April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Adventures of Mrs Minimalist

by cptalbertwesker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Adventures of Mrs Minimalist tells a tale of a poor woman stricken with having to live with a bit of a hoarder.

With his habits getting dire she has no alternative but to take action, and throw his things away whilst he is at work.

Spread across five different levels, Adventures of Mrs Minimalist is a simple and possibly fun game? I missed a couple of tricks I wanted to pull but instead I would rather sleep.

It's a very simple game, just mouse useage. Made in GameMaker Studio, with Paint for graphics and Audacity for sound.

The game plays in 1280x800, so you'll only want to play the web version when viewing through a monitor that supports the size.

As a bit of a project on the side, I have also made the game available for android, and it works with no issues on the Nexus 7 tab.

www.charwool.co.uk/The-Adventures-of-Mrs-Minimalist-Charlotte-Woolley.apk

I usually include and instructions page, however I felt that the game was just too simple to justify one. Click on an offending article for a menu to appear and do whatever you think fits the object.

There are bonuses for recycling the correct amount of objects or sabotaging them. Mrs Minimalist will inform you the correct amount of objects to remove from the game at the start of every level, remove that many and only that many or Mr Minimalist might notice.

A mouse click forwards Mrs Minimalist's text as well as Mr's at the end of every level to bring up the results screen. This aspect could stand to be improved as it is very easy for an impatient user to skip important dialogue.

PLEASE NOTE:
You must click to skip the husbands dialogue when he comes home, and to begin 'tidying' after the woman has spoken. This is down to my own inconsistencies, I have mentioned it above but this sentence has capital letters before it!

HOWEVER!!! The first dialogues of each level are not skippable and if you wait for them they close after 5 seconds, if you do have a problem with these ones can you please let me know what you are running on.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1934Coolness14%

Comments

Branch says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:51pm

i am confused, i dont know how to play this. problem might be that im running ms-dos... i guess.

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:19am

The controls are clunky and unresponsive. Nice try.

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:02am

Web version stucks sometimes (Firefox), I think when I click during unskippable dialogs.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:35am

Apologies guys the links for the executable and source were not working these have been fixed.

@Suese I would like to know why you think the controls are clunky and unresponsive, I've had no trouble with unresponsiveness.

@mortus I am sorry to hear that, there does appear to be an extended pause if you click a lot during an unskippable dialogue, however I've not managed to get it stuck myself. Again I apologise, these inconsistencies on the dialogue are the result of not getting any sleep and it making sense when I made it.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:06am

Hahaa! This is great :D I liked it when it said "too bad, he noticed TOTAL FAILURE" :D

I think the unresponsive comment might be that the dialogue boxes are up for a bit long maybe? I enjoyed it though :)

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:58pm

I somehow managed to get over the first husband dialogue... second hangs and hangs... after restart, not even the first one worked....

Catmoo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:22pm

I really love the lady she's so cool looking!

Aside from that it's a great little humorous game and I know exactly where's shes coming from with he partner appearing and noticing things missing. It's a completely different game to the theme and I really enjoyed it.

Although I think as you said above the timings on dialogue can be a little long as you did it while sleepy.

eteeski says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:17am

I think I just played a dating sim... lol it was fun. cool art style. story seemed well thought-out.

lorancou says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Tried the android version on a galaxy s, it worked fine! Although the screen was a bit too small to accurately click on the smaller objects, I couldn't finish the level where you need to get rid if everything!

gmaker says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Web version stucks (chrome), but very interesting =) thanx

goerp says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:47pm

The game was a bit buggy and sometimes would hang (or the husband just couldn't say goodbye).
This looks inspired by real life. Makes it very original.
I would have played it more if it wasn't so buggy. Still high marks from me.

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Sabotage? What? Evil husband got me.

Jellycakes says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:24am

Was nice to play, I didn't really pick up the mechanics that quickly and I had some trouble with the web version on Firefox, but it was really good. Nice job!

mrexcessive says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Excellent fun and very original. I have a feeling my wife will find this MUCH more amusing tho.

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Thought it sucked you did not get rated, so here's my consolation rating for your game:

I struggled a bit getting past the initial dialogs but the overall game was interesting!

Humor 4
Graphics 2.5
Overall 4
Fun 4
Mood 3
Innovation 2
Theme 2
Audio 4

I've rated about 200 games, I'd count yours as definitely one of the more entertaining ones.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]