April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Paranoia Painter

by Fadobo - Jam Entry

We did it! Our first Ludum Dare as a team comes to an end. Because of other obligations, we could only devote 48 hours, instead of the 72 and even though we didn't finish everything we wanted to, we are quite happy with the result.

Paranoia Painter is a simple arcade shooter played with the mouse and keyboard. You are the dreaming french artist Gaston, who fights with his own mind, for even simpler designs to become the master of minimalistic art.

The game is created with XNA and currently only available on Windows. If you don't have the XNA 4.0 redistributable installed yet, you can find it packed up with the game.

Have fun and let us know your feedback!
www.scanlinegames.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#210Humor(Jam)2.38
#311Fun(Jam)2.80
#331Audio(Jam)2.70
#377Overall(Jam)2.86
#378Mood(Jam)2.61
#404Graphics(Jam)2.73
#422Theme(Jam)2.79
#459Innovation(Jam)2.31

Comments

shotiris says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:27am

Team? I thought it was a solo comp...

ella guro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:49am

i like the name and the painting theme. i also like how the stage gets lighter and lighter as you kill more enemies. the idea didn't strike me as particularly distinctive or fun though.

Fadobo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:27pm

@shortiris - Only for Compo, this is a Jam entry. :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:56pm

I don't think that's how action painting works :)

TriBeard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:17pm

I liked the colour change towards white as you killed enemies, and the mechanic of the dead paint splashes slowing you down was a potentially interesting mechanic. The game over screen was a nice touch too! I don't think the art or music is particularly strongly tied to the theme however. In particular, I feel the 'bullets' should've been more shaped, and moved faster.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Nice game, i liked the art! :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:15am

that was pretty fun -- i like the progressive levels and the artwork -- great effort!

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:55am

The music is RAD! Gameplay maybe a little too simple but fun nonetheless.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:40am

Sometimes mobs stop moving and i can't hurt them !

May 5, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Good concept, nice job.... perhaps game play is , for me, a little simple but i like to play with your game

dalbinblue says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:57am

The theme is a bit weak, and it gets really hard at level 3, but the execution is well done.

Nick Cash says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Congrats on your first entry! The game was fairly amusing. I felt like it controlled well and looked pretty good. Always nice to rate entries that have music and sound effects, though a longer music loop would be nice. Nice work :)

May 8, 2013 @ 2:29pm

@shotiris, this was a Jam entry.

---------------

I must say, this game was really really fun. The theme is perfect.

zkenshin says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Interesting monsters and concept. :)

psc1997 says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Good job guys ;-)

farmergnome says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:05am

Cute little shooter, well executed.

imagnity says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Painting concept is vibrant. I like it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]