April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalists Tower

by Bzaraticus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Click on blocks to destroy them, attempt to keep the tower stable while reaching the target in the given time.
ESCAPE pauses the game, M toggles sound.

"Minimalism" here refers to removing as many blocks from a tower as possible while maintaining its purpose (to stay upright). And possibly the style of the game too.

Requires .NET framework 4.0, extract all files before running.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#372Innovation3.36
#416Fun3.14
#509Overall3.21
#632Theme3.46
#633Humor2.12
#717Audio2.43
#928Graphics2.57
#945Mood2.48

Comments

StuStutheBloo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:33am

Doesn't work for me :(

HELLO23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:11am

Fun ! I could not pass level 3.
I played the game on windows, and it is working good, and it is a really nice game !. On Linux using mono the game crashes , an exception with the audio (DLL not found openal32.dll) - I also had that with my game so after a lot of efforts trying to solve it I decided not to put audio on the Linux version of my game.

Bzaraticus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Thanks for testing, I'll do a seperate build for Linux then without audio and get it out ASAP

Jim Haslett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:49am

Won't run for me. Gives a generic "LD26 has stopped working" message.

Andy West says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:57am

I'm getting the same "LD26 has stopped working" crash that other people are getting.

Korda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:00am

Im getting the same error as Jim (running vista x64 if it helps)

lucasncv says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:01am

Surprisingly fun, haha. Freezing the pieces is a nice touch! I think you should include openal32.dll with the package.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:03am

That's a pretty cool idea. It's awfully difficult to judge this stuff, but I feel like it moves slowly enough that most people can get a handle on it.

However...

If you click on a freeze block, then click as fast as possible on things that aren't bombs, you will win the level the vast majority of the time. That seems to me like an exploit XD

Solid start!

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:05am

this is fun! I reached level 7. Seems like the strategy of 'spam clicks and try to hit freeze blocks' works very well.

I think the fail state is not very well communicated. Is there a set number of blocks you can miss? I was expecting more of a puzzle, and not an infinite tower. Might be worth thinking about.

Anyway good job ! :)

Bzaraticus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:10am

Thanks for the comments. I'd love to know why it crashes for some people and not others, doesnt seem to depend on OS. Might be a graphics thing to do with opengl. who knows :/

Hope i figure it out before my next entry

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:27am

I also get the "LD26 has stopped working" crash, Windows 7 x64

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:40am

Pretty sweet! I like the concept, and it played pretty solidly after I figured out the freeze vs. bomb effects. Nice work!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:43am

Doesn't run for me either :(

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:14am

Game is buggy for me as well. Windows 7 64-bit. As soon as I move my mouse over the tower (without clicking) the tower explodes and I get a game over.

Spelchan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:27am

Neat idea. The short time-limits made this more of a click as quick as you can and hope you are lucky game rather than a puzzle game.

Bzaraticus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Might have fixed some of the crash issues.

May 1, 2013 @ 12:35pm

A fun little game with good difficultyc :D

spriters2000 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Great concept and physics!
I played it so long!
I rated it with the maximum score.

zkenshin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:00pm

I do enjoy a good physics game. :)

galman says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 12:50pm

I really like this idea! Nice game with a lot of potential, you really should make a post-compo game :D

mebibyte says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 5:01am

Worked perfectly for me. The pressing enter to begin the level could be replaced with clicking to make it so you only need the mouse. Game was pretty fun!

Bzaraticus says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Originally it had clicking but for people who spammed click they missed the new level screen altogether

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]