April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

CHAMELEON RUN

by Split82 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CHAMELEON RUN is minimalistic endless runner game with generated levels and ability to change color of your character (square). If you fall down or hit any platform when you don't match its color, you are done.

I used unity engine, C# for programming and Logic for music and sounds.

Special feature: game was developed using only one hand (I broke the other one few days ago ;)

Hope you will like it!

Post compo version
- more FPS, more fluid
- a little harder
- small tweak in controls

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#36Audio3.93
#38Fun3.86
#90Overall3.81
#181Theme3.97
#190Mood3.39
#216Graphics3.63
#773Innovation2.85
#791Humor1.93

Comments

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:49am

wow this is awesome! The looks are fantastic and a great feel for the 'minimalistic' theme. good music and fun! This is similar to my game where you jump and switch colors. Good job!

Adjotur says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:10am

Haha, great game. Love the feel and look, music fits well. Top notch if I do say so.

7Soul says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:27am

Very smooth, and it fits the theme. I wish you had expanded the mechanics a little bit, like a vertical pole in between jump that require you to change color some times

Jase says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:28am

Very nice!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:33am

Fun game. You mostly just need some more interesting level designs as the game gets going. wall jumping, falling floors & ceilings, etc. The color scheme really helps you tell where you are in the world, so its easy to know the right time to jump and switch. A lot of endless runners on the market don't even do that right.

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:37am

I can dig it. Nice job!

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:29am

267

Great music and great colours.

brantkings says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:12pm

This game is awesome. Loved the flow of it. Nice take on a runner, I liked it!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Simple concept and mechanics, amazing flow. Leaderboards would be nice. 367.

Dissing says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Awesome! The music is great and the visual fits the game very nicely.

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Very nice flow. Nice variation of the endless runner idea.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Nice variation of the canabalt-like. Good music. When the speed increased my eyes started to ache.

Colapsydo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Contrast between the background and the playable zone is really smooth. The resulting atmosphere is really pleasant.

It could have be nice to add a third color to the right, but it would have be surely a bit extreme at high speed.

Oh and the music is good.

Colorvade says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Jump control felt perfect.

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Jump has an excellent feel to it. The speed and overall feel of the gameplay is perfect. Definitely best game made with 1 hand.

CagedRat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Nice twist on the endless runner.

whiteravens says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Simple, but great game!

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Very very good and well polished game for 48 hours!

recursor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Wow. Really polished presentation. Great graphics and music. It fits the minimalistic theme nicely.

bentog says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:45pm

I can see this is a pro's entry, this is minimalism at its best. The only con I found is that the song is so awesome it distracts me from gameplay :D

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Fun game, the color switching mechanics made it more interesting. I really like how smooth the gameplay is. It just feels right. Also, cool soundtrack !

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Fantastic game. One of the best entries! Congratz!!

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:28pm

love this game! very polished and great music

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:39am

Great execution! Nice and clean graphics and a great soundtrack! I love the fluidity of movement. You nailed the theme with this game!

Andrewves says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:37am

I really enjoyed this game, the jumping and color changing feels quite natural and the color choice suits it perfectly.

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Nice solid entry. :)

Pixelboy_85 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Minimalistic, fun and stylish.

GamingYourWay says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:49pm

I loved that lots, when it speeds up it rocks.
Pastal colour scheme works really well doesn't it, overall the look & feel is spot on.
Great work mate.

( I was going to make a joke about spending most of my time in front of the computer with one free hand, but then thought better of it ).

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Really nice job for someone who could only code with one hand in 48 hours and still turn up with a solid game with good visuals. Really good job!

Entity2D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Very simple and awesome game! Very addictive!

ataxkt says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:10am

Really good! Best platformer I've played so far, loving the Ikaruga thing! Possibly takes a little too long to get difficult though, shorter games encourage replays!

iossif says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:42pm

nothing really new but a solid entry i can play several times :) well done!

Super Hamster says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:11am

Awesome game! There should be different modes with more colors, like easy = 2, medium = 3, hard = 4, hardcore = 5. I don't know if that could work though but oh well. Anyways, like I said, this game was really good and very challenging.

cwilloughby says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:41am

Sick. This is really cool. Great work! Love the music fade in, the mechanic, the style, and the polish. Excellent. I was pulled in by the 10sec video just based on how it looked.

blackmagic says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:28am

Nice ! Looks like Cannabalt Gameplay with colour system !
luvit !

BrothersT says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:10am

Nice gameplay and music!

Orni says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:32am

757

loved it! it's like canabalt with an other great gameplay feature - very cool idea

please release this on mobile platforms - I'd love to play it on my android phone

Split82 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:38am

Thanks everyone. I will definitely release this on mobile devices after I have some time to finish it :)

Polar says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:49am

Really nice, but at high speeds it got a bit jerky :) Oh, highscore: 690

gerritg says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Nice visuals, fluid gameplay, nice soundtrack. Who needs more? Great work!

pythong says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:44pm

great! had to die a few times until I understood that this is not just canabalt ;)

Madball says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:46pm

It kept me glued to the monitor. Simple and fun gameplay, flawless controls. Well done.

0beah says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Interesting idea. Rather simple but well executed. Reminds me a lot of canabalt.

Xaychru04 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:16pm

I really enjoyed this game! The music was pretty simple but amazing, I couldn't stop playing :D

Beerman says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Very slick. Loved the colour switching mechanic, really keeps you on your toes.

protensity says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Really nice sense of speed. At first I thought it was too easy, but play it long enough and it gets really fun.

Simple and great with good music.

loxo says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:52pm

That is a really fun to play game. I like the concept, music and simple graphics very much.

ilovepixel says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Nice game! music and visuals look very attractive. Gameplay was great too, this is a game I would really like to play while I am on long trip.

May 5, 2013 @ 6:51am

Great audio and game mechanic! This was really slick. The jumping was well done and everything was smooth and slick. Good stuff. Got 289.

MetroidMan347 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:33am

Terrific! I love dat music! It rocks!

Covenant says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:01am

Good work, controls were perfect!

rujo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:26pm

very nice. a classy realization for a very enjoyable autorunner. nice song too.

Zillix says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:26am

fantastic.

mildmojo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:36am

Unity? Can has Linux build? Thanks!

imagnity says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:19pm

We have similar concept on the color control. I liked yours way better. :)

TurboDindon says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:44am

Simple but efficient concept.
The song is aweeeesome. Very dynamic.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

Sebastian says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:49am

Super fun game. I would prefer it if the difficulty ramped up a bit faster in the beginning because the first 150 or so points are a little tedious. Also I would have liked it if the cube did a full spin in the air instead of just rocking forwards a bit. Great music!
(I see now you made it a bit harder in the post compo version, plays a lot better)

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:36am

Great re-inerpretation of canabalt in two button. Good gae.

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:32am

Enjoyable, definitely not a bad idea for a second button in the infinite runner genre. There's a lot of screen tearing, but it's not that big an issue. Cool game.

Lyonsbanner says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:10pm

279 points.

Codexus says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Very minimalistic, nice music!

Threef says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Idea is really simple, but music and art makes it great!

Zccc says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Amazingly polished!! The gameplay is just addictive and the music... too awesome :o

Xanjos says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Really nice variation on the endless runner genre that's just too fun and insanely addictive.

Aevek says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 6:58am

For me, the perfect blend of a lot of games similar to this one, the basic concept is not original, but well implemented. The color switching added a cool mechanic to keep me focused for much longer than games like this normally do.

May 19, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Now this is how you do minimalism! Nearly as addictive as "Robot Unicorn Attack". The music is very good, I like the background, and there's enough challenge here to keep me coming back. Very nice.

XufyCZ says ...
Jun 2, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Can you repair the download please...? I would be pretty happy, because I would like to look at the code.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]