April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mini Mix

by echokain - Jam Entry

Mini Mix is a platform puzzler made by a team of 3 using HaXe, Flixel, Photoshop, Flash (for drawing) and Tiled.

Aim of the game:
Get Mini the robot to exit the level by being the right colour.

Controls:
Move left and right with the ARROW keys
Press UP to jump
Hold SPACE to mix colours

Credits:
Pierre-Olivier Louis - Programmer
Hugues Delaire - Programmer
Alice Rendell - Level Design

**Update made to fix the issues in Chrome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#322Innovation(Jam)2.80
#361Theme(Jam)3.03
#396Humor(Jam)1.61
#408Overall(Jam)2.79
#463Fun(Jam)2.31
#473Mood(Jam)2.26
#483Graphics(Jam)2.39
#1284Coolness48%

Comments

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:28am

It was funny the first time I backtracked and started moonwalking lol. Cool game, I like the art. Reminds me of Another World.

echokain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:34am

**NOTE: There are some problems with the game running on Chrome so please test with Firefox. Thanks ^^

Nolan C says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:57am

Slow movement speed and jump was a bit annoying, but I really like the puzzle elements and concept. 5/5 innovation.

Alink says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:37am

At first, I thought that only having one level would be boring, but it evolves nicely. Good job making puzzles with that constraint.

LoneStranger says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:55am

I thought this was great. A variation on the key/door puzzle game but I loved how it was changed up nearly every level. The same basic level design was good too, allowing you to learn the level while it slowly changed to enable or disable certain paths. I could see more basic level designs, each with ten levels that progress through the game. Well done.

uncade says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:02pm

I would like to play this game with a bit more polish, but overall I thought it was one of the cooler proofs of concept I've seen so far. I thought the same level would get boring, but it was neat seeing all the puzzles you made with it!

Jiggawatt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:12pm

A very solid proof-of-concept. The mechanics could still be juiced further for some real "a-ha" moments. That means you have to turn this into a full game!

druckson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Nice concept, and I liked the progressive introduction of mechanics. The motion controls were a bit loose, which wouldn't have been as frustrating if the level wasn't so punishing to motion mistakes.

Kotucz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Levels are wery similar yet each different, cool. I have to repeat things - that irritates me, but I should have though it through before the action. The moonwalk is funny but my eyes hurt :-). Anyway nice job ;-)

lorancou says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Good idea but I feel like the character is too slow added with a level design a bit too punitive (miss a jump and you have to go all the way back to the beginning of the level...). But I kinda like the graphics touch. Bravo !

tcstyle says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Solid platform puzzler. Physics felt a little clumsy, especially in combination with the level design.

SuperDisk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:48pm

The space-holding mechanic was goofy.

It felt a bit like the game "simon" just because you're doing the almost exact same thing every time on the same level.

messiano says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Nice game, but I wish jumping was more precise. I felt I needed to antecipate most of the jumping to get it right.

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:37pm

The level design was quite clever. I liked the gradual introduction of new mechanics, and that you archived quite a lot of variety with the same basic level. The robot animation could have used a bit of work, though.

Purplescape says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Cool puzzle game, I like how you used the level design to make so many different challenges. Tricky in parts but I made it to the end. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]