April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tech Troop Tim's Big Pay Day

by Guardian_Bob - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is basically a maze solving game with a twist. The twist is, the maze is split between two screens. Between the two you have the bare minimal amount of information needed to solve the maze.

High scores may not report, it is best effort reporting only.

AVG may flag the exe, that's a false positive.

The GDrive links should just download now.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#284Innovation3.47
#322Humor2.62
#653Overall3.08
#717Audio2.43
#741Fun2.78
#816Mood2.62
#1092Theme2.90
#1250Graphics2.04

Comments

CyberYeti says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:00am

This was really cool, I liked the challenge of looking between the screens. However, there was really no way to fail that i came across which made randomly walking into the shelves until you find the path an option. Nice job though!

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:03am

I liked it. Fun idea, the split eyes. I'll admit I was expecting something a little more insane from the awesome title screen graphic. Heads up -- it was a little weird going to your google drive and downloading through the zip there--an auto-link to a download would lose you less players.

Guardian_Bob says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:05am

Thanks, let me see what I can do about the link.

Guardian_Bob says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:12am

I'll be able to change hosts in about 5 hours or so.

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:42am

Server error from one mirror, not really sure what I am supposed to do at the other.

robcozzens says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:44am

That is insane!
Really cool idea... much harder than I expected.

Guardian_Bob says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:46am

karsyf - last line before the screen shot, the mirror will be live in a couple of hours, use the file menu in Google drive to download the zip file.

dansludumdare says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:34am

I like it!

You should write what feedback you want in the description! Are you new to game programming? Do you want feedback relating to the gameplay? The user experience? Intuitiveness?

Anyway, here're some thoughts: I'm wondering what the experience would be like if the tiles didn't switch around when you hit a wall. I lost my bearings when that happened. So I used the green tiles I'd been to before, but then it felt like I was just bumping around expanding my domain of greenness toward the goal.

Guardian_Bob says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Any and all feedback is appreciated. I'm not new but I'm still an amateur.

The tiles switching was supposed to be disorienting, reinforcing that hitting them was bad. I discovered it was too much so, which is why I added the green line.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Very neat concept. Fun? probably not. Minimum information games are hard to make fun. Could be a good part of a larger set of mechanics though. Seems like something that should be included in a No More Heroes game.

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Like the game. Played and commented on your blog post when you posted a tech demo. I actually liked the pixel-style much better than the new look. But that's subjective :)

Guardian_Bob says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:33pm

timtipgames - Yeah well, I went back and forth on that. Basically this came down to having a story and running with it. The scoring then happened to work out nicely. Also the high score list is updated via MySQL, so I'll post a page where people can see results.

nintendoeats - I would have loved the parallel worlds theme, but this game has been struggling to get out for more than a year now. I went with what I could do in the theme. It is interesting as a mechanic. Imagine if you split it into 4ths. It could get quite challenging quite quickly. Might make a good dungeon crawler mechanic someday, where the two teams are connected.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Now that's a clever take on the maze game.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:29pm

I really liked the 2 screen idea, made you really have to concentrate if you wanted a good score. The background music gave it a nice relaxing feel but a little bit of tension. Nicely done.

Guardian_Bob says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Jellycakes, nicely done on your score. I'll post the link to see the scores just as soon as I can.

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:14pm

I liked the mood the game created, it was very peacefull. Great music!

netmute says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:19pm

I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

Guardian_Bob says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:36pm

No worries netmute. Hopefully some day WPF will come to mono.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Awesome. It's a pretty fun little game. A bit difficult at first, but I liked it. Great job!

hockeygoalie5 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Unique mechanic and good music.

Hayawi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:53am

It was pretty fun playing this game, and definetely a new experience :D

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:55am

Nice! The concept was definitely unique.

richtx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:24am

Tougher that I expected it to be. Really gives a brain workout. Cool twist on one of the oldest games around. Good job.

LionelJitro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:37am

Really cool concept.

It was so frustrating when I got all the way to the bottom left and then I found out I took a wrong turn somewhere.

Fun game.

Guardian_Bob says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:18pm

FYI, I've added a link to the list of high scores (all scores).

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Really cool puzzle game. Very fun to play and much harder than expected

qdowngames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:12am

Well this game really got me thinking. Neat concept really - I wonder where you could take this "two worlds connected" idea.

ahm99 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:22am

That was pretty fun. I got third for medium. Really fun. Good job :)

HelkeGames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:47am

Nice game, pretty fun great job ;)

lorancou says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:15pm

+1 for a working highscores table! I like how this game teaches you to literally double check you moves beforehand.

EggDestroyer says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Works very wall, I was amazed. Good job !

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:33pm

A great little game. I thought I could cheap by crossing my eyes like a 3D puzzle, but it didn't work. I just felt as drunk as Tim.

Arkazon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:42pm

I like it - messing with the views when you hit the walls is a really nice touch.

JonathanG says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:04am

Fun game that makes me want to cross my eyes or bat them back and forth. An interesting idea, and cool having a high score table built in.

May 11, 2013 @ 2:42am

Cool idea and I think you did justice to the concept. Pretty fun to play too.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]