April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Onslaught In Space

by robc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Onslaught in Space
==================

A minimalist arcade shooter experience - take charge of a crippled space fighter and blast your way to survival against the incoming enemy drones. Can you clear the 10 challenging levels?

Created by Rob Caporetto for Ludum Dare #26 (Minimalism) in April 2013. Within the theme of Minimalism, I wanted to try & create a smaller arcade style experience which relied on some very basic graphics & audio, combined with a simplistic goal. The challenge then is defined through ramping up the variables to insane amounts.

Controls
-----------
* Left & Right Arrows to turn your craft.
* Space to fire your cannons.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#864Audio2.17
#874Theme3.20
#906Graphics2.59
#914Overall2.83
#926Mood2.50
#975Humor1.65
#997Fun2.48
#1297Innovation1.85

Comments

richy486 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:42am

Almost like a stripped down asteroids, using only the controls necessary. It has me fine tuning my button presses for accuracy. Love the sound effects too!

mchaza says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:12am

Nice job, controls for spinning the ship was too sensitive, although that could of been my keyboard.

Inf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:02pm

I could never control my ship in Asteroids anyway :)
Nice work bringing a classic to new levels of super minimalism!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Asteroids.

TheMightyComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Well executed for the direction you chose to go - it's good, but not great. My one big gripe was the sound - I muted the game after 10~ seconds because I couldn't stand that sound effect over and over.

GamingYourWay says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:58pm

You had me with the asteroids font on the title screen.
Nice take on the asteroids mechanic. I'd love to see this grow, with combo's, bonuses for long shots etc. which would unlock various background effects ( I'm thinking Rez / the recent-ish space invaders reboots ).
Great work, I think it's always a sign of a good game when you see it and think "Yes, I'd love to run with this and add loads of stuff".

LaceySnr says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:34am

Wonderfully claustrophobic! I tried going all Last Starfighter on those cubic dudes but didn't pan out too well.

joekinley says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:26am

Oh god that sound was awful. It was loud and annoying and ugh.
The controls were very hard, the ship just kept turning way too fast. It was hard to properly aim for the approaching things.
I would have liked some more effects when hitting enemies and all. Or amore enemy types. Dunno, was boring pretty fast.

It's an okay game but could have taken some more love to make it way better.

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:22pm

I got as far as Wave 10 by holding space and the left key. score 448947 -- but I did not survive the 10th wave. Classic

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Not sure if it was intentional or not, but I like the idea of shooting the enemies to get rid of the annoying sound they collectively make up :P

Sebastian says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:55am

Kinda addictive, I think a nice audiotrack would really help it out. I like the sparse visual aesthetic.

nilstastic says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:35am

Pros: Nice implementation of asteroids =)
Cons: The sound *argh*

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:02am

Nice. It reminded me of asteroids. Score: 387673

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]