April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Line Knight

by berareu - Jam Entry

Well, here's my entry for LD26!

My entry is inspired by an italian cartoon called "La Linea" or "The Line", where the protagonist is a silhoutte of a man walking on an infinite line.
This should be minimalistic enough, right?

It's a very simple and short game, it's a action/platformer...just keep moving forward and remember to use all the controls!

I used HaxeFlixel to develop this game and it was really a challenge since I usually work with Game Maker Studio. Still, I learned a lot!

Music by DST from http://nosoapradio.us

THE GAME IS VERY BUGGY RIGHT NOW! I'M SORRY! I'm just not good enough with HaxeFlixel... I'll try to fix all the bugs as soon as possible!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#47Theme(Jam)4.03
#58Innovation(Jam)3.73
#105Graphics(Jam)3.85
#173Humor(Jam)2.60
#188Overall(Jam)3.34
#200Mood(Jam)3.17
#217Audio(Jam)3.07
#255Fun(Jam)2.95

Comments

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:18am

Very cool idea. Got stuck at the guy throwing projectiles, but I can see this kind of thing being very interesting, especially with spline shapes or vectors.

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:24am

Nice! Very clever use of minimalism. A little unclear as to who was hitting who at the end, but I think I beat the game!

berareu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:45am

Thank you!
@tacograveyard If you reached the end of line, then you beat the game ;)

timtipgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:25pm

The style is awesome.

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Might want to put the controls somewhere.

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Very nice! I liked the dynamic of switching to the bottom of the line. Why would anyone ever go back to playing right-side-up voluntarily?

Nisshoku says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:32pm

I also wasn't sure whether I beat the game or not, I thought the blue screen effect meant that I took a water wave to the face, but apparently it means that I hit the guy.

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Fantastic visuals, this is really something different! Took me a while to find out that one can switch to the other side of the line. Also, on my qwertz keyboard, the controls are a bit awkward to reach. But other than that this is pretty much perfect - great work!

Colapsydo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:14pm

As a fan of la linea, I really like this game. The line effect is well executed.
As you said it's buggy sometime, but it remains a nice small game.

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Great art and concept! Kept falling through the floor though, and wasn't sure what was going on when I hit the wolf with the sword and the screen flashed blue.

Jod says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:37pm

This was very good indeed! Captured the minimalist theme quite well while still allowing for gameplay. I was really happy when I found out about shifting the line. Very cool indeed.

May 1, 2013 @ 12:38pm

I like the idea and the game you made, it was fun to play

Gama11 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:39pm

I really like the artstyle and the concept in general. However, it wasn't very playable due to the controls (the animation that makes you freeze for quite a while when switching sides and the fact that jumping automatically makes you tavel horizontally makes it really hard to control).

Corofides says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:47pm

I liked it. Very interesting use of the theme, rather innovative on an old concept.

uncade says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Cool idea, and the animation is really cool, the controls were tough to get used to, but I still think you did a great job!

Ariake81 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Really liked it, my favourite game yet! Great sfx and gfx. Although a little buggy a great concept that deserves to be played and further developed.

tankete says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:14am

Original idea. Really liked the style. Well done!

tcstyle says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Fun little game. Did I get stuck in an endless winning screen?
Great sound and graphics. Controls copuld be improved (jumping was not so intuitive and zxc is bad for German keyboard layout where y is the z)

May 6, 2013 @ 2:48pm

I like it. It might lack a little polishing here and there (especially the fighting), but all in all it's a nice minimalist take on "save the princess"-style adventure games.

Sebastian says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Interesting idea, one thing that I didn't like was that you had forwards momentum when jumping even if you weren't moving originally. That just made it somewhat unintuitive for me..

pentaphobe says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:22pm

great work, a little hard to see why you die or how I beat the boss, but very enjoyable!

ethankennerly says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:10am

Seeing the character traverse from one side of the line to the other to dodge obstacles and combat amused me. If you continue to develop this, have you considered exploring the other illusions of the line a little more?

May 9, 2013 @ 6:07am

Very cool art and theme! A game made up of one-line - love it! Did seem a little buggy when I got to the princess. Still great though!

euwaku says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:25am

Good memories that was this spanish cartoon (la linea?). Never thought of a game adaptation but this game was pretty well done! Too short maybe ^^

Lythom says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:54am

Nice entry, could be very good with more polish and less bugs ! Keep the creative, improve the tech., and you'll make great games !

numpad says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:43am

Good! Awesome idea with this line. Sadly, there were many bugs. And it was short. But the graphics were nice!

galman says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:19am

Really cool idea! The game was a bit too short..

bobiniki says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:30am

Awsome style and great idea. Overall very nice entry!

goerp says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:35am

Wow, 5 stars for graphics. That style is really nice and really wel done!
And nobody else did a minimal style like this I think.
The game worked well for me so I think you know HaxeFlixel well enough.

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Great and original game! Love it

Madball says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:38pm

This is quiet cool. The first jump is a little bugged, and... well, you know you have bugs. Make a post-compo or something!

Zccc says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Great idea :)

kill0u says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:13am

Another Haxe game :)
Great game btw.

Jeremias says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:58am

Very interesting concept, sadly not that much content... why not making a post-compo version with more levels?

ahm99 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:33am

Cool idea. I really liked the concept. I think you could make a full game. Good job :)

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Good idea, but the control mapping is a bit disturbing.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]