April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

CUBEBIA

by Armix - Jam Entry

A game about a hexagon who looses the square, love of his life.

A somewhat poster here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/04/27/cubebia-getting-there/

Controls (also in-game):
WASD - Movement
Space - Action
C - Sneak

Note:
Sneak is an ability that allows you to temporarily pass through an enemy pentagon without dying.
It allows for some strategy within the game.

I originally had so much more planned for this game.
An interesting storyline to say the least.
However, I ran out of time and just wanted to finish and upload something.
Hope you enjoy the simplicity of dodging pentagons (so far).

I shall continue on a Post Compo version of this game.
Feel free to follow me and the future development of Cubebia: @StudioArmix.

And don't forget to rate the game! :)

Happy Ludum Dare. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#169Theme(Jam)3.56
#322Innovation(Jam)2.80
#390Mood(Jam)2.57
#402Overall(Jam)2.80
#410Graphics(Jam)2.71
#423Fun(Jam)2.44
#1503Coolness41%

Comments

mtrc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:10pm

It's a cute prototype, I hope you get to extend it!

ronsho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:00am

Tough! Wasn't sure where to go when the pentagons were after me. Killed one, then they all jumped on me like lightning!

Tiago says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:49am

It's a nice concept, I think with more time this will become a nice game to play! I just don't know why those pentagons go in rage mode all of sudden =(

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:59am

I like the icon and the name! Despite being pretty sure that pentagon dodging was impossible I kept trying over and over and over.

dick_claus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:06am

Good game. Waiting for post compo.

Meep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Very nice idea; definitely has lots of potential. :) Nice work!

Jod says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Killed a few pentagons and then they went into super sayian mode. I never stood a chance. :)

Quite liked it!

Never did figure out what sneaking was for, though. Maybe I didn't get far enough into the game?

Armix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Thank you to all of you who have tried out my game and support the future development of Cubebia and its gameplay.
I am truly ecstatic to see such positivity from my very first Ludum Dare entry. :)

I shall get around to writing a Post Mortem very soon when my school work begins to ease up.
I'll will also seriously start extending Cubebia into a bigger and better Post Compo!

For those of you who are interested in the development of the game, feel free to follow me on Twitter: @StudioArmix.
And to those of you who have tried out the game, I would love to read your comments. :)

Regards,
~Bear.

someone says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:22pm

I find the movement style makes it hard to be accurate. Also I died instantly quite a lot.
Neat concept though.

Mekuri says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Decent little game. I'm looking forward to seeing what you make it into :)

Sylvain.p says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Shame that it is not finished, aesthetic looks nice.

Jellycakes says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:29am

Was nice to play, I caught on to the mechanics pretty quickly and had a pretty fun time. The only thing I would say is that the character movement is ridiculous. Other than that, nice one!

kibertoad says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:05pm

movement feels too fast. otherwise would LOVE to see it finished. there's something about it, it's hard to explain.

Spiridios says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 4:50am

Controls need to be a little more spread out. It's a bit hard to move and sneak and space at the same time as it's all pretty much one hand. Maybe use the arrow keys instead of/in addition to WASD. Otherwise, interesting mechanic.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]