April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Serenade

by yajiv - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Sometimes, music can speak more loudly than words. In this game, you converse with your girlfriend through song to make her happy.

Sound is required to play this game. Headphones are recommended.

Controls:
Arrow keys to move.
ASDFQWER to play notes. You unlock notes as the game progresses.

EDIT: Hint on the ASD puzzle: Think of the second note as a number, specifically the number of times you repeat the first note. Sorry this wasn't clear in the first place >.<

EDIT #2: Changed the in-game text for 2 puzzles to make them easier to comprehend.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#168Audio3.38
#404Mood3.09
#430Innovation3.28
#580Humor2.19
#611Theme3.48
#721Overall3.00
#821Graphics2.69
#952Fun2.55
#1284Coolness48%

Comments

Jase says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:57am

Nice game!, I quite like your idea of communicating through music :) I couldn't get past the bit where it said "Note, number" though, I couldn't replicate her two tones with any of A, S or D that I had available.

EatenAlive3 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:57am

Nice, fits the theme well. I couldn't get past ASD though.. my notes wouldn't go that high.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59am

Got stuck pretty quickly. I'm not sure what "note, number" means, but she was clearly singing a note I didn't have access to yet.

nurabsal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59am

really cool idea, but yea i think you get the notes out of order

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00am

Cute game, I also can't get past ASD though

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:07am

I got stuck on the third pattern (only had three notes). One of the notes sung by the girlfriend was higher than any note I could play. Not sure if there was something I wasn't getting, but I just couldn't progress.

yajiv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:48am

I added a hint for the third puzzle in the description :)

Misael.K says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18am

I expected this to be a sweet little Simon Says game. Boy was I wrong. This is a full-on critique on male-female communication. There's something clear here: talking to your girlfriend is no easy task, women are impossible to comprehend!
In all seriousness, the puzzles were very tough. They took me a lot to figure out, and I couldn't make it past Mastermind.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:20am

very cool concept. I got stuck on the third one though.

intrudergames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:58am

Great game, i get stucked in the third letter

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:28am

Challenging but cool concept.

rezoner says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:58am

She must think that I am partially deaf... :| Like it, feels rewarding due to the dating factor :)

ataxkt says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:20am

Cute! Really nice concept, reminded me of times playing Journey! There's an annoying buzzing sound in the background I found quite distracting though - thought the laptop was having a fit!

Switchbreak says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Nice idea, I don't think I'm musical enough to solve some of these puzzles.

DaveDobson says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:14am

Nice idea, cute graphics. I got stuck (as others appear to have) when the pink character sings a fourth - I only had ASD, and I needed F at that point to copy her. So, I didn't get very far. Given your hint above, I tried and eventually got it, but it was pretty counterintuitive. I tried the Notes as Offsets puzzle next, but I was completely incapable of figuring out what you meant me to do. A bit bewildering. Some more visual cues or help might be warranted. But it looked neat, and was fun.

radmars says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:50pm

This is a great concept but way unintuitive - I have a good music background and couldn't legitimately figure out notes as offsets. Most people have enough trouble identifying the notes themselves!

yajiv says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:04am

Thanks for the feedback! I do agree that some of the solutions to some of the puzzles weren't exactly obvious. Maybe I should have added a few more cues, audio or visual, to help.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]