April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

And Then There Were None

by DreamThorn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Just extract the ZIP, run ATTWN.bat and remember to read the instructions.

Since the lack of animation is making the rules hard to discover, I add the list here:

1. The color of the cursor determines what it can grab.
2. A colored dot will change the color of the cursor.
3. Pushing a block into one with the same symbol and opposing color makes them disappear.
4. Pushing any block against a block with a square switches their colors.
5. Similarly, the cross block switches symbols.
6. Vortex block cycles through the colors.
7. Changes are applied in order, starting at the pushing block.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#646Theme3.45
#739Innovation2.90
#1097Overall2.62
#1156Mood2.15
#1176Graphics2.17
#1261Fun1.96

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:27am

I get a Java error when I run the .bat file and the game doesn't load. Sorry!

DreamThorn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:31am

Which version of Java do you use? This was written and compiled with JDK7.

Also, you could give me more detail on the error.

euske says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:39am

@acatcalledfrank: I had the same issue. Fixed when I installed Java 7.

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:19am

Nothing happens. I've got the latest version of Java, running Windows 7 x64

pythong says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:07am

When I try to run your game, it tells me this

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: org/za/dreamt
horn/ld26/Main : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(ClassLoader.java:632)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:616)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:14
1)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:283)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:58)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:197)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:307)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:248)
Could not find the main class: org.za.dreamthorn.ld26.Main. Program will exit.

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Really confusing how the mechanics works.... Could be explained a lot better

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Wow, I really can't figure out the mechanics on this at all. Pretty interesting though for that exact same reason.

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:59pm

artitistiacl puzzle game. after 4 lvl i didnt understand exactly the game mechanism and i win some time without understand why.....

DreamThorn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Yeah, part of the idea was that you should figure out the mechanics. The animations would really have made the effects clearer.

So, here goes:
1. The color of the cursor determines what it can grab.
2. A colored dot will change the color of the cursor.
3. Pushing a block into one with the same symbol and opposing color makes them disappear.
4. Pushing any block against a block with a square switches their colors.
5. Similarly, the cross block switches symbols.
6. Vortex block cycles through the colors.
7. Changes are applied in order, starting at the pushing block.

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Sorry doesn't run on my machine

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:00pm

When I tried to quit my screen just turned black and I needed to 'hard reset' it... :(

Martze says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Wow, this game is really complicated. It has a really steep learning curve.

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:38am

Liked how vague the instructions were, might even be better completely blind, it's fun finding out what the rules really are in those tiny micro-puzzles

Szedouu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:59am

nice concept, but had some errors

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:06pm

I love how Starseed Pilgrim has rejuvenated this school of design. Unfortunately it's very tricky to get just right.

Joror says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Interesting puzzling, would have liked some feedback (sound, flash, or something) when successfully hopping round etc, just to give the player more handholds.

infinitedog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:19pm

As you said with animations the game may improve. Maybe it should need more instructions or examples.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:16pm

I couldn't get it to work either. When I tried to run it, a black console window popped up, then disappeared. Looks fun though.

Prudiiarca says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Worked fine. After finding out the mechanics it turned to fun: before it was guessing without getting an aim...

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:58am

I had the same experience as Prudiiarca, but figuring out how everything worked was pretty darn fun!

dremelofdeath says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:11am

Did not work on Windows 7 x64.

Brunodev says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:32pm

I had a hard time understanding the mechanics, but after that it got fun! Awesome game!

Zim the Fox says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 8:59pm

The game refused to run most of the times, and figuring out took me a while (I still don't quite understance the vortices) but this is a very clever and ingenious puzzle game.

I got up to the blue C. I'll play some more later.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]