April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Illumination

by Alic Szecsei - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Make sure you have your sound on when you play this. Best experienced in a dark environment.

EDIT: Yes, it's got jump scare(s). Loud, unexpected noises and all that. Use headphones if there are other people around.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#824Mood2.61
#969Audio1.90
#1063Theme2.95
#1129Innovation2.23
#1322Graphics1.59
#1338Fun1.38
#1344Overall1.68
#1659Coolness33%

Comments

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:33am

I'm not quite sure what to do. What are the keys?

Alic Szecsei says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:42am

WSAD for movement and space to jump. It's in first-person POV.

Test User says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:53am

I walk toward the only thing in the game that I can see, then I hear a loud sound, then I can't see anything or do anything... Then, every once in a while I can see a bit of light again before repeating the process.

Graham Weldon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:54am

Hard to figure out whats going on, the sounds don't feel normalised. Good effort though, and a good take on the theme.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:56am

Alright, I've tried it twice, but nothing happens after the initial event. If there are clues int he audio, they are too faint to make out over the wind. Sorry I couldn't figure it out.

robcozzens says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:57am

I'm not sure if I experienced it correctly. After a lot of trying I finally made it to the light and it said Game Over.
I don't know if that means that I beat the game or lost.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:57am

So I try walking towards the light and I get a loud explosion sound. Then I don't seem to make any progress towards it, jump and push forward as I might. I can move relative to it with left and right (or it seems so), but, again, I never make any progress.

Also, I can't quite the game except through ALT+TAB and terminating it, which sucks.

What exactly are you supposed to do if you can't move towards your only means of telling where you are?

baldwinthree says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:58am

Wasn't sure whether the "Game over" screen meant I lost or won. In any case, I got to the illumination! Maybe a few more cues as to the orientation of the camera would have helped.

Alic Szecsei says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:59am

Jumping is present for a reason :) The mechanic is the puzzle, and there is a way to end the game...I don't really want to give spoilers, but I can keep giving hints if enough people can't figure it out.

justin35f says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:01am

Game was nearly unplayable. Extremely loud, unexpected noises are not ok.

voxel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:02am

quite liked this :). would be nice if you captured the mouse pointer. also the sensitivity is through the roof and i can see a lot of people being too confused to be able to finish it

voxel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:02am

<Spoiler>

You have to use the jump key

</spoiler>

Alic Szecsei says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:03am

@Cybearg Dammit, I knew I forgot something. I got used to producing web projects and forgot the need to esc-exit in standalones...

Anyway, you should be able to make progress? It may not be apparent at first because it's a little ways off (and it starts moving away from you after the first event), but it is winnable.

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36am

Moody but annoying, couldn't complete it as I got bored after few falls.

gre says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:24am

The idea is quite good and it quite match the theme. Nice exploring/maze little game.

It probably need some polish, Game Over for reaching the light is a bit strange,
also I put 1-star for the audio because of this crazy noise sound, not sure it's a good idea or probably need to be normalized with the rest of the audio experience.

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Nice take on the theme.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:22pm

We're perhaps too much lost. But atmosphere is nice.

lorancou says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:51pm

I don't really get it, but I had a few surprises.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]