April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Simple Pleasures

by Jarrett - Jam Entry

TABLE FLIPPING!

A simple, fun table flipping game made by Jarrett Burns and George Miller with music from Incompetech by Kevin MacLeod.

Move with WASD
Look around with the mouse
Flip tables with space bar or left click
(only after taking a moment to admire their sound structural design, of course)

Can you find the potato?

Have fun :D

You can download the game for Windows or play it in your browser. The web link *should* work..

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#29Humor(Jam)3.68
#79Fun(Jam)3.52
#283Innovation(Jam)2.93
#310Overall(Jam)3.00
#332Audio(Jam)2.69
#342Mood(Jam)2.72
#502Theme(Jam)2.45
#512Graphics(Jam)2.21
#1284Coolness48%

Comments

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:14am

Link? I'll check later

Aevek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:02am

Could you perhaps post some controls? Spent quite a lot of time trying to figure out how to flip tables, as advertised.

Jarrett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:29am

Snap, it's always the obvious things you forget to include :\ Thanks for reminding me Aevek. Don't see a way to edit my entry now but I'll post them here:

Move with WASD
Look with the mouse
Flip tables with either space bar or left click
(After you've admired their sound structural design, of course)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:51am

Ok. Really, I don't why, it's hard to admit but, I really enjoyed to flip those damn tables. Putting stuff in a mess, that's always cool \o/

But I think, there's really something to do with that. Don't know, add blood to tables, the more you kill them, the more they become alive and beg for mercy. You should seriously think about adding something narrative in it. I really feel like there's potential.

I really liked it anyway !

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:53am

Well, i thought it was lame, i played it, i liked it ! Really fun, good job on voices and sales harassment !

Jarrett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:35am

Thanks for the feedback so far everyone :) Glad you liked it. Your games are all great too :D

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Hahaha, I'm glad I came back and tried this. I flew a couch up to the giant table on the second floor. The sounds were funny

Szedouu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Funniest game i ever played, music is very good and also graphics looks awesome. Best at LD26 so far!

Lemonannie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:37pm

It's quite satisfying to slip tables. I only wish I could flip those pesky salesmen. Lemonannie

Lemonannie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Make that flip tables.

OnlySlightly says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:40am

Loved the voice acting. Hilarious game, and who knew flipping tables would feel so good?

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:23am

Wonderful title. It took me back to my serial table flippage days.

Tiago says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:34am

I got surprised right from the start with the voice acting! took me a while to learn how to flip the tablez! but once I learned... Flip time! great humor and mood!

LaceySnr says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:29am

Where else have I heard that intro music?! It's driving me crazy!!

Jarrett says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:38am

Appreciate the feedback everyone. Glad you all enjoyed it :)

Intro music is Grove Grove from Incompetech. Not sure where you might have heard it, but I'd say it and others been used several places.

http://incompetech.com/music/royalty-free/index.html?keywords=Grove+Grove&Search=Search

pjchardt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:19pm

I did not see one table break in all my table flipping. Amazing structural integrity. It would be nice if the scoring was more in depth and had more feedback, i.e. multipliers and such(maybe there is? it felt random). Right now the game seems to be an offbeat sandbox. I think the game is very amusing, but I think with a solid scoring/feedback system it could go even further.

cmjd says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:30pm

This game was a ton of fun! Flipping tables to gain airtime was a pretty cool mechanic, although it was difficult to control, but that was part of the fun! Nice work :D

robotality says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Not sure what the hell I just played, but flipping those tables was fun!

nathanj439 says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 2:10am

That was surreal and entertaining. I liked the crazy voices.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]