April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Disposable Rockets

by the.vaber - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I decided to make an entry after all (on Sunday.. lost a lot of precious time), hopefully someone will like it :)

The goal is to travel as far as possible, while avoiding collision with asteroid-ish objects - distance is your score.

Controls are as minimal as possible - W,A,D or arrow keys to control the rocket.

Unfortunately there was no time left to make any kind of music.. hopefully next time :-)

(done using Unity; BFXR for sound effects)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#288Theme3.83
#296Graphics3.43
#539Mood2.90
#662Fun2.86
#705Overall3.03
#953Audio1.97
#1032Humor1.47
#1245Innovation2.03

Comments

nicotuason says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:56am

Good tight controls, but I wish it would give you a higher score for going faster or something

slol7896 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Good job! it is a realy well made game! :D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Lovely graphics!

Panda313 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:04pm

I like the graphics, but I'm missing the point of the game. It's missing something. Anyway, good job !

Richard Matey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Great job finishing this, love the hard edge art style, great look. It would be fun to have some interesting challenges in the game, like gravity pull on the rocks. Maybe you can use a gravity pull to break through another planets pull!

ZeroDivide says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:05pm

I like the simple graphics, and having the screen darken as the game progresses is a really nice touch.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Simple. Sweet.

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:32am

Nice and simple. Like the color choice.

stefan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Nice job, I totally like your game. The only thing I was unsure about is whether the game is getting harder with increasing score. I didn't notice any differences despite the color. But overall its a nice game.

mchaza says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:58pm

simple but good looking graphics, nice game!

stromchin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:41am

I loved how there is basically no momentum.

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Minimal to say the least, so it's asteroids, but without the shooting.

Prelucid says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Good one!

MinionStudios says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:10am

Wild looking and smooth to play. Did you say you had less than 48 hours? Wow!

Nick Cash says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:18am

Impressive for the time frame. Certainly embraces the theme. Slightly more dynamic mechanics would be nice (such as momentum). Sounds :(

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 2:34pm

nice -- my score 533 -- great job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]