April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Shoot the Apple

by syawqy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

shoot all the apple to win!
control : mouse only

tools : flashpunk,flashdevelop,gimp,bfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#565Fun2.98
#603Humor2.17
#931Audio2.00
#966Mood2.45
#975Overall2.77
#1084Innovation2.30
#1116Graphics2.28
#1211Theme2.68

Comments

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:49am

I like the part where you shoot the apple (which looks like a tomato ;) Music and a better choice of colours would have made this entry better.

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:26am

maybe work on a smoother movement, but it was fun :)

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:33am

Neat. A little too based on luck, maybe...

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:33am

Solid title! Gameplay is quite punchy, I like that. The increasingly difficult puzzles are also quite cool.

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34am

Love the combo system. Is it actually possible to one-shot all the apples in every level?

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34am

Cool idea. Liked the challenge. Surprised myself a few times by getting more than I thought I would. Found the movement a little hard to predict, it was a bit fast. I was guessing more than I was deducing when to shoot.

Deadlyapps says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:36am

Lots of levels. Very enjoyable

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37am

It was a fair experience, music would've done a thing or to make the game more interesting.

The choppyness of the movement is quite odd though, might I recommend that you use something like y=sin(a); 0<=a<PI for vertical bouncing in the future? (:

zatyka says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:39am

I didn't think I'd enjoy the game after seeing the first level, but I finished it, and enjoyed it (1430). I especially enjoyed rapid firing the apples. Nice job!

syawqy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:41am

@BarrensZeppelin sorry for weird ball bouncing movement
I always lost when calculating bouncing,angle,radians,etc...
can you suggest any reading on this topic?
thanks

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:51am

It's already pretty satisfying to play this, but put a some post-compo time into it (focus on getting the motion of the apples to feel "weighty") and you could have a very fun game.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Simple, but fun!

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:26pm

I shot the #*$% out of those apples.

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Nice, simple and very addictive.

berareu says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Nice, I liked it! It's a bit easy, usually spamming is good enough to clear the level

escence says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Not as easy as it seems at first :D But great fun!

May 1, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Colourful style! The game works well, but the levels are far too easy; rapid fire gets you through every level instantly.

Alink says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:49pm

There is potential, but much too easy. Just fixing the bouncing angles (like a billiard game) could make this an excellent challenge.

ovenchips says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:38pm

I like the hand drawn style. There's more depth to this game than at first appears - well done.

dek says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Nice and likeable game, had good gameplay. I really liked the way you increased the difficulty. Never hard enough to be frustrating, but always a nice challenge.

BradleySmith says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:51am

Really well designed levels, good fun!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]