April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Spaceminz

by WauloK - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A video for those who can't play it live:
http://youtu.be/34E-qA33lJQ

Made with Gideros Mobile - let's you write in Lua for Android and iOS!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#931Audio2.00
#1022Theme3.00
#1140Mood2.18
#1170Graphics2.18
#1289Fun1.85
#1297Overall2.19
#1339Innovation1.48
#1594Coolness37%

Comments

May 1, 2013 @ 9:37am

Runs fine on my Nexus 7, good job.

myachin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:30am

sorry, dont have a android

daandruff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:31am

An average space shooter. Pretty enjoyable :)

WauloK says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:52am

Thanks guys! Appreciate the comments! :)

dinos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Nice shooter. It was a bit hard to move the ship around on my phone. Nice shooting sound :)

Blinked says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Fun little game, I always enjoy when people make android games for ld, so i can test games on my phone while at school :)

WauloK says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:22pm

hehe Cheers! :)

dertom says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Nice, it actually also works on the G1(htc dream) which was the very first android-phone. Had some problems controlling at first, but after a while the worked out. The shooting might have a bit more frequent but all in all a nice game.

WauloK says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Wow! Glad it works on the Dream. I had no idea :)

markusfisch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Nice to see a game for Android! And it runs very well on my old Galaxy S :) The only thing is that it's a bit hard to move the ship; tap everywhere to move would have been easier probably. But good work!

KEFIR says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Runs well on my old HTC Desire Z! But score texts looks too small on 480x800.. Ship control and fire interval a little annoying. Fits to the theme very well though!

moomoo112 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:19pm

was unsure how to move the first couple of times because I'd move my finger faster than the ship could keep up

WauloK says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:01am

Thanks guys!

lorancou says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Really weird control choice... Why can't we drag from anywhere on the screen?

May 4, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Android-Only? Interesting choice.

tsb says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:17am

big plus for that the app is on the android.
Game suits fine with the theme, but what bothers me is that my thumb covers my hero-ship.
Good entry

WauloK says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:54am

Gideros SDK only outputs for Android and iOS atm. I can't build for anyone for iOS. Won't work.
You can drag L/R anywhere on the screen and it should work. Does for me. I drag from underneath so I can see it.
Start with your finger on top of the ship, then slide it up/down to where you want it. If you go L-R it will still move.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:25am

Minimalist!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]