April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Huoheian

by folmerkelly - Jam Entry

Made in 48 hours but I used Stencyl so I do not know how I would go about including source.

Survive as long as you can in an ever-shrinking arena. This is the dark side of Feng Shui.

Arrow keys to move
X to shoot

I had a ton of fun but I'm never doing this alone again! There's a collision issue that allows you to get stuck inside walls, my apologies if bad code wrecks your enjoyment of the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#45Graphics(Jam)4.20
#70Audio(Jam)3.69
#93Overall(Jam)3.63
#95Fun(Jam)3.43
#166Mood(Jam)3.30
#216Humor(Jam)2.36
#245Theme(Jam)3.34
#302Innovation(Jam)2.87

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:49am

Great! Loved it.

Tahooey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:19am

Really Fun little game, loved the graphics and the sound

Orni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:36am

I simply love arena games (that's why I made one myself) - so naturally yours became one of the favorite games I've played so far this ludum dare :D

well done!

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:55am

Looks great but the game doesn't want to load for me from NewGrounds. Not sure why -- I'm in Linux, but Flash usually works fine. Do you have an alternative URL or SWF link?

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:54am

A little easy for me, but fun! I love the core mechanic. Never seen something like that in an arena shooter before.

My high score is 100578. I probably could have kept going if the spike count didn't get so high that my framerate started to chug! :D (http://i.imgur.com/1cHxnnX.png)

Maybe I'm just trained for this type of game; I'm currently working on a clone of Space Zap which has enemies that only come from one of four directions much like in your game (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ovjc2gtKRG0).

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21am

Looks awesome! Nice colors. It seems the best strategy is to just stay in the center, it took a really long time for the game to get difficult that way.

ArkadyDracul says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:30am

Nice entry but a little easy for me :D

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:36am

Like Orni, I'm a big fan of arena shooters (I made one for the compo as well). Combined with pixel art, it's a win-win. Great job :)

rujo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:40am

graphics and gameplay is super cool!

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:46am

Nice music and visual style. The concept was neat, however the difficulty seemed to remain constant. I got up to 50000 before getting bored and stopping.

JohnBroadley says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:58am

Really enjoyed this game, the art style is great, and the spike mechanic makes for a much more challenging and for me a much more enjoyable experience of the game. Well done!

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:07am

I love the graphics!

Good work.

krutech says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:47am

32525 points. Loved the art, gameplay and audio. Good job!

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:43pm

I dig the graphics and audio but the game itself is rather monotonous. I see that the enemies are there to narrow your movable space, but given the room layout all one needs is a 20x20 pixel area while standing in the middle of the room. That needs some improvement in my opinion. :)

rxi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Great work! I really love the visual style of this game, the pixel art and visual tweening is really lovely, as is the colors palette!

The gameplay was challenging and enjoyable and the sound effects and music fit well with the game.

The game concept itself felt like a lot of fun. It was simple, but well executed. I also liked the concept of trying to protect yourself you're also harming yourself in another way. That to even to exist you have to make some kind of compromise, and that regardless of your efforts, you will always eventually die.

Elrobo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Great graphics and music. Got a little repetitive since the entrances don't move. Also the screen shake got a little grating.

Beerman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Excellent atmosphere with the sound and visuals.
I love the idea of the enemies turning to spikes but it needs something to force you to move around a bit more - seems like you can survive pretty much indefinitely by just standing in the centre and killing them as they come through the doors. More than one door in each wall might work.

ayamflow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:48pm

I love the art!

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Amazing and fun little game here, with a great limited palette aesthetic, some suitable music and a generally fun little arena shooter game. Suits the theme and is just great all around. Well made!

Gaeel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Love the gameboy-ish style, nice palette, unfortunately, while the concept is fun, since the enemies spawn from the four doors, you can win just by standing in the middle and just sniping them as they appear.

Also in your screenshot, you appear to be firing a machine-gun, how do I get that?

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Nicely done! :D

bitcrusher says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:13am

I absolutely love the art!

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:22am

Nice job for a first LD!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:45am

Great graphics and sound. Stupid spikes are stupid, though XD. Really tough.

TravisChen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:04am

Great mechanic. Great art.

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:13am

Really great looking game and very fitting sounds/music. I would have liked to have seen a few different enemy types (or maybe I just can't get far enough!).

omaromeir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:02am

Awesome game, minimalist, to-the-point, and challenging. I loved the art and music too ;).

Chman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:12am

Cool little arena shooter. I really like how enemies spawn traps on death... But the game is WAY to easy. I played for a few minutes and all I did was staying in the center and shooting in the four directions as soon as doors would open. Make it harder and it'll be way more fun !

Muu? says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:22am

It was too easy, but it's a nice and clean entry.

fishbrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:38am

Great! Perfectly simple concept and really nice style!

rezoner says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:50am

Love the assets. Very well polished and executed however lacks some engaging elements.

Because of these spikes you could literally remove character movement anyways because all you want to do is stay in the middle for the whole time.

Great base for improvements.

rpgwhitelock says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:35am

Enjoyed this. Can see a lot of potential in the idea too.

jackspinoza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:39am

nice one! good, classic feel to it. Looks great, borrowing affectionately from similar games but in a way that is a assuring. thanks for this.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:21pm

LOVED the graphics and audio, but the gameplay was a little too repetitive...

3.14 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Art is great and the overall production values and nice too. Too bad the gameplay is so repetetive. For 10k points i was standing in the middle and shooting incoming monsters - all of the same kind. The game could be great with more kinds of enemies.

Also, I like the idea of enemy graves being traps, but you should also add some collectible coins from time to time - otherwise there is no reason go go around and risk your life around those spikes.

Good job anyway, man!

saggiosoft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Really funny and professional.

dissonance says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:01am

Fun little arena game. I love the art. I had some issues with the enemy mobs being invisible when walking over the spikes, other than that, good job!

ataxkt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:04am

Oooh

larb says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:57am

It's really good for 48 hours of work. Lots of room for improvement. Really cool. Love the music.

KevinZuhn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:06pm

I was able to stay in the center and let my enemies' spiky bodies pile up in short lines from their doors. Perhaps if some enemy types shot spikes at you from a distance, you would have more reason to move out of the way and break from the comfortable center.

miotatsu says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:40pm

very nice! the music and sounds are good, and the artwork is very appealing. The game mechanics are interesting and it's a bit addicting :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Neat graphics, had a hard time avoiding the bullets.

pikmin4000 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Amazing mood! I'm in love with the music and graphics so much that I got sucked into the game with a highscore of 30969! One important tip about gameplay though, is that it get's a bit repetitive as the player can just spawn camp them from the center. My tip would be to put the doors around the corners. To improve on the controls, I'd suggest moving with the arrow keys and shooting in the direction of something like WASD (like in the Binding of Isaac). Well anyways, I love it nevertheless! 5/5

Pixelulsar says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Looked great but it got repetitive after a while.

Kali Purr says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:28pm

This is a cool concept, it adds a layer of strategy. Only problem is there's almost no reason to move away from the center. Different enemy types, that make you move around or behave differently, would add a bit more to it. Cool to see a Stencyl game in the jam, too.

atraxgames says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:37pm

It's fun, i like the zelda dungeon style. Add high scores on the newgrounds version!

May 7, 2013 @ 4:12am

Fun game. I'd work on it more. I got a little tired just standing in the middle and shooting, watching my arena shrink. Should be a way to explode or remove blocks and you balance that with things getting faster and harder, or something. Great job for 48hrs!

Jeremias says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:23pm

I really like the visual style and music/sounds. The concept is interesting, but I think it takes too long before it gets relevant: You stand there in the middle and you can shoot on every spawning place just by turning in one of the four directions.

kill0u says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Fun game, nice graphics :)

TheSheep says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Very nice, but a little too... open ended, if you know what I mean.

foyosoft says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Fantastic! It's like a Game Boy version of Smash TV. Game play was spot on. Very nice! Graphics & sound were top notch too.

TurboDindon says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Very good graphics and atmosphere .
A little bit easy. I volontary killed myself after scoring 100 000. I shooted in the axis of the doors all the time. There was a cross of monster poos on the ground. x'D
What a pity because the challenge might be more harder with a simple acceleration of creatures. It also might be cool with a boss! ^^

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

naufr4g0 says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 1:02am

I like arena shooters and this one have good graphics and sound. Shame about the easiness of gameplay.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]