April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Swatch

by madlee - Jam Entry

Simple 2d platformer with a neat game mechanic (i think). Didn't have much time to work on it, but I think its a nice start to something.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#11Innovation(Jam)4.13
#15Theme(Jam)4.28
#89Overall(Jam)3.64
#144Fun(Jam)3.25
#211Graphics(Jam)3.44
#243Mood(Jam)3.06
#299Audio(Jam)2.83
#1471Coolness44%

Comments

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:48am

The color-absorbing is one of the coolest mechanics I've come across yet. Loads of potential.

kyru says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Really neat game, the color absorbing is a rad mechanic used very nicely here.

LTyrosine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:27am

Really cool concept and nice implementation. Smooth and well crafted gameplay. Nice job.

May 1, 2013 @ 3:43am

Beautiful run animation. Nice job.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:42am

I *really* liked this. I wish there was more too it. Bad guys, or moving parts or things. Maybe a goal. Love the idea anyway, could make for some really awesome puzzles.

Anyway, I wanted to explore more than what was possible (for me, at least) so I wrote this little hack of a javascript (I only tested it in chrome), it lets you click on the level to re-position your dude (for example, so you could make it past really hard / frustrating jumps, or untrap yourself or even to teleport to impossible locations): it's all one line, so just copy & paste it into your F12 debug console. :D

var __mouse = { x: 0, y: 0 }; window.onmousemove = function (e) { __mouse.x = e.clientX; __mouse.y = e.clientY; }; window.onmousedown = function() { player.pos.x = __mouse.x; player.pos.y = __mouse.y + 5; player.ctx.clearRect(0, 0, player.ctx.canvas.width, player.ctx.canvas.height);};

madlee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:10pm

thanks guys! I have started working on some proper level design, which is making it feel much more like a game to me. I will probably release an updated version sometime in the next couple of weeks once I've done, then I'll look into adding some more gameplay features. Not sure if I want to do enemies, but it does need some other challenge.

and nice work with the hackery BrainSlugs83 :)

0beah says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:42pm

I absolutely love this game mechanic!

iamorim says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Thanks for your comment. I'm already working on the camera thing :)

Man, you have a great game. The simplicity matches perfectly with the concept. I loved it! :)

Galvesmash says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:25pm

I love it man! Great job doing this!

Ithildin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:31pm

The colour change mechanic was really original and it was nicely implemented, it's really promising! Great game =)

chas says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:51am

Bravo. Another HTML5 win!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:09am

Color mechanic is really nice, but, i've become lost in a game quite fast. Love it.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:37pm

(^@madlee Thanks, it wasn't nearly as hard as hacking Nova Jump. :D)

Cyborg771 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Really cool mechanic, I couldn't figure out if I was trying to find any kind of goal or just wandering around though. I seemed to hit the same dead end several times. Definitely keep working on this one.

Guardian_Bob says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Popup window, pops up, but then I see an empty window.

madlee says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:41pm

@Guardian_Bob, what browser are you using?

joe40001 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:58am

I really like this mechanic however I cannot figure out what to do once I reach here:
http://i.imgur.com/N7L0K1j.png

If the game is unwinnable once you fall why do you let me keep playing? I must be missing something but pressing x there does nothing, was I supposed to be able to change into light blue? Because I can't.

I won't score this game until I figure this part out. :P

madlee says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:49pm

@joe40001
yeah, i suppose I should have made it clear that there wasn't a definite end. There really isn't anything to do after that point. Sorry about that! I've branched this project and started redesigning the world from the ground up, and have made a good amount of progress, but I won't post anything about that until the judging time period is over.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:56am

I'm having the same problem as Guardian_Bob. I see the popup window but it just displays a blank square (Firefox 20) I also tried it with Opera with the same result.

madlee says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Hmm... I'm able to get it to work in firefox with no problem. It is possible that it's just taking a while to download all of the assets?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]