April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

All Fall Down

by lambomang - 48 Hour Compo Entry

All Fall Down. A post apocalyptic, minimalistic platformer/adventure game.
You wake up in an unknown city, having no memory of how you got there or where you even are. No one is in sight, everyone seems to have completely vanished. What's going on?

Controls:
Move - Arrow Keys
Interact - Z


Apologies if the OSX and Linux versions don't work. I don't have computers running either of those to test on. (Apparently the OSX version doesn't work, so just use the Web version)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#94Mood3.64
#174Audio3.37
#186Graphics3.71
#224Theme3.90
#758Overall2.98
#1002Humor1.58
#1120Innovation2.24
#1209Fun2.11

Comments

yajiv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:07am

I liked the music and the atmosphere! Nice job :)

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:08am

Entertaining.

Kortuga98 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10am

Intriguing art, interesting interpretation of the theme.

Felix20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:22am

Well done. I like the overall mood and style. It can get a bit boring at times, but it's not too long.
I like the music, especially how the ending plays the first music with an end.
You've got a pretty good minimalist style.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:16am

Lovely. Really like the aesthetic style.

stevejohnson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:25am

It wasn't clear if I was able to do anything. I never found anything that the Z key worked with. I walked to the right until I hit a wall.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:26am

REALLY awesome mood and you nailed they theme in both visuals and gameplay. The music is hauntingly beautiful... and those colors... oh those colors!

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:08am

I liked the mood a lot, but I found the controls a little unresponsive on the web player (Safari 6) which meant I ran off a few buildings. Great atmosphere though!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:21am

Really nice visual style and the tune kept me playing until the end when I was getting tired of key hunting :) Good job!

dissonance says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:39am

I like the atmosphere and the art and the music! Good job! Question: how to I get into that building? I tried interacting with the tank but nothing happened. I played the web version.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:40am

Great game! Very artistic, I felt like I was watching some kind of animated film and the music was really good. The only thing I'd change is the camera, a bit too high for my taste, couldn't see where I was going when jumping from a high point.

lambomang says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:33am

@stevejohnson & @dissonance:
Did you get any of the keys? Keys could be useful ;)

@everyone else: Thanks for all the positive feedback and constructive criticism :D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:46am

Music is so addictive and sad! Make the OST pleaase!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:35pm

I liked the music very much. Kind of reminds me of the soundtrack of "A Clockwork Orange". Also, very minimalist art! Congratulations!

peggiosoft says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:27pm

great graphic style and perfect music.
the game is a little bit heavy on memory, take that in account next time.

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:44am

Great! It was a tad odd when I pressed z and you just stood there for 5 seconds with a '?' above your head. I did like the visuals though!

foxor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:47am

A good platform for a game, but I had no idea what I was supposed to to.

Beerman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Loved the atmosphere, it really makes it.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:17pm

It's got the mood and theme right and the audiovisuals fit together nicely, but the gameplay itself is the age-old Find item->backtrack->try it on everything->Find another item->backtrack->...

If that is the intended core progression mechanic then the in-between moment-to-moment gameplay should step up, in this case, movement. Let the character fly, glide, roll, bunny-hop, sprint or just give him a skateboard to mess around with. Anything to break the monotony of slowly marching back and forth.

lambomang says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:58pm

@HuvaaKoodia
Yeah, the gameplay is rather weak. Didn't have enough time to make it as good as I wanted it to be. I wanted to add in some decent adventure game-ish puzzles and some more story clues. Just generally more stuff to do. I'll definitely keep working on it.
I like your movement ideas. It makes sense. I found myself double jumping around the place all the time when I was testing it. Just got to find one that fits the mood. Bunny-hopping would probably work well, sprinting or skateboarding not so much.
Or I could leave the movement as is and make the gameplay more substantial. I made another game sort of like this once before, except there were monsters around you had to sneak around and avoid.

Blinked says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:10am

I always enjoy the occasional abstract game with no clear goal, and this one is no exception, I like it! Good job.

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:12am

Great atmosphere! The music and graphics come together very well and you definitely get a sense of a desolate, post-apocalyptic world! And you accomplished this while still sticking to the theme :D Great job!

Switchbreak says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:21am

Nice work! I really loved the look of it. Unfortunately not playing right led to me backtracking a lot, and while I liked the music it got repetitive. Still, great work, very moody.

Alec Von Arx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:31am

Kind of frustrating finding which key worked on which door, but all in all a good play through. Nice ending :)

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:32am

I loved the atmosphere and the beautiful graphics, but the storyline enforced gender stereotypes and was too much of a cliche for my liking.
The music set the mood really well but became repetitive after a few minutes of gameplay, which, as @HuvaaKoodia said, is rather monotonous. The "?" animation was incredibly frustrating because it removed player agency for a long time. On the other hand, I really liked the sense of discovery I got when I discovered the first key.

Good luck on future entries!

gilmore606 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:36am

Making me stand still for 2 seconds every time I try to interact really discourages me from trying to interact with anything. And I didn't see any keys anywhere, like several other people I just ended up at the end with nowhere to go. It's too bad, because those graphics are delicious and I wish I could make art like that.

lambomang says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:47am

@Julian Ceipek
Gender stereotypes as in the guy got amnesia and the girl survived all by herself in a post apocalyptic wasteland for who knows how long? :P
But yes, the story is cliche. I spent too much time on the artwork...
Thanks for your feedback though :)

Crazi456 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:12am

The game set a great atmosphere!

gmaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:29am

i liked the music ^_^ so nice! greate job

kyyninen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:04am

Very reminiscent of Another World graphics-wise, nice! Pausing to interact and slow movement speed really bummed me out, too.

Purplescape says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:56am

This game had a great mood and atmosphere. The music was dark, but calm. The theme was well represented here, this game is so minimalist that the main character doesn't have arms! Good job.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:05pm

@lambomang
Sneaking sounds good. Got a way to try that game as well?

Tozy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:46pm

In a game as minimal as this, there is not much to add after all the comments you received. It wasn't bad, but could have been a lot better.

smilingrob says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Fantastic mood.

lambomang says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:56am

@HuvaaKoodia
I've got that game up on GameJolt: http://gamejolt.com/games/platformer/a-night-at-the-laboratory-prologue/9108/
I made that one for a week long comp, so it's a bit better cooked than this one. But it was the first game comp I entered so it's not as good in other ways.

tzamora says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:20am

Too simple

brodavi says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Wow neat. I liked it a lot. :) I got a little confused about the keys, but I figured it out eventually. I jumped just as the girl does the thing, and somehow the screen got stuck. I escaped seeing only my head after that. Got the lovely ending though :)

csanyk says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 12:45am

I couldn't figure out what I was supposed to do:(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]