April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Zombie Blocks Attack

by hgouveia - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made with Construct2 by Scirra.
------------------------------------------------
Controls:
- W to move forward
- S to move backward
- M to mute audio
- Mouse to aim and directions

------------------------------------------------------
The idea is to survive the 3 levels in order to win,
each level has 3 zombie waves, each wave gets harder!

Good Luck! ;)

Only tested Google Chrome

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#253Fun3.35
#363Mood3.13
#481Humor2.33
#520Overall3.20
#558Audio2.70
#669Graphics2.89
#895Theme3.18
#1044Innovation2.40

Comments

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:17am

Reminds me of a kind of Killing Floor but 2D, it is fun albeit a little hard.

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:43am

Fun game! Great mood and controls! Although it reminds me a lot about boxhead... ;)

HELLO23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:56am

Awesome Game !! Fun and minimalistic shooter. But I could not even finish the first wave, it is hard !

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:59am

Really cool game. Great controls and good gameplay.

rujo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:52am

very nice and good gameplay

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:07am

Cool game, man. It's hard when you can run backwards! Also my game's source is now live, if you wanted to take a look (https://bitbucket.org/jhrrsn/ld48-26/src)

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:28am

Good game, fun and high quality but very tricky.

gokuhd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Nice controls and effects, it's very polished.

visibleatom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:36pm

I like the concept and the look, but it seems that I could easily find spots where all I had to do was not move, not engage the zombies, and they'd never be able to reach me. Also, the green boxes were NOT clearly ammo until I ran out of bullets :)

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Good idea, nice juice with the screen shaking etc, maybe a but too easy to cheat

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:06pm

The soundtrack sure is minimalistic. Fun game to play

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Good gameplay. Quite liked the squelchy music!

eteeski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:30pm

cool game. real simple. cool visuals. loved the bullet camera shake effect. it made the gun feel very powerful. it was fun to play. i liked it :)

@SamPotasz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Whoo, is this hard! I liked the limited view

Gaeel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:04pm

"Hmm, what should I do about this "minimalism" theme? ooh, I know, minimal thought process for a compelling enemy! ZOMBIES!"

Love it, I don't know why it is, but give me zombies and a gun any day of the week !

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Smooth controls and shaky screen yeahh! :)

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:27pm

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAA i like this so much!

It kinda differs a little from the survivals i've seen around

Nice job!

puttputt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Ahhh I kept running out of ammo! Really cool.

Bevilacqua says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Enjoyed playing. Liked the music and enjoyed the game. Only wish there were more levels :)

aare says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:41am

Not bad, not bad at all...

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:41am

Why would I want to hit 'M'?

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:45am

Cool little design. I guess it's a points chase but if the object is really survive then all I had to do was wait in a corner... I wonder if adding some other feature that forced you to hunt the zombies would have helped, like maybe if you have some bar that's draining and is only re-filled by zombie blood or something.

shohs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:24am

Cool little game, but I thought it could be a little bit harder. I felt there was no challenge in the first two waves, and the main difficulty of the third was that I ran out of ammo. Otherwise, well done!

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:48am

Music is pretty inventive :)

The controls are good.
Weird thing is that I managed to survive standing still at a random point on the map. I beat the game without doing much (killed half a dozen baddies).
Also, when I stop the music I can't manage to turn it back on.

rxi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:25am

The controls felt good and the game play was fairly enjoyable. The graphics definitely felt minimalist ;). The music combination of music and graphics gave the game an almost tron feel.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Yeah, great controls! Nice interpretation of the theme. My only complaint is that the audio is a bit grating. Other than that, solid game for 48 hours!

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Nice game, I didn't much like how you couldn't sidestep or move backwards

StMatn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Nice game! Preety good executed top down shooter. It was fun, but I missed the option to move sideways with A and D. It seem, that sometimes enemys can glitch through thin walls, if they push each other.
I really hat a lot of fun playing the game. Good work!

siondream says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Solid game, nice death effects and good use of minimalism. I'd have liked to move sideways too though, good for storming in around corners :-).

mrexcessive says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Pretty good 2d shooter, fairly hardcore.

spacechase0 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Nice, but I didn't want to play it long because of the blood.

txaneto says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Great game! I've really enjoyed it.

May 6, 2013 @ 6:54pm

The music got repetitiv in the second level and I got short on ammo, so I just waited in one corner for the timer to finish ;) I liked the controls, overall it fit the theme quite well.

Spiridios says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:38am

Need more ammo! Ok, maybe not, but that's what I kept saying while playing it. :P Fun little shooter, just hard enough to be challenging.

MinionStudios says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 1:46am

I love it!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]