April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Jump

by heisenbug - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Jump embraces the theme of Minimalism by using block graphics and controls to create a simple but fun game.

Have fun playing, and post your high score as a comment if you want!

Controls:
Space bar: Jump
Space bar: Restart (When you die)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#142Theme4.03
#496Fun3.05
#529Humor2.25
#861Overall2.89
#906Audio2.09
#1097Mood2.26
#1116Graphics2.28
#1204Innovation2.11

Comments

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:36am

Like the minimalist style and the nice feeling of landing as the cube. nice entry

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18am

Follows the theme well and I like the trailing graphics behind the square!

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:24am

24 here!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:24am

Really goes with the theme... Nice

Jesse111 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:25am

46!

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:26am

I agree that the trailing graphics are sweet. Good use of theme as well.

kulhajs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:28am

Nice game, the only thing I missed there was some background music, this kind of game really could use some. Anyway, awesome entry! ;)

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:05am

31! Was fun!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:17am

great start to endless runner..

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:40am

76 Fool! Boom!

More content would have been good, but interestingly I found the invitation to post scores quite encouraging. I played many times to get my high score.

Taro Omiya says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:40am

Minimalism at it's finest: bringing down game graphics to its purest form, making the player more aware of the gameplay.

I had a lot fun playing this game. Great work!

Blinked says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Nails the theme. It's actually quite a fun little game, the jumping is a bit sticky at times and the audio glitched a bit for me. But overall nice entry!

ovenchips says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:57pm

This is crying out for an iPhone port. :) Well done. Very simple but nicely executed. That's the most minimalist motion blur I've ever seen.

messiano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:57pm

A nice game, simple but fun. I like the randomly generated blocks!

meszka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:07pm

124 :p It was fun, reminded me of Tom Sennett's Runman game (the original, not "race around the world") in which you jump and roll to avoid blocks. I guess this is even more minimalistic.

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Very nice approach to the minimalistic theme, i enjoyed it, good job!

Uhfgood says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Infinite runner. Although with the obstacles hanging down remind me a bit of the "hover-sleds" level of BattleToads for the NES

May 4, 2013 @ 6:26pm

I found the game very minimalist, combining with theme. Nice entry.

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Enjoyable run-'n-jump style game, though I often had over-hanging platforms spawn, which was rather pointless for me because I just had to do nothing. As a result, the game didn't have as much actual stuff going on as it maybe should have to keep interesting.

What's here is fine though. At least replays are fast and the plays are addicting!

May 6, 2013 @ 7:36am

Full points for theme.

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:19am

Cool game :) The random level unfortunately seems to generate many overhangs in a row, which is not very challenging at all.

Muu? says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:14pm

One screen one button one action game. Fits theme perfectly.

PaulSB says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Cool. Simple and fits the theme. Some sound might have helped juice it up a bit. Good job :)

paulmcgg says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:07am

Solid, reminds me of Spike Dislike, but I think it needed a little bit extra juice aesthetically, sonically or a gameplay twist to keep it interesting. It's amazing what even your simple trail adds to it.

May 20, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Good job completing it for LD. Would expand on it with more mechanics and polish. Found some of the collision to be off/confusing when I thought I made a jump but did not (normally landing at the start of a block)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]