April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Minimalistic Plattformer

by slol7896 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I just went for a really simple minimalistic design for the entire game, and i think it worked out great!

How To Play:
The blue square things are your jumps. if you only have one and youse it, then it will tace a cople of seconds before you got one again. you can find thede blue things in the game, wehn you pick them up you have a extra jump until you use it. The green squares are your lifes. if you have no one left and die, you go back a lvl.


Can't Play?
if you cant run the "Ludum Dare 26" file, then you need to
run the XNA file, and if it still dont work, Download and install this:
.Net 4.0

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=17851


Anyways, hope you enjoy! :D

My website: http://www.slowminded.com/

And I fixed the 404 thing...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#679Humor2.06
#724Audio2.42
#735Graphics2.80
#908Fun2.60
#954Innovation2.56
#990Mood2.42
#1056Overall2.67
#1135Theme2.83
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Seems like jumping only works half the time, and I don't know why. I'm not sure why I go back a level sometimes.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:36pm

AGH! Nope, can't play anymore.

I like the "picking up extra jumps" mechanic, but I simply cannot adjust to the feel of the jumping. The space bar isn't sensitive enough for it, waiting for the blue bar to come back isn't fun, and the fact that the sprite isn't always touching the ground means that it's really hard to judge where I am relative to the edge of a ledge.

Also, it's not clearly defined at one point an enemy will kill you. and the projectiles are too small to see most of the time. And redoing a level I've already done is not fun.

So what I'm saying is: expand on the jump collection mechanic, don't mess with the class gamefeel of platforming.

(oh, sold graphical style btw)

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:38pm

cool platformer. it reminds me of i wanna be the boshy!

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:50pm

I had difficult time figuring out when you can jump. Not sure if there is a bug, the blue bar on the bottom left corner was not visible most of the time and I could not really figure out what it had to do with anything.

Otherwise it was quite fun, the sound design was perfect 48h combo design. The graphics worked well with the theme.

Liikeaturtle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:04pm

I thought the idea of limiting the jumps was good but it could've been executed better

Joror says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Your Windows link gives a 404 page. (max bandwidth reached?)

HelkeGames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:45am

Nice game, very minimal ;)

blackmagic says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:46am

404 erghhh...

KEFIR says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:19pm

404 :(

slol7896 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:24am

I fixed it!

gmaker says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:29pm

cute! =) good job!

Jim Haslett says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:54am

Wouldn't run. I just got a window saying Ludum Dare 26.exe has stopped working.

farmergnome says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:00am

Sadly I couldn't get this to run, shame it looks really cool.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:43am

Very good platformer, very retro. I enjoyed it for sure. Did not like that I died when I touched the edges of the screen, though. Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]