April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

for science!

by xandy - Jam Entry

you control a drone in deep space. stay in the target area to collect data. the drone has several subsystems which take individual damage and change your ship's behavior and view.

Windows:
unpack the zip and run the exe or run the love file with love2d
Mac/Linux:
You need to install love2d version 0.8 https://love2d.org/

Source:
.love files are zips, so feel free to have a look :)

Controls:
wasd
space: lasers
left mouse button: rockets
shift: booster
p: pause
f: toggle fullscreen
r: reset

credits:
artwork by @herrsch0r
coding by @xAndy
Ein Produkt des RaumZeitLabors

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#290Graphics(Jam)3.12
#366Humor(Jam)1.75
#443Audio(Jam)1.73
#452Innovation(Jam)2.33
#474Fun(Jam)2.27
#478Mood(Jam)2.20
#481Overall(Jam)2.55
#548Theme(Jam)2.14

Comments

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:39am

I can't run .love

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:11am

you need to install love2d and then type love forscience.love in your terminal. you need love 0.8 or higher

Topaz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:38am

Nice graphics and controls. Interesting mechanics too.

thenmal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:40am

This error upon hitting r to restart. http://i.imgur.com/hBPrVSr.png

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:08am

fixed

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:24am

cannot run -- windoes 8

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:29am

I can't see my bullets. This is a critical problem.

I feel like the movement is really hard to get around. I just move so slowly, I feel like a big airplane tank.

I freaking love the look of that really black screenshot though. That is the sole reason that I clicked on your game. Make that, and make it as cool to play as to look at.

fueelin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:50am

Looks really good, some really interesting ideas. I like the whole 'degrading systems' thing and the way it's visually implemented. Wish the aim was a little tighter; maybe the movement too. Cool game.

Also the most minimal thing about this game was my score. Somewhere in the negative ten thousands :(

DNA Yarn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:52am

Movement controls need work.
The switch to the minimalist graphics works well.

-team account

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:52am

Loved the art style, was very amusing!

Armix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:55am

Well, I'm working on Mac with the latest version of LÓVE and all I saw was the ship placed upon a radar-like sprite and heaps of debug information on the sides of the output. Plus nothing responded and yeaaahh... Sorry about that, can't judge.

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:57am

did you press p to unpause?

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:58am

@fueelin the score decreases if you leave the radar area.

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:02am

I found the controls really sluggish as well, which made it difficult to aim and dodge enemies.

DarkX2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:45pm

The degrading did not work for me for some reason, I was destroyed before I ever got degraded. The style of the game does hardly match the theme for this game.

One problem this game has is that there does not seem to be a way to win it.

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:08pm

the game is not about winning but getting a good score ;)

hirsch says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:01pm

I can only play the game for ~5 sec, then the game freezes (but only 50% CPU usage). I found out that it happens when the big crash particles appear. The moving particles don't influence the game at all.

Stalker : 5; Body : 33; Mine : 20; Thread : 1; ParticleSystem : 3; PolygonShape : 30; Spaceship : 1; table : 67; Fixture : 30; Unknown : 17; Image : 6; World : 1;

kannas says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Wow, not bad! it would have taken a great benefit from some sound effects, but that aside, it's a very cool concept. When are you doing a complete polished game out of this? xD

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Turning feels a little fast compared to the ship's forward acceleration, it makes it difficult to use lasers effectively. I enjoyed the simple various vector-style graphics displayed when you're damaged.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Nice game! 55.5k score :)

kddekadenz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:36pm

It crashed a fucked up my screen resolution after enabling fullscreen mode D:

xandy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:00pm

that seems to be a love2d issue :(

May 1, 2013 @ 1:51pm

On Ubuntu, first thing I see:

Error: effects.lua:30: attempt to call field 'newCanvas' (a nil value) Traceback...

May 1, 2013 @ 1:52pm

(didn't vote of course, since it's not runnable here)

xandy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:59pm

do you have love version 0.8?

loxo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:16pm

This game is really hard, because of the many controls. The mechanics are good and I like the idea with the radar. Graphically fits the game the theme well, due to the decreasing visual complexity of the objects on screen. Though I like the second style (big screenshot) the best and think the whole game should have used that, instead of the different styles. One style, easier controls and some sound effects and the game would be incredible.

The fullscreen toggle isn't working in paused mode.

Jiddo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Pretty cool game. I enjoyed it. It ran perfectly for me on Linux with LÖVE 0.8.0.

The graphics were cool and it was fast paced and fun. I didn't really like the controls much tho. I ended up uncontrollably spinning around on the spot and/or ending up outside the playing area way too often because the controls were weird. I'd like it better if you could stop and accelerate much faster and if there was more drag/friction.

Also, I'd much rather see a different control scheme alltogether (Using A and D to turn relative to turn around your axis is much less intuitive than Just using them to move in the corresponding directions.)

I didn't realize that I would loose points for being outside the red circle at first. I just assumed that I had to try keeping that area clear of enemies. This should be more clearly communicated.

Also, more enemy types would be awesome. :)

Finally, after loosing the game and restarting, I immediately loose again. I have to restart the game to play a second time.

whilefun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:55am

I was unaware that going outside gave me negative points, and found the controls hard to use well. The idea is neat though, and the background and graphics are pretty good too.

May 2, 2013 @ 3:08am

Nice graphics! You should try increasing the angular dampening and the angular acceleration to make the controls better!

May 2, 2013 @ 3:10am

You've got a great start here! Need to fine tune the controls, provide feedback about not to leave the circle. And if you do, how to get back. I ventured out and couldn't find my way back without restarting the game.

Nonameghost says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:13am

Interesting! Controls were a bit loose, and I couldn't hit anything, but it looked awesome, and I can definitely see a great game coming out of this!

Jonapulse says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:50am

Good looking and fun controls. A little overwhelming (number of enemies)

TehSkull says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:51am

Best application of the theme I've found. Taking a complex space shooter and stripping it down to the barebones as you get damaged. Fantastic idea.

Gameplay is where the game takes a big hit. Controls are unintuitive.

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Nice game. Maybe a crosshair following the mouse pointer would help to shoot rockets.

robmozart says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:06pm

You got a lot of work done in 48 hours! I had fun with this. After dying the first time, it said game over almost immediately after hitting p to unpause.

May 4, 2013 @ 11:15am

Sadly I can't open it. I get following error message:

"Error

effects.lua:30: Cannot create canvas: Not supported by your OpenGL implementation.


Traceback

[C]: in function 'newCanvas'
effects.lua:30: in main chunk
[C]: in function 'require'
main.lua:7: in main chunk
[C]: in function 'require'
[C]: in function 'xpcall'"

(Windows XP, 32bit)

May 5, 2013 @ 12:58am

There was some serious jitter on the mac build... was that part of the game?

thedaian says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:35am

I like the effects of the degrading systems, but movement and firing of lasers all felt a bit slow. The game could have been improved a bit with some sound, too.

xandy says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:15am

@SuperlevelSebastian what os are you using? and what opengl version does your gpu support?

May 10, 2013 @ 4:12am

The art-style is really good but I had trouble with the controls. Wish they worked better because the game otherwise seems quite good!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:38am

Cool game. I like this type of mechanic, but it isn't innovative. The gravity is weird too. Congrats anyway!

csanyk says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:01am

No sound:(

I didn't really like the controls, I felt sluggish and it was very hard to dodge the incoming enemies, or turn quickly enough to take aim at them. So it felt unfair. At times when the graphics stripped away and all I was seeing was a wireframe, I liked that. *That* felt more minimal. Why does a minimalist shooter need lasers AND rockets AND boosters??

MinionStudios says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 1:56pm

That is an awesome game! Very difficult and great art!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]