April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Amulet Of Zarygar

by TuxedoFish - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my 3rd entry to the competition and i tried my hardest to make it the best. Again it fell short on content but the only way to get better is to do more LD right :D use the wasd keys to move around and get near the enemies to damage them and get there loot, there is also a chest nearby. Use the x key with your mouse over your sword to wield it and press x near an npc to hear what they say. Hope you enjoy.

I have now updated to fix all of these bugs. I have tested on 2 laptops(windows), an imac and a macbook pro and they all work. Howeverif anyone has a linux box (which has the same update as the rest(ofcourse different natives) so should also work) it would be great if you could tell me if it works. If it doesn't work for you could you please tell me your graphics card because this update makes it cross platform.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1169Theme2.76
#1210Graphics2.11
#1231Fun2.06
#1331Overall1.94
#1331Innovation1.67
#1689Coolness32%

Comments

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:45am

Sorry, I can't get it to run. It launches, but the screen stays black and it becomes unresponsible after a while. I'm using Windows 8 64-bit, if that's any help.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Can't get it to run as well. It crashes immediately when I try to start it. (Win XP, 32-bit)

TuxedoFish says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:03pm

sorry what has happenned is your computer doesnt support opengl 3+ and i forgot to fully implement the context attribute class and im trying my hardest now to get it to work but school till 9pm on mons and tues and thus

May 1, 2013 @ 9:40am

Killed some slimes & guardians. Not sure of those other dudes were NPCs or what, couldn't interact. Full points for trippy splash screen.

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Sadly, couldn't play this on WinXP 32bit...

iossif says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:07pm

crashes on macosx :(

TuxedoFish says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:39pm

I have now updated to fix all of these bugs. I have tested on 2 laptops(windows), an imac and a macbook pro and they all work. Howeverif anyone has a linux box (which has the same update as the rest(ofcourse different natives) so should also work) it would be great if you could tell me if it works. If it doesn't work for you could you please tell me your graphics card because this update makes it cross platform.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:51pm

A solid simplistic RPG.

The core systems need some work:
-Stats (health, mana)
-Character types (levels, skills)

And, like you said, it lacks content:
-Quests
-Items
-Enemies & allies

There is potential for something interesting.

TuxedoFish says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Thankyou, yeh it would be really cool to add those things. i did have health but didnt have time to add things like the enemies fighting back :')

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:57pm

That intro screen! So much sensory overload, especially for the minimalism theme.

It was fun a for a bit to move around and tackle enemies until they died but there wasn't much more to do, which is what I assume you meant when you said it fell short on content.

I also think the background tile graphics were too detailed and attention drawing, you want to have much more muted backgrounds in 2d game so that it is easy to see the difference between background (non-interactable objects) and foreground (characters, enemies, chests, etc.)

The less controls the better. I noticed that to attack slimes you need only walk to them, so why does talking to npcs require a key press? These are design decisions that you should really think about.

For a 3rd LD, and in 48 hours, well done. Keep on making games! :)

tompudding says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:59pm

I ran it on Linux OK, but the inventory window and the dialog window were opaque so I couldn't see my character when I went behind them. Good work on the game. In addition to what HuvaaKoodia said, I'd also suggest working on the font a little bit, I found it quite hard to read.

May 4, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Crashes immediately :( (Win7 64bit)

KEFIR says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Couldn't play :( It runs, but then just freeze forever :(

Xanjos says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:36pm

It's an ok game but I think it would be slightly better with some audio. Also, for some reason the message and inventory boxes are opaque instead of transparent which was quite annoying as I couldn't see where I was going (Played on 64 bit Windows 7)

dragonee says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:42pm

dragonee@arima ~/Downloads 23:39:49 $ java -jar Amulet_Of_Zarygar-mac.jar
OpenGL version: 3.2 NVIDIA-7.32.12
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NumberFormatException: For input string: "0,009009"
at sun.misc.FloatingDecimal.readJavaFormatString(FloatingDecimal.java:1222)
at java.lang.Float.valueOf(Float.java:388)
at texture.Texture.roundTwoDecimals(Texture.java:23)
at texture.Texture.<init>(Texture.java:15)
at texture.TextureHolder.addTexture(TextureHolder.java:37)
at logic.GridParser.parseGrid(GridParser.java:31)
at start.Controller.start(Controller.java:261)
at start.EntryPoint.main(EntryPoint.java:11)

Can you provide a fix for that? :)

avidgamerNino says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:49pm

I didnt really know how I was attacking the enemies. They died somehow though,

angelk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:26pm

I was able to get it to run, Win7 64 bit Java v7 update 21. The only part that looks different than the screenshots is the text background is not transparent.

TuxedoFish says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:58am

dragonee i updated it to fix your glitch by taking out that code, the comma in it seems very weird but it should work now. Im sorry KEFIR and Alex Camilleri but could you give me any details about the error you have got because i cant seem to reproduce it crashing or freezing.

psychomonster says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Solid piece of work...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]