April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

mesh

by nseward - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a simple game about a lonely gear that just wants to mesh with a mate. Unfortunately gears don't have eyes so you have to feel your way to the end.

Use the left and right arrow keys to roll the gear around.

This was made with Haxe/NME, Box2D, Actuate, Soundation, Inkscape, and Audacity.

Enjoy!

***POSSIBLE BUG***
If the gear won't hardly budge with the arrow keys then try restarting. I have seen that happen once and can't recreate it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#117Innovation3.78
#283Overall3.45
#342Fun3.22
#544Audio2.72
#618Humor2.14
#668Mood2.76
#706Graphics2.84
#713Theme3.38

Comments

amijlee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00am

The link didn't work for me, just a blank page.

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:02am

Same here -- blank page

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:03am

I'm having the same problem, just a white screen.

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05am

The file doesn't seem to be loading for me in any of my browsers. I just get a white page that says "movie not loaded" if I right click.

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:07am

The link should be fixed now.

AlgidPlasma says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:20am

Awesome game, but the music kind of turned me off.

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:25am

Absolutely brilliant! I'd swap the last two levels though, as the second-to-last is easily the most difficult.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:26am

Glad I came back to try this one. Very fun!

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:30am

Very nice. Everything, er, meshes well together.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:51am

This is a very clever game! Great job!

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:00am

I'm glad I came back to this. I can't really do the time trials but I had fun playing the levels. This reminds me a lot of another game I played a long while ago, and the core mechanic of spinning wheel player was enjoyable there, too. Not being able to see the course, however, served to make this game pretty unique. I've said this on a lot of comments for games already, but having lots of levels really seems to be a big improvement in games like this.

acronaut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:21am

I'm stuck on 2nd level. Nice idea of spinning gear physics. Neat how this may evolve further! good stuff!

patrickward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50am

Love the graphics and the spinning gear. Fun concept. I got stuck on the 2nd level though. I couldn't get the gear to past that initial u-turn path.

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Fun concept! And minimalistic, indeed :D

Jackamikaz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Nice mechanic! oh look, I made a pun

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:30pm

I'm also stuck on the 2nd level. The gear seems to have way too much momentum, it doesn't respond quickly to my inputs, so it's often turning the wrong way. The music doesn't add anything, and I think for the "Web" URL you should put "Web (Flash)" so people know it requires a non-standard plugin.

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:49pm

@lulzfish_4: The arrows don't change direction of motion. They change the direction of the applied torque. You have to plan ahead and cope with the momentum. You are right. I could have made much better music. I was going for strange and offbeat. I guess I succeeded.

I changed "Web" to "Web (Flash)". Good suggestion.

lanz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Wow! Great game! Interesting mechanics and idea with blind gears. Great job!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:03pm

This is great! Really nice mechanics, very addictive!

Toastation says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Great game :)

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Pretty interesting. Took me a moment to figure out the travel path was set. I like the music, good use of sampling.

Hegemege says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Great game, couldn't get past level 10 (I mean srsly, a second pit after the first one? >.>)

I was kindof waiting for the level where you need to lower your momentum enough to hit the center, glad you added that in (twice)

messiano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:37am

Loved the feel, mood, graphics and physics, it feels very polished! Congratulations!

Switchbreak says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:39am

Nice idea, it actually took me quite a while to figure out what I was controlling and how it worked. Once it clicked though, I got a kick out of it.

May 1, 2013 @ 6:52am

Simple but clever mechanics, it was a lot of fun to try and guess the path and succeed (or fail miserably). Good job!

cmayhem says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Very fun, great idea!

Casino Jack says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Took me a little while to figure out how to control it, but great fun when I did.

stqn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:21am

Pretty good and fun. Only the last level was annoying, it took ages to climb that ramp! And I'm glad I didn't fall in the wrong one afterwards! The music loop is cool but too short, it got annoying after a while too. And of course I would have loved a non-white background.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:13am

Nice game. Was fun to complete all levels.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Is it even possible to get 3 stars (or 1, for that matter), on level 10? I couldn't even get my score under 30 seconds. Other than that, I really enjoyed the game. Interesting idea, although it mostly involved just doing the level slowly once to learn how to do it quickly. Getting 3 stars was crazy challenging though, and due to not having much time I just contented myself with 1 per level.

@SamPotasz says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:53pm

REALLY novel idea! I quite like it :) The controls are pretty tough to master, but it's a really fun game. Nicely done!

Dir3kt says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:29pm

At the beginning I though the level selection screen was the game. Stupid me I didn't even tried to click a gear lol :/

Nice game with very original motion. The scratchy soundtrack kind of worked for me.

oatsbarley says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Cute idea and I love the music!

kill0u says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Cool game, but hard to control :P

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Rolling the orange gear to the blue gear interested me. If you continue to develop this, I did not understand the physics forces that were determining the path.

ovenchips says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Fun fun fun! Great structure and polish to this game - it's really hard to fault. Challenging enough in places to be compulsive but not overly frustrating. One of my favourites.

StMatn says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Very cool mechanics! It was fun to play, but I would like to know, what your record on the last level is, since 12 seconds seem really hard. Nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]