April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

PLOG

by Gungnir - Jam Entry

[PLOG]
The universe has sprung a serious leak.

Oddly shaped black holes are appearing across our galaxy. Worlds are being consumed.

You must align your containment field to PLOG these cosmic breaches.

[INSTRUCTIONS]
*Use left/right arrow or A/D keys to align outline with shape.
*Align shapes to score points. Perfect alignment increases scoring potential.
*Failing to align before collision will cost you 1 life point. Lose them all and the game is over.

*Xbox360 GamePad also supported.


Match 20 unique shapes across 3 difficulty levels!

Thanks,
@Grinning_Pickle
@JerryVerhoeven
@benjkers

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#40Theme(Jam)4.07
#42Fun(Jam)3.67
#64Overall(Jam)3.71
#90Audio(Jam)3.56
#91Graphics(Jam)3.90
#133Innovation(Jam)3.40
#143Mood(Jam)3.39
#232Humor(Jam)2.30

Comments

Lizzip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Nice. Plays well

visibleatom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:59pm

This was a pretty fun game. Easy to grasp, good mechanic. Wish there were more shapes, and perhaps some trickery involved (like two shapes coming at you very close to one another)

thequay says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Nice, Clean, Loved it. Awesome work

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:29am

Very polished, very simple - amazing. :)

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:05am

Loved the aesthetic. And all the audio and visual cues just felt right.

simrob says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:16am

Beautifully polished execution of a great theme - clean and minimal.

angelk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:01am

Oh man that smiley face / power outlet ended me. I don't know why that was so much harder than the rest, possibly because it had interior portions to the shape. Nice idea!

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:57am

Nice game and idea!, I really enjoyed it

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Nice idea. But it would work better if the game was more challenging - speeding up as you progress would be perfect. Music is too repetetive, gets boring after a few shape changes. Could've been a real hit if were more dynamic.

Benjamin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:26pm

You really nailed the theme with this game. I liked the game but only played two time because of the slow difficulty curve it tooks ages to get some more difficult shapes. Top marks for mood and Theme

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Unique idea, used my gamepad. It was a fun little experience, good game, music and gfx :)

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:57pm

I managed 8590 on the web version. It's very hypnotising and flow-inducing; I haven't played any other LD game that has managed that as well as this. The difficulty is too easy though - I was waiting to make a mistake. A shorter game cycle but speeding up much quicker would be fantastic, I think.

Also, the best moments were seeing shapes for the first time; there was a real sense of panic, but one which went away as I familiarised myself with the shapes. I think looking into procedurally generating unique shapes on the fly would really add immensely to the fun and replayability of the game. ;)

Gungnir says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Thanks for the feedback all. Great comments ilo - we're thinking we might do a post compo extended version. So we welcome more gameplay suggestions and critique.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Pretty well =)
Simple and addictive, yeah.

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:40am

Great game! I could just chill and play this for hours. Really fit the theme.

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:43am

Really fun game. Simple mechanic but capable of holding interest for far longer than it should. Nice simple visuals as well. Good job!

May 2, 2013 @ 10:32am

Would be way better if the game got harder over time. As it is, it was hardly a challenge and after some time I just stopped since it seemed to go on forever.
That being said, the overall presentation is excellent.

wccrawford says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Great idea!

Wish is had gotten harder. Faster movement, spinning shapes, etc. Eventually just suicided because I knew I'd never lose unless I fell asleep.

brxtr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Very elegantly designed in all aspects. It felt like the game took a little too long to become remotely challenging, but I suppose the lack of intense difficulty does give it a relaxing feel. Overall, it feels polished and doesn't give off a half-arsed vibe like Ludum Dare games often do.

Travis Irby says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Saw this on jellycake's live stream.. Awesome game! Cool idea and very polished nice job:)

Alucard J says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:59am

Good fun. I would also suggest some extra mechanics like rotating objects, objects that have the cutouts but extra shapes to make the player think and try and recognize where their shape is in the oncoming pattern. Music is nice, fits well but could use some variation. Well Done =]

savethejets1 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:37am

Pretty sweet!

You should up the difficulty or something after a while, by making the shapes turn as the come towards you.

Tifu says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Very tranquil and relaxing. Good job.

fishbrain says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Really well executed, and beautiful simplicity, but too easy.

ceMelusine says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Very polished. Quite fun to play.

Gungnir says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:33am

You've all inspired us to work on a post-compo version with an improved challenge and other surprises. Thanks!

The Consul says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:02am

Well done! Perhaps the difficulty could escalate a bit over time to raise the challenge.

noddy2006 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:02am

Very cool game. It was a little bit easy though. It's already been mentioned, but it would be cool if the shapes started rotating in later stages - that would really add a new level of difficulty!

May 5, 2013 @ 3:43am

Nice Entry! I really Like it.

3.14 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:19am

It didn't get as hard as I expected ("that's what she said"), but I loved the idea of the game. It's a great small game. Make more shapes, or even colorful images that need to be matched with outlines and release it on the appstore.

thephantom says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:53am

a great game and an awesome idea :)
good job :)

May 5, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Good game design... nice graphics and minimalism theme is respected... good game and concept it is funny to play...

GranaDa says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:46pm

The audio loop is really annoying. Missed a level indicator or any other thing that indicates that you are progessing. Overall, it's a great game!

joe40001 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:19am

I really liked this game graphically, how did you get that tunnel effect going in unity?

Otherwise fun little game, could have used something to add variety as time went on, but still a very solid entry to LD26.

May 7, 2013 @ 12:49am

Cool! I really enjoyed this one :D Great take on the theme and fun addictive gameplay! More shapes would have been nice, and maybe some way to make it more difficult as you proceed, but otherwise great!

zkenshin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:44am

Would be a cool game to see expanded upon. :)

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:13am

Pretty cool game. Nice and original, solid controls, looks good. Well done.

GameNacho says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Woah unique concept and fun game!

EggDestroyer says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Cool. Enjoyed it, good atmosphere (audio loop a bit short ?). But lacks challenge, so I stopped the game because I was bored, not dead. With some extra work on the pacing & challenge elements (speed, shape form...) your game would be excellent :)

Kitch says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:57am

this needs to be on my phone... like yesterday. as mentioned above... it could use a little difficulty ramp up... i found myself messing up on purpose after a while... just to see if i was doing it right... overall, good work!

Roupette says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:23am

Good atmosphere (more challenging would be perfect :)).

alts says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Very well done. It feels really nice to play, and I actually liked the audio loop. I did encounter some performance issues in the web embedded version that were the cause of all but one of my misses. Well executed idea.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]