April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

On Minimalism

by richy486 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Move the dot with the arrow keys, avoid the stompers while working your way through the maze to find the treasure!

The minimal aspect I went for was through the single pixel character, minimal colours with mostly greys and a single 'enemy' the stomper.

I tried to use the stomper in as many ways as I could think of while keeping the mechanic the same.

Built for OSX and Windows using cocos2d-x.
Sounds made using bfxr

** Fixed for error on Windows version, please try the new build **

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#30Theme4.30
#85Fun3.67
#293Overall3.44
#501Mood2.95
#558Audio2.70
#607Graphics2.96
#878Innovation2.70
#1284Coolness48%

Comments

robc says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Excellent game. Tone really fits in… and the controls are spot on.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:20am

I can't get it to work. Says something about parallel setting (or something similar, it's in finnish).

HELLO23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:48am

I can't get it to work also :( Here is a screenshot of the error I get : http://puu.sh/2Jkmf.png

tankete says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:08am

"The application has failed to start because its side-by-side configuration is incorrect. Please see the application event log or use the command-line sxstrace.exe tool for more detail."

This appears to be related to missing the correct C++ runtime components.
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_7-pictures/error-the-application-has-failed-to-start-because/df019c0d-746e-42d0-ad68-465e18e3f3ef

Salamander3 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:36am

I can't seem to get this to run.

HELLO23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:37am

Anyone knows which C++ runtime should I install in order to play the game ?

richy486 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:45am

Thanks guys, I'll see if I can fix it up

richy486 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Just updated the build, should be fine now (fingers crossed)

andygt40 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Yeah, windows version working just the same as mac version now.
Awesome game by the way! The last level was difficult but totally worth it hah!

Nacho says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Would have been fun, but the player dot was hard to tell apart from a few flecks on my monitor, and the pillar smashing sound made me want to tear my ears off.

mechagk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:19pm

It's very hard to see the player as he is only the size of a pixel :/

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:22pm

great game, but perhaps the player could be bigger than 1 pixel

geepit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Very cool, liked all the variations of the same enemy/mechanic

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:41pm

The dot is really small, makes my eyes hurt, it's fun though and a bit challenging

mchaza says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Great job, but the dot was way too small as mentioned.

richy486 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:17pm

It is pretty small. I guess it sit too close to my screen so it seemed fine, I could't follow it when other people played it though

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Fun game, good use of theme. I like the implicit music caused by the rhytmic crusher things. As others have said, this game kinda hurts my eyes... Seems like a few games in this LD have that quality :D

Korda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:32am

This was actually pretty cool but I think you missed an opportunity with the sound. If the size of the crusher effected the pitch of the sound you could have had the level generate the music for you

richy486 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:31am

Korda - That would have been awesome!

alts says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:33am

I really like how the crushers provide "music" for the game, and how some screens seemed to, perhaps inadvertently, use polyrhythms. The one pixel character was confusing at first, and I had to clean my screen to figure out what was actually happening.

Hadyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:40am

There I was, having made it through hell, enjoying a nice stroll through a couple of screens of progressively narrower but danger-free lanes, when it crashed =[

(Windows version, I'm running Win7 x64. I was at the end of a very narrow screen-long lane if that helps at all)

Still rating you up - this was far better than the screenshots might have led me to think!

LaceySnr says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:45am

Love it. The maze can get quite confusing and some of the stompers are brutal!

robc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:48am

Great fun. Certainly is a tad brutal - but the challenge was well worth it.

Quite recommend it :)

richy486 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:35am

It turns out that the game is a community service announcement to get people to clean their computer screens

richy486 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:38am

Hadyn - are there files in the resources folder?

BipoleMoment says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Great game! Really challenging!

Ray_Mickelino says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Awesome. Really fits the theme of minimalism. Good job!

dremelofdeath says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:16am

I could imagine that not everyone would be able to see the little dot, but I could, and I thoroughly enjoyed this game.

Alphonsus says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:46am

This is the the most minimalist game I have played. Haha :P Love the level design, but it's really hard to see the player. But I guess that's part of minimalism, so. Nonetheless, great work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]