April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Z Jumper

by Zaelza - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Jump or die.

A,D to move
space/mouse to jump

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#438Fun3.11
#455Mood3.00
#482Audio2.82
#623Graphics2.94
#679Humor2.06
#698Overall3.04
#946Innovation2.58
#1105Theme2.88

Comments

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55am

I like the graphic design, the mood and the music. The game was a bit too difficult for me though, I didn't get very far.

Doccrazy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:51am

Seems to have have a problem with the level generator, quite often I got a level that was simply not possible.
Great game otherwise!

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:34pm

cool game, balancing is good, but i miss something like a score or a goal

AlvaroH says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:48pm

I love the graphics

Frib says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Simple gameplay but nice visuals. But unless I'm missing something, it's possible to get stuck because there's no way up through a new level sometimes

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:03pm

nice platformer! loved the mood you set with the music and lighting

Zaelza says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Yes, this is bug in level generation, but i cant constantly repeat it %( Just sometimes generator get crazy and start spawn lines everywhere

Kinzata says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:06pm

The music seems out of place to me. I was expecting something more dramatic for this. Otherwise good job!

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Neat game. Nice job with the lightning! Could have used the 'W' key to jump, though.

Moist says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Cool visuals!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Nice mood and graphics. Fun game. I was in the zone for a moment.

Felix20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Nice game, it was really fun, and the sound and music was great. Personally I don't like using my left hand to move in a platformer, so I used my right hand with the keys and used my left hand to push space :p At least you didn't use up or w for jump.
The graphics are also excellent, overall a very good entry.

stefan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:09pm

I would have liked to play this, but it crashes right after starting the game using Windows 8. These error details might help you find the problem:

Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: Z Jumper.exe
Application Version: 1.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 517d925e
Fault Module Name: KERNELBASE.dll
Fault Module Version: 6.2.9200.16451
Fault Module Timestamp: 50988950
Exception Code: e0434352
Exception Offset: 00014b32

Gaeel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Some of the pieces felt a bit unfair and when chained together, require some ninja skills to perform, but fun take on the Xjump style of game

Felix20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Oh, one thing to change is a better indicator of at which point you start taking damage from the evil whatever thingy.

dasrkrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Great game! Hard to beat! :)

PTSnoop says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:25pm

I love how nonchalant this game is about eternal evil. "Oh, btw..."

The red blocks didn't really affect gameplay all that much, since you always have more than enough health boxes. But great visual style, and well balanced difficulty (which isn't easy when you're procedurally generating levels, so nice one). Good game!

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:23pm

very difficult

jami says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Great graphics! Quite hard though.

manabreak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:58am

Crashes right away when I press enter or space in the start. :/

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:08am

Very playable platformer. Makes effective use of simple graphics to create a nice mood.

Zaelza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:16am

2 manabreak
mediaplayer problem i think
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/5640469/xna-4-mediaplayer-play-method-throwing-drm-exception
(tl;dr : install mediaplayer
control panel \ Programs and Features \ Turn windows features on or off \ Media Features \ Windows Media Player
)

DARKCORTEX says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:11pm

very nice concept

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Really liked the visuals and the gameplay was solid and really enjoyable. Nice use of powerups. I did beat it pretty fast but it was still great. All hail the almighty sun god.

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Nice ambiant ! I liked that ! Good job

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Fun game though I agree with PTSnoop about the red blocks not mattering too much. The visual style is nice if a bit cluttered.

Cool game :)

Frosnite says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Difficult but definitely enjoyable! The overwhelming amount of power ups was kinda weird making it hard to focus on the path to follow, but overall, the game is cool :D. Cheers!

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:06am

Great visuals! I wish the arrow keys were mapped to a/d though. It's difficult for me to use spacebar to jump while moving with the keyboard like that.

May 1, 2013 @ 8:20am

I died.

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:14am

I like so much this type of shadows, good work!

Mach60KAS says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:59pm

I really loved the light effects and the difficulty curve is pretty good. The core gameplay is simple and enjoyable, well done! :)

Salamander3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Not sure where the theme was in this one. I'd say the graphical style, but the lighting and particles were quite advanced. :P nice platformer, reminded me of 'Monsters (probably) Stole My Princess'. Not bad.

HelkeGames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:42am

Nice game, good job !

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Cool game. Interesting approach with the platforms. Congratz!

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Nice game. It's a bit hard but overall ok. Nice job!

Wiering says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Nice lighting effect. Why not also allow the arrow keys?

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:39am

Cool lighting effects, and a pretty solid platformer!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:00am

It seems if you hit the bottom side of a red platform, you die. Is that supposed to happen?

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:46am

game was hard because of using space for jump -- try something else -- like the idea -- nice effort

Zaelza says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:13am

yes using space for jump is hard. You can use leftmouse for jump

csanyk says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 4:26am

As soon as I press Space to start a new game, it crashes:(

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: CLR20r3
Problem Signature 01: z jumper.exe
Problem Signature 02: 1.0.0.0
Problem Signature 03: 5186c805
Problem Signature 04: Microsoft.Xna.Framework
Problem Signature 05: 4.0.20823.0
Problem Signature 06: 4c72cc22
Problem Signature 07: 504
Problem Signature 08: 51
Problem Signature 09: System.InvalidOperationException
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Read our privacy statement online:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0409

If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt

Zaelza says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 6:25am

2csanyk
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/5640469/xna-4-mediaplayer-play-method-throwing-drm-exception
(tl;dr : install mediaplayer
control panel \ Programs and Features \ Turn windows features on or off \ Media Features \ Windows Media Player
)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]