April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Invasion

by KR-Eddie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

[INVASION]

Protect your center from red invaders.




WASD - Movement
Mouse - Aiming / Firing / Placing Towers
Escape - Close

(F3 - Reset Window Size)
(F9 - Screenshot)


To place a tower, click it's icon and click an available slot.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#300Graphics3.42
#383Fun3.17
#416Overall3.30
#539Mood2.90
#571Theme3.52
#871Innovation2.71

Comments

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Wow nice game. Looks great and plays really smooth. I could have done with a bit more firepower as I wasn't much good.

KR-Eddie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:48am

I really didn't have much time to balance the game. I didn't even have time to do some simple sound xD
I guess it turned out a little too hard.

Gaeel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Shame for the sound, would go nice with some pew pews and a little electronic music

Also, IMHO difficulty is spot on, although the octogon guys are a little too bullet spongy, would be nice to have them die a little quicker

phi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:10pm

This game REALLY needs sound. But I love the concept and how you realized it. Very fun, good job!

T800 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Very nice game, quite addictive, reminds old asteroid.

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Very polished visuals, I like 'em. The controls were cool and interesting, but kinda hard to get the hang of, being used to typical WASD movement. The little strafe dodge thing was awesome though.

karlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Apart from a little bit of difficulty I had with the controls (I was trying to use left and right to turn) I really enjoyed this. Looks really great and was very fun to play.

Joror says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Control for going left/right feel a bit too 'jumpy' - but nice asteroids meets tower defence mix. :) Could really use some sound/music though.

Lerc says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Tough. Found the 'press W to go to the mouse pointer' a weird mechanic. Too used to games where wasd stays relative to the view.

Alphonsus says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Cool gameplay! Better controls + some sound effects and upbeat electro music (like some chiptune drum and bass or something) and I'd get addicted to this game. Great work!

Prudiiarca says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Nice game. Plays smooth and looks great! Although a normal space shooter it feels different and this neon touch looks great...

donan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Nice one. Gameplay and style is cool, too bad it needs sound :/

Pabo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:57pm

A polished entry. The animation is very smooth, and the game runs flawlessly, without any hiccups or noticeable bugs. I seems like you had a good time management during the two days.

If I were to suggest something, it'd probably be the controls, as most people are used to keeping WASD relative to the screen, and not to the body orientation. It's probably just a matter of time before getting used to it, and I now know how easy it is for a developer to get used to his own controls after a little bit ;). Oh, and the window was too high for my resolution to fit it in, but it didn't affect my gameplay (I just could't move/min/maximize the window).

Apart from that, a solid entry, one that is actually very pleasant to play and looks more polished than the average game jam game.

KR-Eddie says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:44pm

"I seems like you had a good time management during the two days."
I giggled at that one xD I didn't even have time to do sound, and most of the content, the octagonal and bomb guys, the shock thing and the enemy waves, were done 3-4 hours before submition.

I wasted an awful lot of time trying to find a movement that felt natural. The old WASD relative to the screen just felt just too stiff to me. I was really trying to go for an Asteroids type thing.

I noticed that the window was too big when I played the game in a friend's tiny laptop screen Monday morning xD

BipoleMoment says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:17pm

I couldn't figure out what placing towers meant? Anyway, it was really good, albeit very hard.

Plus it was beautiful.

kurrik says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Nice mashup of a couple different game types. Felt like maybe a gamepad with dual joysticks would be most intuitive controls (keyboard took a bit getting used to). Liked the simplicity of the graphics, and the game ran really smoothly.

KR-Eddie says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:59pm

*.*
I'm so gonna make it compatible with an xbox controller xD

Andromatta says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:52am

Only thing I'd say I'd want is for it to be a bit faster paced and frantic. Otherwise, congrats on making a complete and fun game!

May 14, 2013 @ 9:20pm

definitely minimal... maybe the controls were a little bit wonky for my tastes... i guess games with that control scheme are just like that... though i think it was just a preference.

GarethIW says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Took me a while to get the hang of the controls (didn't realise that left/right was a dodge move) but after that had plenty of fun!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]