!

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:42pm

I don't really know how to rate that. But I will go for a good rating, because, it's not really a game. However, it suit the theme perfectly ! And there is some great great idea and imagination here !

CharlesBoury says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:43pm

this game is beautiful, soft and quiet. It fits my interpretation of the theme.
I wish there were more animals coming...
But i will wait. :)

netguy204 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:10am

Nice. Clever. Makes me want to stop and think.

DaveDobson says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:14am

Wow, very cool idea, and very peaceful, as you say. Very impressive graphics and sounds; I love the animations of the guy sitting and also the little stuff, like the color change at sunset and for night.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:39am

That was really quite something. It was great how a simple mechanic of holding spacebar keeps the player engaged enough with the game to think about everything going on. It really captured the feeling of intense focus and reflection I have when I watch a beautiful sunset. To see what happens, I lifted off of spacebar and the abruptness was a really cool contrast that pushes the point that some things must be appreciated serenely. Well done.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:40am

I really loved the contrast between holding space and lifting off of space, the abruptness and reversal of time effectively convey that some things must be appreciated serenely to get the full affect, and a sharp exit from meditation can undo all the progress one makes. Well done.

moomoo112 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:07am

certainly minimal! could have used some tranquil or nature musics

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:19am

Very nice use of the theme.
I feel this will help me prepare for old age.

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Haha this was a good one :)

juaxix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:06pm

An entire life he sat down in a rock...the reality of mature society, sad but true, please fix the non-post-compo, I would like to test with sounds :)

YsenGrimm says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:31pm

This is minimalistic!

Spiridios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Very interesting. I wish time actually flowed like that. I could sit down and ponder my LD game idea then stand up to find the theme has only just been announced!

Oddly enough, even the "with sound" version has no sound in Firefox. Also, Firefox tries to scroll the page when I hit space (may be my config). Voted N/A on audio due to rules violation.

henrykun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:41pm

It's awesome the we can express ourselves through games and interactive software. Beautiful in many ways. I really like the details, the animation, colors, etc. Good job.

May 1, 2013 @ 12:19am

Such a cool and interesting concept! Really well done.
Great job!

omaha says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:58am

Excellent work. I'm going to wait and see what else happens. 10 minutes and counting.

Jellycakes says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:28am

Nice, would like to see it worked on more though. Was interesting to play though. Great job!

Krahe says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:43am

We sit together / the rock and I / until only the rock remains

Misael.K says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:24am

Oh wow, longest night ever. :P
Great concept!

Nanolotl says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:44am

The breeze the the grass was a great effect. Nice atmosphere.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:00am

This man can control the sun, moon, and time itself just by sitting. He is truly a god!

shawn42 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Interesting. I was a little lost at what to do once I got to the end of the night. I guess that's the end? It was fun to see how tense I got just waiting for something to happen.. nice game.

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Yeah, did that for a while. The moon stops moving and the grass moves a bit... wow.

HD408 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:07am

Funny, but I just can't be still for so long.

May 12, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Nice idea, it's kinda inspiring I'd say. Graphics are good, but it needs sound!!! :)

MrShoestore says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:20pm

i think this is one of those things that spawn the debate of what is a "game". I think the mood and theme are great, but i feel a need for an outcome.

Catman says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 7:14am

Nice take. I liked the subtle and slow effects like the grass moving and the bird flapping!

zkenshin says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:08pm

The bird was totally cute. :)

kazukishida says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:59pm

The mechanic is so simple, the results very cathartic. Amazing experience.

Kitch says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 4:56am

very nice. nailed the theme perfectly.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]