April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Black on Black

by LUD4K - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My First Ludum Dare entry :)

The game is based on Piet Mondrian's art, so the style and game is very minimalistic.

Simple match 3 game, try to create a black on black screen...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1934Coolness14%

Comments

martijn says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Perhaps some instructions for running it would be nice. anyways, for ubuntu the commands are "sudo apt-get install love", then "love Black_on_black.love".

Now about the game, it is very good. It hurts my brain that despite the fact that it seems so simple I cannot think of a good strategy to fill te board

simrob says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Very pretty game, it was pleasing to discover the mechanic after clicking for a bit, pleasing to come up with some simple strategies for getting to orange, and wonderful realizing I had no idea how to get past that.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Very interesting. Cool to see Love in action. I'll have to try it sometime.

I can't say that I fully grasped the mechanics, but I was at least able to figure out a couple colors. I suppose that the point is for it to be a puzzle how to play as much as a puzzle how to win? In that case, it's certainly effectively puzzling.

Neat idea and nice look to the game.

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:00am

Rated it

leafo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Interesting puzzle game.

May 5, 2013 @ 5:31pm

A lot of people used Mondrian for the theme .... the idea could be nice... but i like to play with this games ...

FREEZX says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Nice game. Unfortunateley i didn't quite understand the mechanics. What does Matching stand for? Why do some fields go blank? This should be explained much better IMHO. I liked the whole layout of the game and love2d is cool :D

May 11, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Neat game and well suited to the theme. A little hard though! I don't think I managed to get any black squares, let alone the whole lot! Still, well done.

May 11, 2013 @ 4:44pm

I also had trouble understanding the mechanics. High score of 153 but no leader-board so no context for that number... I am all for games that don't explain themselves, especially puzzlers like this one, but you surely need to give a little more feedback to encourage right action.

alts says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:48am

Congrats on your first Ludum Dare entry. I have a few comments that I wanted to make. It asks the player to do the impossible: create black on black. The best a player can hope to get is orange, and the screenshots are misleading. Was that intentional? Also, it feels weird to offer a score when the maximum possible score is based primarily on the granularity of the grid. Scores can't really be compared if the configurations are not consistent.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]