April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Trippin' The Crowd

by qdowngames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple concept with minimalistic controls.

As an undercover operative, you are in charge of eradicating the crime threat that ravages your city... the problem is who is the target? Only you can see when a citizen is an undercover officer (blue), a general citizen (black) or an enemy to kill (red); Planting your mines is about timing - a mistake could cost you!

I tried a different concept to a game; instead of play and stop, the game continues to run as a "simulator", and during the simulation you try get your best score.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#271Humor2.70
#397Graphics3.26
#646Theme3.45
#707Innovation2.94
#898Fun2.61
#948Overall2.80
#997Mood2.41
#1090Audio1.12

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:21am

I like it. simple yet, difficult to master. boils the risk,restrictions and act of anti-crime action down to a pretty minimal core.

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Simple, but I had some fun !

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:43pm

I like the lack of game over state in this.

larb says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:45am

Simple, one button control, and fun. Nice work.

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:57am

Nice presentation, but there wasn't a huge incentive not to blow up general citizens in order to kill an enemy. There also wasn't a lot to do when no enemies were on screen.

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:32am

The look and feel of the game are pretty awesome. Simple concept executed well.

It was hard at times to predict which person would blow up when they were close together.

I didn't hear any sound.

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:19am

Nice "one button" game! I love the scoring system and how it incorporates simplified versions of ideas like calculated and acceptable losses.

ncgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:53am

nice. I feel like this concept has a lot of potential

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:24am

Got long stretches where I just got the black stick figures, but it certainly fits the theme.

Ditto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:27am

Love the graphics, that wobbly walk is charming!

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:35am

Maybe it could have used a bit more speed. Anyhow, loving the graphics.

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:47am

Very simple, but more challenging than I thought it would be.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:04am

Love the way the citizens walk!

Paul Sinnett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:11am

I didn't get any audio. Was there any? I like the simplicity of the construction. It would have been easy to overdo the gameplay. I think you got the balance right there.

Skoggy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Nice little game. A little slow, love the art style :)

whiteravens says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Quite a funny game, keep it up!

ElScootro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Nice job. I like the way it works, just wish it ramped up a bit after you have some success.

sharbelfs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:57pm

You have a minimalistic game, not a simple-graphic-mmo-AI thing. Love it.

Shugor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:58pm

This game was really fun to play! A nice, simple concept that seemed easy at first but on some occasions would be quite challenging made this game well worth playing.

GetFun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:03pm

You have my same problem lol preventDefault!! =P
But yeah, I like your style. A bit repetitive but I like it

Korda says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:47am

Took me a while to work out why I wasnt getting a score but after that it was pretty good. I like the sense of depth the shadows give

Tiago says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:20am

Nice little game, simple mechanics but challenging gameplay!

ilovepixel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:30am

It started fun, but I didn't know what more to after a while.

Cosine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Great game, but not particularly long-lived.

Ariake81 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Interesting and fun little game. No sound or was it just me? Would benefit from a sound track or sfx. Also had long stretches with only black characters. Enjoyed the game and found the graphics and animation fun

SnoringFrog says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:42pm

I loved this. Managed to get up to 157 before blowing up another cop and realizing I really should go study for my exams xD. Great game though, very simple and addicting. Sound sound would have been great though.

StMatn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Nice game! The shadows are pretty and the explosion look really cool! I like the simplicity of the concept. Good job!

Super Hamster says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Interesting but sometimes you can't do anything about it and you have to hit a innocent person.

Tater_hater says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:06pm

I really like this kind of game, very fun and addicting

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]