April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Limbo Dare

by Matt Hartley - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There is a web applet and a runnable jar, on mac the applet might only work in safari. Halfway through I thought this game wasn't good enough and I posted saying that I was going to start again, but I kept working on this one and I'm glad I did, I'm quite happy with the result even if it's a bit short. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#569Graphics3.00
#611Mood2.81
#812Overall2.93
#826Humor1.87
#935Fun2.57
#979Audio1.88
#1121Theme2.86
#1221Innovation2.07
#1503Coolness41%

Comments

Yezu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:44am

Difficult, but nice :)

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:10am

Interesting, but the lack of checkpoints was a little annoying.

Aksami0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Nice game.

voidstar69 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:38pm

A lovely Ludum Dare adaptation of the classic Limbo for PC and PS3! :-)

rujo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:24pm

very simple but i like the style

SpaceStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Pretty cool, it's somewhat difficult and it stuttered quite a bit on this PC (I'm at school though so that might be an issue with the overall quality of these PCs).

May 1, 2013 @ 12:53am

A good game, however it did lack some important things like checkpoints or a respawn key. It could also be better if it had a background music.

May 1, 2013 @ 1:56am

Man I wish there were checkpoints!! Otherwise not a bad representation of the famous Limbo for 48 hrs of work :)

Misfit says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Nice Limbo feeling. Good job!

acro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Having told a friend about the 'minimalism' theme, the first thing he thought of was "something like Limbo's art style", so when I saw this I had to give it a shot!
Technically good, with a good amount of graphics and mechanics for the 48hrs, but are you kidding me with that spike pit with the tiny ledges? Is it possible to get past that? Very frustrating!

May 4, 2013 @ 5:06am

Cool and simple game. The jumping in this game was better than most platformers on this site, making that precision jumping part much less frustrating than it would be otherwise. Well don on that. Checkpoints would be nice though, but it's short enough that they weren't too sorely missed.

dotteri says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Nice game. Well done. It's annoying repeat the level when you are dead but it's ok the game.

May 4, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Nice Game. I miss the checkpoints. Good Work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]