Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 26

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

minsweeper - Attrition - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Sweep your way to victory! Bash in enemies but don't get bashed yourself.

Controls:
WASD - Move up/left/down/right
Left Mouse - Expand Sweepers
Spacebar - Expand Sweepers

There are 6 rounds, good luck!

Tip: Enemies of the same colour can't hurt each other, be careful.

View Attrition's journal. | View all entries by Attrition

Ratings

Coolness58%
#82Innovation3.87
#90Fun3.66
#127Overall3.71
#235Theme3.89
#530Graphics3.06
#604Audio2.63
#626Mood2.80
#933Humor1.72

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:29am

Great concept. Could be a fun multiplayer game.

nurabsal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:15am

this would be nasty with multiplayer

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:23am

Lovely idea! Like the minimalist artstyle :D

It does tend to get a bit trial-and-error-y though

Lamprabbit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:00am

Love it, great game!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:12am

Wow. Level 6 is super tough.

CTATZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:31am

I agree with everyone, multiplayer would be pretty awesome.

acronaut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:33am

Spot on! somehow it subconsciously reminds me of bari-bari ball for some reason (the rotating nodes); (though this game is far different from it) would be gnarly to see multiplayer (or for multitouch screens): 4 players controlling 2 clusters = 8 + AI !!!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:41am

Really cool! Would make a great multiplayer game! Though I would by lying if I said I didn't win accidentally most of the time.. :P

uprightpath says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:29am

It seemed a little like the game was in the enemy's favor, like you moved slower than they did.

leparlon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:44am

Awesome, this game made my day.

justin35f says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:48am

Fun game. Still can't beat the boss, got so close one time with one weapon thingy left. Unfortunately it got popped.

Toestee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:26am

I really like the idea, the game is quite challenging.

gabehollombe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:32am

This reminds me of an old game for the Mac, but I can't remember the name. Argh! Anyway, it's really fun. Simple to learn, hard to master. Had me playing for quite a bit of time, but damn that boss is tough! Thanks for this one, I really enjoyed it.

Zaszx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:50am

Good idea, game could be a bit easier. And yea, multiplayer would be awesome!

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:27am

I found my inner bullet hell fan liking the game a lot.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:54am

It would make a nice multiplayer game ! The idea is cool and the execution is almost flawless. Not too fond of the sound effects though.

Zathalos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:10am

Wow, this game is really sweet. The concept is really simple but the way it plays out is amazing. Like the other people have said, multiplayer would be awesome. Also, more configurations, speeds, and the ability to control the direction of the spin would be all welcomed features to expand upon. Awesome game!

Fadobo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:15am

Awesome! A lot of fun. Would be great if there are enemies that don't come straight at you (for a thrilling dance of death)

Aquatic Games says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:40am

Quite fun, although level 6 seems to be impossible? Multiplayer, as said before me, would be great!

glbs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Nice! Simple and challenging

Dissing says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Good fun!

Moromann says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Good game, but was a bit difficult. I also felt like it was a bit random - you just go to an enemy and press space and hope you kill him before he kills you. Still, great game!

terrivellmann says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Nice, very fun. Agree that multiplayer would be great.

mchaza says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:35pm

would be great if there's multiplayer option, but still, this is a fun game

richy486 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Really great, mostly had the sweepers expanded all the time, and the 'try again' and 'good job' messages looked a bit alike. Really good stuff though!

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Kinda fun but the last level is waaay too hard.
And yeah, Multiplayer would be neat

Andy Go says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Nice concept. Easy to handle.

Corofides says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Good fun game. Excellent concept.

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:16pm

I must say this was really fun! I like the idea although honestly it's a lot about luck ;D Yeah round 6 was unbelievably hard haha I don't get how it's even possible.

Anyway great job!

hnjslater says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Very good, very fun to play!

iamorim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Great concept. If you add some nice musics... That will be so good. I liked that the enemies are smart enough. And I agree with everybody about the multiplayer!!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Not bad, quite easy until lvl 6, then it gets too hard, and I quit... :(
Also, I didn't really get what expanding and contracting does for you, I just hammered away and it seemed to work ok... up to lvl 6! :)

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Fun game, good game concept, right on with the theme. But the best strategy seemed to be luck...

echa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Great!

funkbob says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:08pm

good fun, lvl 6 was tough

ilo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:32pm

I couldn't beat the sixth round, but the main mechanic is very compelling, and I kept coming coming back for more. Good job! :)

theomnis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:18pm

I agree that multiplayer would be awesome. Great game!

Attrition says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:38am

Thank you everyone for playing! The boss is definitely too hard, but it is beatable. I just did it again to make sure, but it did take a couple minutes. Sorry about that.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Very nice. I like games where you and your opponents have the same abilities, makes for some nice duelling.

gameXcore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Really simple and addictive, some of those levels were rather difficult, but I did beat the boss!! Nice job!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Nice game, I love the concept :D

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Fun little game, multiplayer would be nice as others have mentioned. Also, I kept wanting to use more than one hand for the controls, but maybe I'm just weird.

davidB says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:12am

I like, but too hard for me.

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Really nice concept. Made for some interesting gameplay. Couldn't beat the boss though was a bit impossible. good job anyway!

loxo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Really a great game concept, nice graphics and sound effects. Sadly it seems it needs more luck than skill to win. A multiplayer mode would be great.

DDDBOMBER says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:32am

Really nice game, loved the attack-defend system, couldn't beat the boss, but it was very nice

robcozzens says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Cool idea.
I didn't feel like I was getting any better at it though... on each encounter it was pretty random who would die.

bowlercaptain says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:04am

Feels really good the first time you kill an enemy with only one orbiter. The boss was definitely disproportionately hard - round 6 probably took longer than the rest of the game. The main problem with the boss was that no matter what strategy was used, the first attack always boiled down to Clicking, flinching, and hoping. The major problem was the sense of helplessness - your orbiters, the Boss' slaves, their orbiters, and each character all move at about the same speed, so most of what happens feels out of your hands, and deaths feel like the game's fault. Also, if you're too far within the radius of the boss and retreating, he can chase you down and kill you, so basically every attack is a one-off shot in the dark. I finally beat him by just brute-forcing the chance - holding the left mouse button and charging, which was successful only a few tries in. As most other comments have mentioned, it definitely feels suited to multiplayer - whether a game in itself or a competitive mini-game in something larger, it's fast-paced and highly chaotic, a la bomberman or any good Mario Party minigame.

DkCub23 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:35pm

I really like the concept, but it is kind of repetitive. Pretty good overall.

Simon says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:33pm

So much fun, Thank you! I played a bit randomly but still it was seriously cool. I guess it needs some tweaks to add some strategy but anyway good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]