Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
? DAYS, ??:??:??

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
? DAYS, ??:??:??

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX

ANNOUNCEMENT BAR! I tell you event things here, but only sometimes.


Ludum Dare 26

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Nova Jump : A Space Adventure - savethejets1 - Jam Entry

Nova Jump : A Space Adventure

By : Kyle Reczek

Theme : Minimalism

I wanted to take what it meant to be a "platformer" and strip it down to the basic minimum of controls that could be possible, while still being a "platformer".

The indiana jones mechanic sort of evolved out of just playing around with the character and a little test level I had on day one.

Stuff I used:
node.js
cocos2d-html5
heroku
pixen
Tiled




PLEASE NOTE MY PUNY SERVER MAY TAKE A WHILE TO SERVE UP THE ENGINE FILES SO IT MAY LOOK LIKE A BLANK SCREEN AT FIRST, BUT MY MACHINE IS CHUGGING AWAY. Please be patient. :D

View savethejets1's journal. | View all entries by savethejets1

Ratings

Coolness57%
#114Graphics(Jam)3.81
#119Fun(Jam)3.32
#184Overall(Jam)3.35
#186Mood(Jam)3.22
#213Audio(Jam)3.08
#242Innovation(Jam)3.07
#314Humor(Jam)1.98
#337Theme(Jam)3.11

Comments

sfernald says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Cool game. Really enjoyed game mechanism. Made it seem different and it was challenging. Great job for javascript game.

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Nice! Perhaps a single level could be a bit longer in the start. :) The "panic button" is a bit annoying, but I guess that's the point?

Martze says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Pretty good! It's a little frustrating that touching the collapsing ceiling kills you instantly, though. I might not mind if it was a laser or something, but I feel like a falling ceiling shouldn't kill you unless it crushes you against the floor.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Holy crap, there are a lot of levels! I feel like I've played at least 8! And that one level where you had to fall precisely into end teleporter was freakin HARD! lol! But seriously, very charming game. I still haven't finished it, as I have things to do in the real world, but the music and graphics were fun. And escaping those ceiling things is scary!!! =D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Oh yeah, and I agree 100% with Martze. The ceiling should either wait to smoosh you on the ground or be electrified or something.

Jools64 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:06pm

This is a really neat little game. The graphics are really nice and the gameplay feels nice and smooth. I like the momentum, it gives the game some proper depth in the absence of manipulable jumping.

I did have a few problems though:
Some times the camera wouldn't follow fast enough when I was moving at a high speed. I also found that the camera shaking effect was a little too much and made it very difficult to see. I understand that you did that on purpose to make it challenging but the fake platforms are extremely difficult to avoid because of it.

I also ran into a bug where if I died many times on a level, especially if I got fairly far in, the camera would begin to miss align. After many deaths the player would completely disappear off one side of the screen which made the game almost impossible to play.

Other than those issues though, this was an awesome game with nice level and I really enjoyed it. I'm quite impressed with how many levels you managed to make within the time.

Good job!

savethejets1 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:20am

This was a jam entry so it wasn't quite done when you guys rated :D

Anyways, I fixed the camera bug and added a few more levels before the cut off, hope you enjoy!

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Nice game! The graphics were great and always jumping mechanic really added to the gameplay. Would have liked the screen to move with the character smoothly, instead of just repositioning when he lands though.

Jezzamon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:41am

I think the screen shaking was a bit much... it kinda hurt my eyes. :P I know that that was kinda the intention, but I think maybe you should be a bit nicer to your players...

It was an interesting interpretation of the theme, but I didn't really think this game reflected "minimalism". The removal of the jump button seemed to complicate the game more than simplify it. I also liked the music but it made is seem more game-y rathern than minimalistic.

It was a good game-jam game though! Good job.

ddionisio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:50am

I like the color palette in this game, has that rusty and ancient feel to it which fit nicely with the game.

It's an interesting take on platformer with the jump button being stuck. It got a little frustrating with the falling ceiling though. The camera shake is too strong...

junt74 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:54am

Great gameplay!
I like this tense.

qgi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:11am

Nice game with a tense atmosphere. The shaking effect and music changes on the wall coming down works great!

BrainSlugs83 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:18am

Actually I got the black screen and it was because some chrome extension I had was blocking one of your javascript files saying it was untrusted. So I had to manually go in and trust your site.

Blizzil says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:15am

Love the idea of the permanent jumping platformer and it works really good. Although i found the level design a bit "rough", it is already fun to play!

BrainSlugs83 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:07am

Giving you a 5 on "mood" 'cause this game scared the crap out of me. 5 on audio for the same reason -- this was pretty well done, yo'!

That being said, I couldn't beat it without cheating. Only tested this in chrome but if you guys get tired of getting smashed and want to be able to teleport, paste this into your debugger console (all on one line):
var __mouse = { x: 0, y: 0 }; $("#gameCanvas").mousemove(function(e){ __mouse.x = e.offsetX; __mouse.y = 400 - e.offsetY;}); $("#gameCanvas").click(function() { var scene = cc.sharedDirector._runningScene._children[0]; var plr = scene.player; var tileMap = scene.tileMap; plr.desiredPosition.x = plr.position.x = (__mouse.x - tileMap._position.x); plr.desiredPosition.y = plr.position.y = (__mouse.y - tileMap._position.y); });

May 1, 2013 @ 11:35am

Fun game, really hard points.

Luxorix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Hard, very hard. Meat boy))

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Great mechanic and nice use of theme! I liked the sprites, too. That falling ceiling is terrifying, actually!

8BitPimp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Nice game. Lots to keep me interested. I also thought it was interesting that you only adjust the camera location when the char touches the floor. Its really a hard game I found. Good work however.

saguaro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Some of those jumps are challenging. I like the eerie, spacy mood. The shaking effect works well, but I'll agree with those above about the ceiling instakill.

cacciatc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Great entry. The transitions within the a level are a little too jerky and nauseating over time. Something smoother would make me mind less every time I die! Of course, I could just stop dying too.... :)

Casino Jack says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Really nice looking graphics. I think it would be a little better if the camera was a bit smoother - as it is it makes a few areas a little more difficult than they should be.

LTyrosine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Insane hard but really liked it. Music is amazing also.

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Such a good game, I love how you have to go down in a jump up type game. The main character is super sweet.

dalbinblue says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Good level of difficulty, dodging the advancing blocks from the top of the level really helped, though in a few cases I didn't know where the exit was before the descent started and it got a bit frantic.

PPLo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:02am

Very cool plateformer game. It feels a little bit meat boyish!
The challenge is well balanced and I liked the atmosphere of your game. However, the shaking screen is very disturbing! Made me miss many jumps, but I guess that its purpose ^^

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:16am

Very nice

MetroidMan347 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:38am

Solid Game. I got stuck and couldn't continue pretty early but really cool all the same.

robcozzens says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:00am

That was a really cool idea.

Nanolotl says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:13am

Nice use of theme with the simplification of platformer controls. I found the screen shake to be a bit too much though.

ArkadyDracul says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:42am

Nice

evilseanbot says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:30am

One of my favorites out of the 80 so far I've rated.

I appreciated that the game had as many levels as it did. However, I felt after the first difficult grab-the-(candle?) level, things didn't get more difficult or introduce anything really novel so I lost interest... I think my sense of pacing is heavily effected by it being part of a contest where I'm rating 80 games in a couple of days, so you may want to take that with a grain of salt that if you're developing for an environment outside of Ludum Dare.

kyyninen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:24am

I liked the idea but the second rock fall level was too hardcore for me! Camera was pretty annoying in the original version, glad to see you fixed it.

naufr4g0 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:54am

Cool game, but camera shake gives me a headache after a few minutes!

blackmagic says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:45am

Perma jump is a nice idea :)

DkCub23 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:57am

Have you no mercy? I played for ten minutes, and level 3 is simply evil! But, it is very addicting. And I like the drastic tempo change in the music once you hit the switch.

mrx says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Awesome game, gets heart heart rate up!

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:25pm

The game is great! Nice graphics, sound effects and game mechanic.

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Here we have a very good concept implemented with good retro graphics and music. However the game was overall too hard and therefore too frustrating. Very good job!

rujo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:13am

cool idea and stylish realization.

shiprib says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:54am

Really great concept, I like the way you adapted the theme of minimalist in the style of platformer. I'm no platform guru but I got about six or seven levels deep before it finally wore me down. :)

Music, art and animation is great! I also found the camera to be a bit slow when I was attempting crazy screen-wide jumps. Some of the jumps had to be highly accurate, I guess that's par for the course with a platform game though, but I found some levels quite frustrating (the one in which you have to fall down onto the teleporter that's sandwiched between two spikes for example).

Beldarak says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Nice game. Very challenging (freaking hard ><) and I love your take on the theme.

Knighty says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:46am

I like the graphics and I really want to like this game, but the way the screen scrolls and the shaking makes it incredibly difficult to see where I'm going.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]